Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars64
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 July 2013
This is a good well thought out thriller and delivers a good twist at the ihe conclusion. Red Herrings are well introduced to divert the attention and provide moments to ponder. A good read either at home or better still on holiday when you can give it your full attention.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
Excellent and read within a week. Loved all the main characters, settings and the cross over of time lines. A perfect evocation of Portugal during WWII and the lives of those who lived through it - exceptional people good and bad. A bit of damp squib towards the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2008
Loved the way the characters were intertwined, they were engrossing and true to life ... and the main detective was a curious character but likable.

Easy pace but compelling nevertheless with interesting historical undertones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
This is an intriguing story that spans 5 decades and is well researched. The ending is a bit contrived bit generally the story have great pace and is a definite page turner. Wilson conjures up C20th Portugal well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
Recommended by a Spanish friend, just superb the plot twists and turns and creates a story that (unusually for me) I was unable to put down! Deserves its five stars twice over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
A good detective yarn, Gives a good insight in to the city of Lisbon and also the recent history of Portugal , Especially the Salazar regime. An enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
As I was in Lisbon (Estoril) it seemed the ideal holiday read and it was. A good intricate story well told and enough suspense to keep you wanting more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
A bit too graphic for my taste, but gives a good overview of the recent history of Portugal during WWII, the Salazar dictatorship and modern times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Enjoyed reading it 14 years ago and enjoyed it now even more as I live in Portugal and understand the geography and culture more than I did
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
This is the second time I have read this book and it gets better,a fascinating read.......keep them coming as good as this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.