Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Want an inspiring read?
This book was an easy but inspiring read. Great messages for life.
If you need reminding about what is important then this book is for you
Published 11 months ago by Samantha

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Fable
At its best points, 'The Secret Letters of the Monk Who Sold His Ferrari' reminded me of Paulo Coelho's 'The Alchemist', yet it lacked the unputdownability and tight plotting of Coelho's masterpiece. Nevertheless, Robin Sharma's book is enjoyable and contains a spiritual message which is - for a book with purported Buddhist leanings - ironically Christian in its...
Published 14 months ago by HeavyMetalMonty


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Fable, 11 May 2013
By 
HeavyMetalMonty (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Secret Letters of the Monk Who Sold His Ferrari (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
At its best points, 'The Secret Letters of the Monk Who Sold His Ferrari' reminded me of Paulo Coelho's 'The Alchemist', yet it lacked the unputdownability and tight plotting of Coelho's masterpiece. Nevertheless, Robin Sharma's book is enjoyable and contains a spiritual message which is - for a book with purported Buddhist leanings - ironically Christian in its anti-materialism. There's another irony in Sharma - a man with a multi-million-dollar empire - writing a tale that condemns material wealth. I'm not judging the man, though, only his book, which is readable and decently written, but not a compelling modern fable such as those told by Paulo Coelho and Salman Rushdie.

The book's not too shabby but if you want to read a tale with a powerful spiritual message, written by someone with a truly gargantuan bank balance, start with Coelho's writings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I won't be selling my Ferrari any time soon., 29 July 2012
This review is from: The Secret Letters of the Monk Who Sold His Ferrari (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Capitalism has taken rather a knocking in the last few years, so not surprising someone is presenting an alternative. However, I find it a bit suspicious that this book triumphs the success of the author so much, and the suggestion that owning a Ferrari is a necessary prerequisite to telling the world how we should be living our lives!

I can only hope the author's international bestselling books are better than this one - if this was his sole output I'd doubt his reputation would be so stellar.

The story is wound around a pointless plot which sees the `hero' whizzing around the world on a series of flights punctuated by brief stops with `interesting' characters who each have some `wisdom' to impart.

These characters happen to live in some of the world's `must visit' places on earth - Paris, Istanbul, Kyoto, Barcelona, etc., turning the book into a kind of travelogue. All rather dazzling, but to visit all these places in a short space of time results in a superficial impression - surely not what the author was aiming for! Not to mention the environment. Not to mention the jet-lag.

I can't remember the messages picked up along the way, something about being yourself, take care of the people you love and be nice to everybody. I didn't find them original, challenging or live-changing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars if you like this type of book, you will enjoy it, 23 Feb 2012
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Secret Letters of the Monk Who Sold His Ferrari (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Inspirational, quasi educational, quasi religious books have become popular over the last 10 years as we become more "feeling" aware. This book is a variation on this familiar theme and will undoubtedly appeal to those new to the genre but perhaps less so to those familiar with it. Not having read any of the author's previous books this one does not tempt me to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Commercially Contrived, 15 Feb 2012
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Secret Letters of the Monk Who Sold His Ferrari (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Published in 1999 `The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari' told the story of lawyer Julian Mantle confronting a spiritual crisis and discovering lessons for life. The book was a form of autobiography by its author Robin Sharma who himself trained as a lawyer and became founder of Sharma Leadership International, a global consultancy dedicated to developing people and organisations. He has written numerous best-sellers on themes of fulfilling potential and achieving happiness, (`Leadership Wisdom From The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari', `Discover Your Destiny With The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari' etc.), and this latest book `The Secret Letters Of The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari' follows on using a fable cum morality tale about Jonathan Landy, an out of touch relative of Julian Mantle who is tasked with travelling the world to collect life-saving letters within which are the secrets and talismen discovered by Julian.

Apparently Robin Sharma has sold millions of copies of his books in over 40 countries and his Sharma leadership enterprise is a huge commercial success, so to criticise may be presumptuous - but the `The Secret Letters Of The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari' is a disjointed narrative that is short on logic with characters lacking depth and with stilted dialogue. It is difficult to argue against the intentions and implications of the `secrets', but these are largely sanctimonious sermons and little more than homilies. The talismen turn out to be mere attention grabbers and the worldwide zig-zag journeys were hatched to give Jonathan time to absorb the secrets. The spiritual/Buddhist approach is to be applauded but a more straightforward book on how to be true, embrace fears, choose influences, seek excellence etc. would be more genuine without enveloping these in a fanciful quest. `The Secret Letters Of The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari' is clearly geared to Sharma's business as a behavioural/leadership consultant - it is a blatantly contrived commercial publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Important Message but No Great Revelations, 31 Jan 2012
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Secret Letters of the Monk Who Sold His Ferrari (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book uses a format which is hardly unique. That is it tells a story, almost a little morality tale, and blends in various universal truths or lessons. There is nothing which is new or unique in these 'revelations', but it is fair to say that it does not do any harm to remind ourselves of them once in a while.

The story revolves around a manager who has clearly lost his way in life and has lost his sense of what should be his priorities. He is sent on a mission around the globe to pick up nine different talismans from diverse places, each of which has a message attached to it. As a story, it is not the most riveting, but I have read worse. As a travelogue it is actually quite interesting in parts and the few places which I have visited are described in a way that I would consider authentic.

As previously mentioned there are no great revelations here and most of the message is common sense along the lines of relentless pursuit of material wealth does not bring happiness, confront your fears, make progress one step at a time etc. This is the fourth `monk who sold his ferrari' book and I imagine that whilst the first may have had an impact, the subsequent offerings have been a restatement, with slightly different presentation, of the same core material. Not having read the other volumes, this may be somewhat judgmental and rather cynical and I stand to be corrected by someone who has read them all.

This is not the first of this sort of book which I have read, and all in all I was a lot more enthusiastic about The Celestine Prophecy: An Adventure. However, clearly there is a demand for the Monk since, apparently over five million of them have been sold and I imagine that for certain people, if they read it at a particular stage in their lives, it could be quite pivotal in refocusing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 18 Jan 2012
By 
Tea Tango (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Secret Letters of the Monk Who Sold His Ferrari (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I haven't read anything by this author prior, including the last book in the series.
Its an easy read, it involve stories with a message attached, however the message isnt mentioned at the end of the chapter like reflective practise, more within the book, the author tries to fit in buddhist teachings into everyday events.
I think its a nice read, and is access-able to a large number of people and therefore makes a comfortable sunday read.

Whether this is the answer to the alternative, antidepressants, will largely depend on yourself and you're willingness to incooperate the changes required to your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Want an inspiring read?, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was an easy but inspiring read. Great messages for life.
If you need reminding about what is important then this book is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read with clear messages, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Letters of the Monk Who Sold His Ferrari (Paperback)
As a student, I find Robin Sharma provides excellent tactics for a productive lifestyle that's structured and organised. I picked this book up after making leaps in my coursework by adopting a few of his techniques. The book itself is written to an average standard, however the swift story and new and bizarre characters prevent the content from feeling boring. The messages are helpful and use circumstances and ironic events to put across his teachings and may also cause the reader to re-think a lot of old habits and belief systems. For anyone interested in motivation, productivity or spirituality, this is a worthwhile fable to read; it isn't a tome by any means, so it shouldn't take one long to absorb the main chunk of the messages in the story after a casual read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, 17 April 2013
By 
Null Unit (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Secret Letters of the Monk Who Sold His Ferrari (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having unfortunately not read any of the other books in the Monk series I was afraid I would be a little lost, however this was not the case.

This is a real heartwarming read and thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Letters of the Monk Who Sold His Ferrari (Paperback)
Love this book I have read most of Robin Sharma's books this one makes you look at how you live your life and how you prioritise things in your life that you should not, and how you stop noticing things because you rush around makes you think about what is REALLY important and what you are missing out on read it please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secret Letters of the Monk Who Sold His Ferrari
The Secret Letters of the Monk Who Sold His Ferrari by Robin Sharma (Paperback - 26 Nov 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews