Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality historical mystery
This is a really well written and entertaining story. The principal characters (both historical and fictional) are well rounded and believable. Although, from the little I know of the real Bruno, I suspect he was not quite as nice a chap as S J Parris would have us believe - he seemed to manage to annoy everyone he came into contact with eventually. But that's being picky...
Published on 25 April 2011 by Pardo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Written well, but plotted by numbers
While in Heresy the historical truth, that Bruno went to Oxford for a debate with Sidney and the Palatine, sat uneasily alongside the fiction, here the history is central. Not knowing the details before I read it, I did not know which parts of the conspiracy against Elizabeth were truth and which were fiction.

It was, however, easy to see the fiction in how it...
Published 4 months ago by M. A. Truman


‹ Previous | 113 14 1527 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Prophecy, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophecy (Kindle Edition)
Great plot with so many twists and turns that keep the reader guessing. Interesting historical data alongside fictional characters. Exciting and entertaining, well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Erudite and Eclectic, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophecy (Giordano Bruno 2) (Paperback)
Historical thriller with enlightening titbits. Quite revelatory - science fiction from a polymath!
I actually saw Dr Dee's 'scryer' at Margate's seaside Modern Art's Museum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just finished it and really enjoyed it, it's exremely difficult to follow CJ SAMSON ..., 23 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Prophecy (Giordano Bruno 2) (Paperback)
Just finished it and really enjoyed it ,it's exremely difficult to follow CJ SAMSON ( shardlake) but all in all a good read and looking forward to next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read. If you enjoy history and a muder ..., 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophecy (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read. If you enjoy history and a muder mystery this book is for you. I have read all the series now ( not in order!) and have enjoyed every one of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars medieval murder mystery, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophecy (Kindle Edition)
Well written, intriguing throughout. The thread of the story keeps interest high until the very end and leaves you wanting more, looking forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this read it is a good story and one ..., 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophecy (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this read it is a good story and one that you get involved in. This type of historic novel although fictional gives a bit of the essence of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second episode of a great series, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophecy (Kindle Edition)
A second enjoyable escapade for Giordano Bruno. As with the first book, I enjoyed the historical background as well as the mystery to be solved. A great series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good. This is the first of this series ..., 14 Sept. 2014
By 
Dido Wilson (Staines, Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophecy (Kindle Edition)
Yes, pretty good. This is the first of this series I have read, and the writer is new to me. Interesting background and it felt authentic. I shall read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bruno triumphs again!, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophecy (Giordano Bruno 2) (Paperback)
Am loving this series about Bruno Giordano. Didn't think I could enjoy another series as much as the C J Sansom books but can't wait to start on book 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars These novels create an impressively authentic feel of the Elizabethan ..., 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prophecy (Kindle Edition)
These novels create an impressively authentic feel of the Elizabethan era. The central character is well drawn, and sympathetic. A very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 1527 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prophecy (Giordano Bruno 2)
Prophecy (Giordano Bruno 2) by S. J. Parris (Paperback - 18 Aug. 2011)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews