Customer Reviews


219 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Murders and plots...
The third in Parris' Giordano Bruno series, Sacrilege sees Bruno travel to Canterbury to try to clear the name of Sophia, whom we first met in Heresy and who now stands accused of murdering her husband. While there, Bruno is asked by his spymaster Walsingham to look into potential conspiracies against the Queen.

At first, this novel seems to be a traditional...
Published on 7 April 2012 by FictionFan

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Diminishing Returns
This is the third outing for Giordano Bruno, the monk on the run turned astronomer turned Walsingham's employee, following Heresyand Prophecy. The story commences shortly after the second installment with the return of Bruno's love interest from Prophecy, Sophie, who is on the run from Canterbury, due to her husband having being murdered and her being the prime suspect...
Published on 24 Aug. 2012 by M. Stevens


‹ Previous | 111 12 1322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrilege (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable page Turner with many twists to the plot and a richly painted tapestry of the sights, sounds and smells of Tudor England
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Murder and Mayhem, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrilege (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent book by S.J. Parrish. Torturous plots within plots, murder and mmayham in medieval England. Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Elizabethan period intrigue - 3+, 24 Jun. 2012
By 
Blue in Washington "Barry Ballow" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Well plotted, late 16th Century mystery revolving around the religious turmoil that continued to threaten Elizabeth I until the end of her reign. Interesting protagonist in Bruno Giordano, Italian adventurer, former Catholic monk, spy and a kind of literal Renaissance man. In "Sacrilege", Giordano, working the Queen's spymaster, Francis Walsingham, goes to the cathedral seat of Canterbury to try and clear the name of his sometime girlfriend who is accused of killing her husband. Upon arrival, the Italian is quickly enveloped in the intrigues being spun out to unseat the Protestant regime and restore the Roman faith to England. Murders follow (daggers are often the weapons of choice).

The best thing about the novel is the author's skill at creating the physical environment of the period. The reader is allowed no romantic illusions about living conditions, hygiene or public sanitation. Working somewhat less well (for me, at least), was the credibility of the characters. Their qualities are a bit "pumped up" and their actions portrayed in the extreme. Still, not a bad bit of writing and continuously interesting throughout. it appears to be a serious that will go on as the protagonist's love interest is very much alive and kicking at the conclusion of "Sacrilege."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD CONTINUATION, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrilege (Giordano Bruno 3) (Paperback)
A WELL PACED STORY PLOT TIGHT PULLS THE READER INTO THE TIME PERIOD YOU COULD ALMOST BE THERE CALLS OUT FOR MORE ADVENTURES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 1 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. B. Grose - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrilege (Giordano Bruno 3) (Paperback)
one of a triology and all of them are a brilliant read. Waiting for her next book. A good storyteller. historical fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book - Sacrilege, 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrilege (Giordano Bruno 3) (Paperback)
Brilliant - absolutely gripping reading. Can recommended this 100%. I couldn't put it down - housework got left, I'm afraid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book is in fine condition, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrilege (Giordano Bruno 3) (Paperback)
Excellent story, i've really liked it ! This is my second book in the series i've read. Cannot wait to read them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good trilogy, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrilege (Giordano Bruno 3) (Paperback)
My wife bought them for me as she knows my interest in all things historical. A good read that I thoroughly enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrilege (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely adored the whole series. A different aspect to usual historical novels. Thoroughly recom
Ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gripping read, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrilege (Kindle Edition)
Once again the writer takes you on a journey with gripping twists and turns.a good read leaving you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 111 12 1322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sacrilege (Giordano Bruno 3)
Sacrilege (Giordano Bruno 3) by S. J. Parris (Paperback - 16 Aug. 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews