Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanted Glass: another enchanting Wynne Jones
Fans of Wynne Jones may be disappointed to find that none of their favourite characters appear, but she's created another new set. Absent-minded academic Andrew inherits his grandfather's house and magical responsibilities without a briefing on what these are. He also inherits two warring members of staff, who try to control him and infiltrate their relatives into his...
Published on 16 Jan 2010 by Lucy Garden

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Enchanting Enough
I LOVE Diana Wynne Jones and am I huge fan of all her books, especially HOWLS MOVING CASTLE, TIME OF THE GHOST, THE OGRE DOWNSTAIRS, but all her books are brilliant. I couldn't wait to read this one, but to me, it was almost as if DWJ hadn't written it. It went on and on with nothing much happening and I just felt the magic wasn't magical. I expected the enchanted...
Published on 11 Nov 2010 by Frootface


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diana Wynne Jones' last novel, 23 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enchanted Glass (Paperback)
I love these wonderful inventive books for children. I do not think this is the writer's best work however. I would recommend other books before it- A charmed life- Howl's moving castle, Archer's Goon, Seven days of Luke and Dogsbody. My personal favourite has to be Fire and Hemlock. I believe that the readers and lovers of Harry Potter will enjoy reading DWJ books and find more originality and charm in them.
I am sad there will be no more invented worlds from this wonderful writer. I especially love the way the writer describes a relationship with a dog, just one wonderful description of many in the writer's last novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars feeling sad, 5 May 2011
This review is from: Enchanted Glass (Paperback)
Just as I received this book I heard of the death of Diana Wynne Jones and so I read it with many mixed feelings. if I am being totally honest it is not one of her best, it doesn't have the depth of character of Dark Secret,or Fire and Hemlock or the imagination of my favourites The Homeward Bonders and The Ogre Downstairs, nor does it leave you with that feeling of needing to read it again quickly to pick up all the nuances.But it is still far, far better than most of the other writers of her ilk and if you are a fan you will enjoy it for that reason and with sadness knowing that there are no more to look forward to. ( I know that there are a couple waiting to be released but it's not the same)! So yes I enjoyed it and yes I would recommend it and yes I will read it again and give thanks for the many hours of pleasure and entertainment she has given me over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER WINNER FROM DIANA WYNNE JONES, 24 Mar 2010
By 
Livia (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enchanted Glass (Hardcover)
I have been a fan of Diana Wynne Jones for years. It irritates me beyond measure that she does not receive the praise that she deserves so much more than J.K. Rowling. Wynne Jones did wizards at school long before Harry Potter and did it so much better. Anyway, rant over!!

This is quite a short book but packs so much in. There's a good story with suspense and humour. What more can you ask?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enchanted Glass, 8 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Enchanted Glass (Paperback)
Enchanted Glass is very good, bot up to the standard of some of my favourite Diana Wynne Jones books, but certainly capable of standing alongside them. In Enchanted Glass, Diana Wynne Jones does what she does best, creating a believable community of idiosyncratic characters who must together overcome some sort of oppressor. Twists and turns abound as 'professor' Andrew Hope and myterious orphan Aiden Cain learn how to govern Andrew's recently inherited field of care and deal with the magical creatures within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enchanted glass, 25 Oct 2010
This review is from: Enchanted Glass (Paperback)
Good tale - well told as always & good to read aloud to kids or for them to read themselves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another High Quality DWJ Book, 19 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enchanted Glass (Hardcover)
This book strikes me as a well-crafted, strongly-written Diana Wynne Jones classic.

There are some great fantasy ideas here and some extremely likeable characters.

Possibly the full-wealth of potential of the situation in this book isn't fully explored, but there is plenty of scope to set the characters up in their own series, like the Chrestomanci series, and look a little deeper into this interesting world.

All in all this story didn't appeal to me personally as much as House of Many Ways or Conrad's Fate, but it's still a decent, entertaining read and appears to be one of those books that improves with every subsequent read.

Highly recommended. Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting Read, 17 Feb 2010
This review is from: Enchanted Glass (Hardcover)
All the best of Diana Wynne Jones here: engaging characters, curious magic and enchantment hiding in the mundane!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanted Glass, 20 Feb 2010
This review is from: Enchanted Glass (Hardcover)
As usual, a delightful book from one of my favourite authors. I love the way Dianna Wynne Jones builds up the protagonists' characters to create a very satisfying, exciting and enjoyable story. The characters, like those in everyday life, are a mixture of grumpy, bossy, friendly and helpful people. One of the most helpful characters to young Aidan is Groil, a wonderfully exuberant giant who helps Aidan by guarding his possessions from the wicked Mr Brown(Oberon)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparkling glass, 17 May 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Enchanted Glass (Hardcover)
In the worlds of Diana Wynne Jones, magic is everywhere. It soaks entire villages and pops up in strange places in "Enchanted Glass," Jones' latest standalone fantasy novel. This enchanting, delightful little book has everything that you'd expect from her -- a tangled mass of magical plot threads, endearing characters, and odd secrets.

Ever since his grandmother died, Andrew has been pursued by the Stalkers. So he heads for Melstone House, the home of a powerful magician who might be able to help him...

... except that the magician has also died, and has left the property to his grandson Andrew, who knows a few things about magic but has forgotten most of it. Andrew just wants to live a peaceful life in the countryside, writing a book and thwarting the hired help. But when he takes in Aidan, he finds that the boy has the same magical skills as he does... and a knack for attracting strange magical beings.

Unfortunately, leaving London hasn't stopped the Stalkers from trying to get their hands on Aidan. And when Andrew attempts to reinforce his "field of care," he finds himself in a turf war with the mysterious Mr. O Brown. As he tries to unravel all the mysteries around Melstone, Andre discovers that all his various magical problems are connected...

Well, if you've read Jones' previous works, then you know the score -- complex plot, magic, plenty of sorcerous talent, a mysterious and sinister antagonist, and a young boy afloat in a difficult world. The he only downside is that the ending is very abrupt. Jones lobs a shocking plot twist at you, and then the book ends. Bam.

Her prose is quirky, warm and has that distinctly British flavor, and she whips up a massive tangle of slightly odd plot threads.. right before weaving them into a shimmering tapestry.. And as usual, there's loads of humor and running jokes (example: grouchy Mrs. Stock shows her disapproval by making cauliflower cheeses, and her equally grouchy husband shows his by bringing in huge nasty vegetables).

But what pushes "Enchanted Glass" into sheer brilliance is the fantastical parts of it -- deep powerful earth magic, magic glass, and "fields of care." She even comes up with the unique idea of "counterparts."

Andrew and Aidan are likable protagonists as well -- one's an orphan with a mysterious past, the other's a pleasantly flaky academic, and the two of them develop a rather sweet father-son bond. Jones adds in plenty of other colorful characters like the no-nonsense Stashe, the perpetually bad-tempered Stocks, technowiz Shaun, the veggie-loving giant Groil, and even a golden retriever with a double identity.

"Enchanted Glass is indeed an enchanting experience -- a complex, quick-moving fantasy novel with a slightly abrupt ending. For fans of the fantastical, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 19 Jun 2010
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Enchanted Glass (Hardcover)
Professor Andrew Hope has inherited Melstone House, and it turns out to be more than he bargained for. The housekeeper and gardener don't get along, the paperwork is a mess, and a mysterious orphan boy, Aiden, turns up on his doorstep.

Things only get worse when Andrew discovers someone - or something - is trying to take over his property and get to Aiden. Andrew must find a way to keep his land and the boy safe or it could prove disastrous for everyone.

I had a difficult time getting into this book. The concept is good, but the constantly shifting points of view made it hard for me to bond with the main characters. Aiden seemed older and far more mature than a young boy should be, and Andrew seemed distant.

The minor characters were quirky and funny and helped keep me reading. After I got used to the changing points of view, it made reading easier. The more I read, the more things got exciting, so I'm glad I didn't give up.

Reviewed by: Joan Stradling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enchanted Glass
Enchanted Glass by Diana Wynne Jones (Paperback - 5 Aug 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews