Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars67
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 May 2011
The bulk of this book is about Steven's addiction to drugs. All kinds of them. The ones you smoke, the ones you snort, the ones you inject and the ones you get on prescription. And his sex life. But that is to be expected.
What comes across through all the craziness while he was high and out of control is that the man is very spiritual, very clever, a true Professional and at heart a poet.
It's clear that he loved the mothers of all his children and that he adores all his children and that he is very proud to be a Grandpa.
There are profanities throughout the book,so if you don't like that kind of thing, prepare to be offended. Steven describes himself as a foul mouthed individual. But he's funny with it.

It also comes across loud and clear that he accepts that he is an addict and that he needed to go into rehab to get clean, but that he feels that he was singled out and probably made a scapegoat - because the rest of the Band and management team etc were just as guilty of scoring drugs at every opportunity and of bad behaviour. He obviously feels it was made out that he was the only one - and the others got away with it by blaming him for stuff when they were equally as bad, or worse.

He obviously didn't like either of Joe Perry's wives. It would be really interesting to hear Joe Perry's take on things regarding that.

He has led a life of excess. By his own admission he calculates he spent approximately 20 million dollars on drugs.

He has an entertaining way with words. I like him.
And I think he was a born rock star.
I like the dude who looks like a lady. I love his style of dress - he's fabulous. And I enjoyed this book. I even laughed out loud in several places because he is just so outrageous.
Also, the hardback version of this book is really nice. The photos are great. The book beneath the dustcover is shiny and has a series of photos of him at the mic. Iconic images of an iconic rock star.

For me, the Demon of Screamin' has delivered a very enjoyable read.

Rock on Mister Tallarico.
May you live to be a hundred.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
Steven Tyler has lived the life of a hundred rock stars -- endless amounts of sex, drugs, insane behavior and ear-blisteringly awesome rock'n'roll. He's practically a rock archetype!

So I was expecting that "Does the Noise in My Head Bother You?: A Rock 'n' Roll Memoir" would be a pretty wild ride. Actually, it was more like being dragged behind a roller coaster on a little skateboard -- a wild, raucous, colorful explosion of Tyler's rock'n'roll life, constantly dancing between witty cleverness and manic exuberance.

Stephen Tyler had a fairly ordinary upbringing, which didn't stop him from being the mystical, mischievous wild-child of his New York family. And though his father was a pianist, he fell in love with rock'n'roll at an early age, cycling through several small-time bands and roaming through the wilds of 1960s New York City.

But his life REALLY changed when he met his "mutant twin," Joe Perry ("Joe is cool, Freon runs in his veins; I'm hot, hot-blooded Calabrese, a sulphur sun beast, shooting my mouth off"). And lo, rock history was made. Their band Aerosmith rapidly ascended to become one of the biggest in rock history, careening and soaring along with Tyler's own ups and downs -- marriages, children, drugs and the band's breakups and reunions.

"Does the Noise in My Head Bother You?: A Rock 'n' Roll Memoir" is very different from most rock memoirs, which are usually written when the rock star's brain has cooled down and grown up. Steven Tyler still seems to be shooting off crimson sparks in every direction, ranting and rejoicing with insane joy.

This is also how he writes. He rambles energetically about the events of his life with surprising clarity, but he often interrupts himself with weird asides ("No wonder I got Lead Singer Disorder") and meditations on sex, women, drugs, God, childhood... and of course, music ("The blues, man, the blues... the blooze! That achin' ol' heart disease and joker in the heartbreak pack, demon engine of rock...")

And yes, he has countless interesting stories to tell, whether it's searching for elves in the Sunapee woods or getting bawled out by Anita Pallenberg for buying a book on black magic.

Tyler himself comes across as a giant, exuberant man-child, still crammed with insane energy. He's obviously very clever and intelligent (he boasts about rigging up electric fences IN HIS BEDROOM), and he stirs in literary references with his rock'n'roll knowledge. But he also includes some wrenching moments that have obviously scarred him deep, such as when he learned of his daughter Mia's troubles with cutting and drugs.

There's obviously still a lot of noise in Steven Tyler's head, and his wild, deranged memoir sweeps you away and sinks you into the manic recesses of his brain. Warning: do not operate heavy machinery while reading this!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 11 May 2011
I like this book tons! Not because I'm a huge Aerosmith fan - nope, but that fact made me buy it in the first place, but because it does actually give a decent insight into Steven Tyler (or what he wants to show us). There is a faint band history thread throughout the book, and there's little you won't have heard in that respect from the Walk This Way book by Stephen Davies or numerous other biogs. History wise it doesn't necessarily follow the linear characteristics of time as we perceive it as Mr. T jumps from one point in time to another with the skills of a timelord! But generally there is a loose history which in places does seem a little mixed up with regards what songs were on what albums e.t.c....but maybe I need to read it again, but what we do get is Steven's side of the story and even better his musings on life, art and everything else under the sun .... and that's what makes it so interesting, on top of that with him being a vocalist, singer and songwriter the prose and wordplay employed is a joy...does it all make sense? Haha..hard to say, it's his muse rearing it's head just enjoy the flow of words.

You won't agree on his opinions of everything, you don't have to...heck... you don't have to agree with anyone, and there's a bit where he seems a bit down on the inhabitants of some rehab place called Big Sur coz it'll be full of older guys who'll as he says in not so many words, remember you from their teens and regale you with stories of how much the band meant to them. Hmmmm...yeah well I'm pushing 50 now and I've been into the band since age 14 in 1977....jeez nearly 35 years , where on earth did that time go?? Having said that I wouldn't bore the pants off someone that way anyway (at least I hope not) so I can get where he's coming from. I guess the trick is never meet your heroes.
Anyway a great read, a bit off the wall but that's how it should be. Great band, entertaining read and a big thanks for the last 35 years or so's to the next 20 Summers (at least!).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 15 July 2012
This has to be one of the strangest autobiographies I've ever read. Describing the style of writing is 'lively' is an understatement! Some parts are so jumbled you can hardly follow them, as Tyler goes off on so many tangents that sometimes the chronological order seems to have gone out the window. Other parts, however, are written with amazing clarity.

The funny thing is, despite these shifts between babble and lucid storytelling, he somehow manages to keep the story compelling all the while. I couldn't put the book down.

As you can imagine, there are lots of musings on drugs and addiction, but what I enjoyed more were the insights into the songs and the songwriting process, as well as his attachment to some of his songs. Tyler's a poet and and, in some strange way, maybe even something of a romantic at heart, and this all shines through when he writes about his music.

'Does the Noise in my Head Bother You?' is no ordinary autobiography. Perhaps only major fans of Aerosmith will appreciate it, since the writing style is as crazy as Tyler himself. It's just so damned entertaining at the same time!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 16 August 2011
Great read !!! A brutal but honest and refreshing account of the life and loves of one of the most charismatic rock and roll lead singers.
I felt I had been let into the world of a rock n roll life style which is literally and metaphorically lived on the Edge !!Steven tells of his antics about the drug taking and the sex,in graphic detail in parts !!! Its amazing he and the Band have survived !
Cannot believe how the Band has stayed together with all the in fighting and break ups, I feel its stayed together because Steven Tyler is so passionate about his music and the band ,he said its like his second family .He also speaks with great passion about his parents, his loves and the greatest loves , his children, which he found hard over the years missing his children being on the road and rehab .
If you love Aeromith and Steven Tyler you'll love this read, its not a walk in the park as it is graphic at times about a passionate man !
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 20 August 2012
If Steven Tyler didn't exist, rock'n'roll would have to invent him. The whirling dervish Aerosmith singer is the distilled essence of sex and drugs and rock'n'roll, from the tip of his stack heeled boots to the top of his haystack mane. He's the Screamin' Demon with the lecherous cackle, the Keef-style appetites and the swagger-jagger charisma that money just can't buy. And boy, he ain't bluffing. He's lived the life for nearly 40 years and now he's telling it like it was, is and - as he freely admits - probably always will be. If Tyler is the essence of rock, "Does The Noise In My Head Bother You?" is the essence of Steven Tyler.

Reading this book is like cracking open the top of Tyler's head and peering inside. It's like an explosion in a fireworks factory in there. Thoughts cartwheel off in all directions, stories rocket around and explode in a blaze of colour and everything happens at once. You'll find yourself going back to re-read bits because he flies off on so many tangents that you sometimes won't have a clue - not one single clue - what he's going on about. But as the man himself says, "Chronology? Fuggedaboutit!" You'll also find yourself coming up for air from time to time just to get a break from the sheer....well, Tylerness of it all, because both the subject matter (sex, drugs, drugs, rock'n'roll, sex and drugs, in roughly that order) and the hyperventilating prose style (he writes as he speaks) can be a bit overwhelming if taken in Tyler-sized doses.

But we learn a lot: his early life and musical influences, his 40-year love-hate relationship with his 'brother' Joe Perry, the insanity of life on the road, the $20 million that disappeared up his nose, the path strewn with walking wounded and his regrets about being a bad husband and father.

But you know what? As he unrepentantly surveys the train-wreck of his life, you're still rooting for him.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 23 May 2011
I've been a fan of Aerosmith for many years and have enjoyed reading about their exploits; the legendary drug use, the label of Americas most dangerous band and Tyler and Perrys moniker of The Toxic Twins has made for entertaining headlines and stories over the years.
The bands autobiography Walk this Way written with Stephen Davis (Hammer of the Gods) was revealing and at times quite moving, and after the recent soap opera drama surrounding the band and Tyler in particular this was always going to be a 'must read' for rock fans.
It doesn't disappoint. Tyler's way with words and lascivious vocabulary make you feel as though he is narrating the story in the room with you. His failed marriages, years of drug abuse that left him penniless and the band splintered, its all here in total and complete honesty. While other stars would be quick to blame others for their misfortunes and falls from grace, Steven Tyler holds his hands up to his mistakes and weaknesses and seems to be genuinely trying to learn from them.
What is clear by the end of the book is the love he has for all the women that passed through his life, his children, his musical brothers in Aerosmith and the music they make.
My only gripe (and its a small one) is you never really find out what the future holds for the band.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 30 March 2012
I think I may have permanently dislocated my jaw, having had it hanging open for the past week reading this book! It is true Tyler - spiritual, poetic, mad, gob-smackingly shocking, and full of love. Having seen the band live & followed their career since the '80's, it is fascinating to read the inside view from the singer's perspective.

For the person who complained about Steven getting dates wrong - Tyler is the first to admit that years of drugs have addled his memories. I doubt he can recall much of the seventies, let alone specific dates, so give the man a break: if you want dates, go to Wikipedia! If you want humour, love, poetry, laughter, and a real insight into the heady highs & severe lows of rock, this is the book for you.

As for the comment about his constant references to his lyrics, I think you miss the point. Tyler is explaining where his lyrics come from. It is rare to get such insight into the song-writing process & the lyrics add to the reader's understanding of what goes on in Mr Tyler's head - which is, after all, the reason behind the book's title!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 29 March 2012
Steven Tyler is a unique performer and individual, and I read this autobiography in one day. It was fascinating, outrageous, decadent and perceptive and his quirky personality and razor-sharp brain were much in evidence. There were parts of his dialogue that were incomprehensible to me, but that is the nature of the man (it did not ruin the read). He, like a lot of us, is a complex character where his weaknesses for addiction are simply matched by his determination to overcome ANY obstacle that addiction presents (heroin, Hepatitis 'C', feet issues and painkiller addiction etc).

What a life he has enjoyed and endured.

Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
As a big Aerosmith fan I'd been longing for an autobiography of Steven Tyler's & was delighted to hear that he was in fact releasing his memoirs ... despite waiting a long time to get my hands on it I'm disappointed to say that whilst I whipped through it in no time at all, I was left frustrated on quite a few levels.

Firstly & most annoyingly, I couldn't help but feel that the Publisher hadn't devoted enough time or money to the release. It's littered with typo's & relatively early on into the book, it's clear that the book hasn't so much been written but apparently lifted from Tyler waffling into a microphone. There's several occassions from memory where he appears to suggest that he's speaking to an interviewer (David Dalton) rather than telling his story from a written perspective. The always-crazy text also suggests that this is the band's super-charismatic lead singer simply waxing lyrical & spouting out the first thing that comes into his mouth rather than the far more considered style of the written word. I'm not naive enough to think that a huge number of other rock stars, sport stars or actors also "cheat" in this manner but at least it's usually carried out in a clever enough way to fool the reader.

The picture that Tyler paints and his opinions also fell quite some way short of what I'd hoped - of course there's copious amounts of sex, drugs & rock n roll but unfortunately it's the former two vices that really outweigh the music itself at times and whilst I still love Steven Tyler as the lead singer of the greatest American rock band, he doesn't come across in the best light for large parts of this book. Whilst it's refreshing to hear such honesty, I must admit to being a little disappointed to hear him whinging on about quite as much as he does here. I liken it to a recent Elton John gig I attended whereby he moaned about how he'll never record another studio album as they're simply too much work - forgetting that 5,000 people had just paid £75 to hear him moan before scurrying off to our 9 to 5 jobs the next morning.

Whilst I've highlighted the negative points here, the book is still well worth a read & Steven Tyler is undoubtedly a true gem - I laughed a lot, many times simply at the way he has with words - others from stories he has to tell. Much like other recent rock autobiographies, there's definitely a little over-emphasis on drugs (very similar to Slash in that respect) - once you've heard quite how bad they hit & all about the re-hab process, it does get a little tedious after a while. It's also sad (but true from Tyler's perspective) how little good he has to say about the other 4 Aerosmith members - i couldn't help but feel that perhaps it wasn't finished at the best of times from that perspective & this is another reason alone why I far preferred the brilliant "Walk this Way" - whilst it's Tyler's voice that we all hear when we think of Aerosmith, without Joe, Brad, Tom & Joey, it just doesn't sound quite right.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Slash: The Autobiography
Slash: The Autobiography by Slash (Paperback - 5 May 2008)

Walk This Way: The Autobiography Of Aerosmith
Walk This Way: The Autobiography Of Aerosmith by Aerosmith (Paperback - 21 Jan. 1999)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.