Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but to be taken with a pinch of salt, 17 Aug 2009
By 
H (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
She may only be 27 years old, but Britney Spears has seen and done enough for her life story to fill several volumes - and from stardom to breakdown, this book covers it all.

As such, it may be inevitable that the book will tell any reasonably clued up Britney fan a lot of things they already knew. However, that doesn't mean it's not worth their time or anyone else's - what is unique to this tome and makes it stand out amongst the ranks of unauthorised biographies is that Dennis makes it a very psychological exercise. The book includes many comments from a qualified psychologist theorising on the events of Britney's life and the human explanation behind her actions. In light of her well publicised breakdown and resurrection from the ashes, this may well be of interest not just to fans but to anybody who is at all interested in celebrity culture and how stars rise and fall (and in Britney's case, rise again). This is a book that will make you rethink everything you saw in the tabloids and see it in a fresh light.

To the book's credit, it doesn't address the reader as if they are a fan who will know everything or as a trained psychologist who can have tons of jargon thrown at them. The prose is very readable, and he takes pains not to point fingers or assign blame. Neither Britney nor the other players in her life are demonised or put up on pedestals, and he is careful to present both sides of the story where the truth is in dispute. That said, as a fan I did spot a number of pretty basic factual errors (particularly dates and correct sequences of events).

More importantly, it has to be rembered that this is an unofficial book and as such, he's going on a lot of educated guesswork here. The psychological analysis is interesting and definitely food for thought - none of it seems unreasonable or wildly out there - but since neither the author nor the psychologist has actually talked to Britney or the people in her immediate circle, it is necessarily hypothesis only and cannot be taken as gospel. It brings an intriguing perspective to her life, but if you want the definitive story then this is not going to be it.

Still, as far as unauthorised biographies go this is definitely more value for money than most. I half expected a rehash of old and already invalidated press rumours as many of them do turn out to be, so to see an attempt at thoughtful analysis and to capture the human side of the story - Britney the person and not Britney the tabloid dream - was refreshing.

That said, if you don't have a particular interest in her or in celebrity culture generally then there's nothing here that's going to appeal. If you're a fan of biographies rather than a fan of Britney, I'd suggest you try another one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read!, 22 Jun 2011
By 
Benson (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Britney: Inside the Dream (Paperback)
When the biography is unauthorised you can never be totally certain how much you should take away from the insight as the actual truth but for the most part Steve Dennis provides a very believable and well researched insight into the life of Britney Spears, backing up his well thought out theories appropriately.

The book pretty much traces Britney's professional journey from early childhood, exploring lesser known personal griefs of the star that may or may not have been a big contributing factor to that famous deterioration of the star that the whole world watched in 2007. There is a chapter at the end about the 'Circus' era but for the most part this book only channels the development of Britney up to that point.

Generally Steve Dennis portrays Britney very positively and sympathetically throughout. As a fan I especially enjoyed his style and knowing the professional journey of Britney very well I can reinstate that the theories are very logical.

Definitely a must for a Britney fan. I would also imagine this a great asset for anyone researching or writing a paper on Britney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRITNEY, 10 Jan 2010
A Kid's Review
THIS WAS PURCHASED AS A GIFT FOR MY YOUNGEST DAUGHTER WHO IS 12 YEARS. SHE HAS ENJOYED READING THIS BOOK AND SAID IT WAS EASY TO UNDERSTAND.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read. Good insight into Britney's life, you get to understand more into Britney's behaviour, and why she might have behaved how she did/does...it isn't all as it appears. Would recommend this book to everybody (even if you aren't a Britney fan)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for understanding Britney Spears... the person, 12 Aug 2013
This review is from: Britney: Inside the Dream (Paperback)
I was 9 years old when Britney Spears burst onto the scene with "...Baby One More Time" in 1999. I, like many others, was instantly fascinated with this girl, and it wasn't long before I became a fan. Britney Spears was all over my bedroom walls, taking up a lot of space in my CD rack, and blasting out of my stereo. I bought every one of her singles, and every magazine that featured her. I bought her albums as soon as they were available, and I got the Britney Spears doll in full "You Drive Me Crazy" dress. She was my idol and role model, until 2002 when my tastes suddenly changed; I wanted something edgier, and bubblegum pop was dying out, anyway. Britney's sound would become less poppy, but I had lost interest in her by then, believing, as others did, that she was "fake" and "trashy." I had found a new role model.

But nostalgia would eventually catch up with me some years later, when I realized that adolescent life - and then adult life - were not all they were cracked up to be. Like boybands, Britney represented a "better" time in my life, and I grew to like her again, albeit with some embarrassment. By this time, Britney was well into her heartbreak, public humiliation, and self-destruction. I supported her throughout her troubles, relating to her in some ways: she was struggling with what many people considered a mental illness; she was lost; she was depressed; she was acting out. I had suffered mental illness for a few years, including depression, and I felt sorry for Britney when most people were laughing at her and writing her off. She was my idol once upon a time, and I remembered that.

This book is a must-read for anyone curious about Britney's mindset between 2004 and 2008, and for any fan. It details Britney's childhood upbringing with her alcoholic and adulterous father, a mother who repeatedly took him back, and the repercussions of this that would become apparent in later life. It tells us of the way Britney trusted adult judgement, took instruction and direction from others, believing that they knew best, and how this would affect her own personal identity. We see that Britney was controlled so much at the height of her fame, instructed on how to act, what to say, how to dress, how to look, and given such a hectic schedule, that she inevitably rebelled. It reminds us of her relationship with Justin Timberlake, and how the split would break her heart and start her grieving. It even gives us some insights on exactly how early on in her career she started to feel lonely, depressed, and anxious: as early as the "Oops... I Did It Again" tour, when she cried at night, slept with her mother at the age of 18, and started taking prescription medication for anxiety. Her song "Lucky" in 2000 was obviously about herself, but I don't think anyone truly knew how Britney felt at the height of her fame. She wanted to be "normal," and live a "normal life," while simultaneously finding "normal" life too boring. The book tells of how Britney used performance as a means of coping, and how this would later make her identity-crisis more poignant. Lastly, this book gives us a valuable insight into why she shaved her head, why she went out partying instead of staying home with the boys, why she sabotaged her infamous VMA performance, etc. This book makes us feel compassion for Britney, and allows us to see her actions in a different light. It urges us to see Britney the person, not Britney the brand. It assures us that Britney is a sweet, gentle, warm-hearted girl, who loves to pull faces and "goof around" - not a neglectful, rude, unintelligent pop tart that many believe her to be, based on performances, news coverage and X Factor.

Many of the details covered in this book about Britney's life will already be known by long-term Britney fans, such as her Star Search performance, joining the Mickey Mouse Club, etc. But it offers personal accounts from people who knew Britney at the time, such as her old tutors, and record labels who met Britney, and "saw a quiet, mousey girl, who always said please sir and thank you ma'am."

This book really makes you see Britney in a different light, as a normal, ordinary woman. It makes you wonder how she really felt when she performed "Slave 4 U" on The Late Show with David Letterman, or "Breathe On Me" on an ABC special. It makes you hope that Britney finds herself again, and finds a balance between Britney Spears the brand and Britney Spears the person. I for one hope that Britney returns to her former glory, as an entertainer, a skilled dancer, and even a great singer. (Britney can sing... She has a deep, soprano voice that her record label, Jive, decided to change to a more poppy, breathy voice for her innocent-but-naughty teen-pop image.) I miss "Old Britney" who had sharp dance moves and amazing live shows, and I hope that Britney can recreate that time, but with a much more liberating schedule. I hope that Britney finds who she is, and gets that rebirth that she was after. I hope she finds those answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To Dream, To Believe: Britney's Journey, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 2010 paperback biography covers the life of Britney from her birth to the Circus Era with mentioning s of the X-Factor appearances; the lows, the highs, and the in betweens. What strikes this book to stand out from the others is the in depth approach of traveling inside the life of Britney. The author, Steve Dennis did some extensive research, hired a psychologist and embarked on a journey through the lens of the life of Britney. While there are some wrong album titles and misspellings this is not to be considered a bad read. The valuable input from the camp close to Britney [although no names were cited] create a puzzle like approach of getting the events pieced together to understand the chaos, and the knowledge of "Who is Britney Spears?". While the book Britney Spears: Little Girl Lost provides a phenomenal account, this book fills the gaps and details that one leaves out. This book got me to know more about the decisions Britney made, her struggles to make it on the music business, her belief in self, and her desire to never give up on her passion! It is a sure fire read that is impacting, insightful, and definitely on my favorites list.

As the book lays out the history of Britney's parents I was stunned to see how much information about Jamie Spears was left out on other books. His demons were scrutinized, analyzed, and dissected. It became evident from getting to know more about Britney's parents that she suffered emotional trauma at a young age. Being born into a dysfunctional family can never be easy. Her escape was her performance, her singing and her dancing. From the history of her parents and early childhood, the book mentions Britney's first love, first kiss, loss of virginity, and wild party nights. It starts from her early beginnings and takes the reader on a journey through Britney's eyes, the paparazzi, and the fans. The accounts on her first boyfriend were more elaborate in this book than LITTLE GIRL LOST. After her first love was gone then enters Justin Timberlake. This book will tell you how their first encounter was, their relationship, their break up, and more.

The downside, aside the misspellings and wrong album information, would be the back and forth approach on some chapters of dates. It fails to go on a time sequence at times thus creating some confusion. For instance, it will talk about the custody battles, and jump to the Circus tour then jump back to Kevin Federline. The upside would be the huge loads of data on Britney's melt down not found on other books. The different guys that Britney had brief relationships were discussed including the paparazzi ones. On the otherhand, the details on her now boyfriend [Jason Trawick] were not like LITTLE GIRL LOST. It was definitely lacking on that. Another downside, is that her album sales were not detailed to the T with sales ranks, singles, or extensive Billboard on all releases.

My favorite parts of the book that stand out to me would be the information on the Circus Tour. I have always been curious on her Louisiana Tour and on her mood and time span during that show. Since I own many of the Circus tours I was eager to get a more specific relation of where she was at with respects to Kevin Federline and the custody battle. This was an excellent account. Now after reading the details it is mesmerizing how Britney can be in so much chaos yet be able to put on such a mind blowing show!

If you have ever wondered the friends Britney hangs out with or the stuff she likes to do this will give you an idea. It has some glossy colored photos inside that are also very enlightening. Her wild nights with Paris Hilton and Lindsay Lohan are mentioned as well as the Madonna kiss. But the chaos, custody fights, relationships, and life Britney has are nothing compared to the actual in depth "inside" approach the author spins. It gives the impression that Britney is being dissected and over analyzed. The entire reading is close to the heart of who Britney is, her dreams, her struggles, and most of all a way to uncover the mystery behind the star. After reading this book I definitely feel Britney is a legend for all times and the true Princess of Pop. Her determination is reflected in these pages, her belief in her self is evident chapter by chapter, and her breakdown is a reflection of her human side. In short, the girl next door is also the sweetheart of the pop music industry! She is here to stay and as she grows with her fans so do the hits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great value for money, 19 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book cause i saw it recently at a bookshop shelf and i wanted to buy it, but the price was a bit high, so idecided to check first here in amazon.
what a good desition! despite the book is second handed its in a very good condition...the delivery was extremely fast...and the price unbelievable.
totally recomend this company
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT :), 28 Dec 2010
By 
Mrs. J. Sambrook "jessicaaaa" (doncaster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I got this book as a present as i'm a die hard Britney fan and i loved it! It was a fasinating read. xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Dennis, 30 Aug 2009
A fascinating insight into the private world of the top music icon. Beautifully researched and written by author Steve Dennis. A real gem of a book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Britney: Inside the Dream
Britney: Inside the Dream by Steve Dennis (Paperback - 27 May 2010)
£10.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews