Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Collection
This is a superb collection of the great Oscar Wilde's writings, containing all that he wrote; all of the plays, the poems, short stories, 'The Picture of Dorian Gray', the essays, and 'De Profundis'.

If you want the complete works of the great 'lord of language', then I would highly recommend this compendium, and which for £8.99 is a very good buy...
Published on 22 July 2009 by h2g2

versus
8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The most important line from Wilde.....mis-written
The book itself looks very impressive. Hardback with the gold lettering is very impressive as is the collection of works included. However when i came to read The Importance of Being Earnest, i noticed that the most famous line ever written by Wilde has been missed out. The line from Lady Bracknell in response to Jack stating that he has lost both his parents, reads,...
Published on 28 April 2011 by T Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Collection, 22 July 2009
This is a superb collection of the great Oscar Wilde's writings, containing all that he wrote; all of the plays, the poems, short stories, 'The Picture of Dorian Gray', the essays, and 'De Profundis'.

If you want the complete works of the great 'lord of language', then I would highly recommend this compendium, and which for £8.99 is a very good buy.

The writing is also a moderate size, which is good, as some text in these sorts of collection's can be rather small, but the size of writing is good in this book.

Yes, this is basically a very good collection, which I would recommend very highly.

I hope that you have found this little review helpful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just kid's stories..., 30 Mar 2010
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Fry Presents - Stories for all ages (Audio CD)
Having seen the other reviews, I was wary of this CD & thought it may prove to be a flat note in Stephen Fry's/ Oscar Wilde's repertoire. Happily both were on top form with Oscar Wilde writing some devilishly clever stories, with his protegee Stephen Fry giving just the right voice to do them justice.

All in all, there are 6 stories (including a story-within-a-story) at 15- 30 minutes a piece, so they are manageable in a long car journey/ walk.

***

1) THE DEVOTED FRIEND

This story is the 'story-within-a-story' mentioned above. The main story is truly unique to Oscar Wilde's Victorian wit - a Duck with several duckling being reproached by a genteel Water-Rat for their lack of decorum!
A Green Linney overhears the conversation & tells them a story about two friends called Little Hans & the Miller. It turns out to be a very one sided friendship & the Miller manipulates Little Hans to do all manner of tasks in the name of friendship & the promise of a wheelbarrow.
I was expecting this story to be difficult & boring, but was surprised, as always, by Wilde's brilliance.

2) THE HAPPY PRINCE

I'd read this story before & found it almost poetic the second time. It is the sad, soulful tale of a Swallow & the gold-plated statue of a Prince. The Swallow wants to go off to Egypt, but is persuaded by the statue to distribute his gems & finery to the poor & needy at winter-time.
It struck me that this tale would make a great Christmas story alongside The Christmas Books: A Christmas Carol; The Chimes; The Cricket on the Hearth & why it is not more popular is a mystery to me...

3) THE NIGHTINGALE & THE ROSE
"Love is better than life"

This wonderful story is about a young lady being courted by a Philosophy student who says at the outset "all the secrets of philosophy are mine, yet for want of a red rose is my life made wretched".
The tale then consists of a Nightingale searching for a red rose only to find that such a thing demands his sweetest song & every drop of blood from his heart.
Like all Wilde's stories, it combines poetic romance with the dark wit of a realist.

4) THE REMARKABLE ROCKET
"The only thing that sustains one through life is the consciousness of the immense inferiority of everybody else, and this is a feeling that I have always cultivated."

Onto CD 2 & the first tale sounds very much like the proud Oscar Wilde that fell so suddenly from Grace. The Rocket in the story is part of a talking fireworks display for a Royal marriage. A Bengal Light & a Roman Candle have a long conversation with an incredibly Proud & Boastful Rocket who is certain he'll be star of the show. Things, however, do not turn out as planned...

5) THE SELFISH GIANT

The most Fairytale-like of all the stories, it seemed very much in the mold of C.S. Lewis in two senses.
First, it is the story of a Giant who keeps a walled garden where he forbids any children. Just as the cruelty of the Snow Queen leads to a cold land, so the coldness of the Giant leads to permanent winter in the Garden.
Second, there is a little boy who melts the Giants cold heart (similar to Aslan in The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe) only to show up later with nails in his hands.
Methinks that C.S. Lewis was an Oscar Wilde fan!

6) THE YOUNG KING
"Shall joy wear what grief has fashioned?"

The last story is the longest (at 35 minutes) & has a similar feel to 'The Happy Prince' in seeming like a Christmas tale.
A Young soon-to-be-crowned King has three dreams & learns a lesson from each about where his fine apparel comes from. He has an epiphany and realises how callous he's been to his subjects (Scrooge, anyone?)
Although this story is a bit slow to start & has a hint of Deja Vu, it still works well as a tale & is carried well by Wilde's poetic ability.

***

With all the stories I was expecting them to be either old fashioned or babyish. Fortunately they are neither & you can see why Fry says on the back cover that "I do not mind admitting that at the recording some passages were hard to read out loud without choking".

Like the Stephen Fry Presents - Short Stories by Anton Chekhov, though, I have the same nagging grievance - why is it only 6 stories & 2 hours 14 minutes of material? Fair enough that Wilde wrote few short stories, but a double album with the Chekhov stuff (or better still with some of Wilde's under-rated poetry) would have made a much more desirable product.

That said, I can think of few instances where a great narrator has been so perfectly matched with an author. Wilde & Fry are very much cut from the same cloth & Fry has even made a film playing his doupelganger.
The only thing I can think of comparable to this pairing is that of Dawkins reading Darwin on On The Origin of Species & I wonder why it is not done more often.
Can anyone imagine The Queen reading Queen Victoria's Journals, or Terry Pratchett reading The Lord of the Rings? It would give a whole new meaning to the phrase "bringing a book to life"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both Author and Book, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the Wordsworth Library Collection. Fantastic books. I love the thin paper with coloured pages. Great illustrations. Regarding Wilde, I have several copies of his collected works from different prints, he is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars talking book fan, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Fry Presents - Stories for all ages (Audio CD)
Great produce as expected bought for my mum and she loved it as at 92 she now finds reading difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Fry ,,, Stories, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen Fry Presents - Stories for all ages (Audio CD)
This is the perfect combination of the gentle voice of Stephen Fry reading stories written by the great Oscar Wilde
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oscar Wilde is a favourite of mine so i just had to get this book and i was not disappointed! There is a certain wit and charm in his writing which is clever and unique. All of Oscar Wildes work in one nicely bound book, what more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent book to have in its library!, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A precious book, a real passionnate by the Ninetieth Century Irish Literature must have! A large choice of texts (theatreplays, tales, novels...).
A rare and sophisticated pleasure...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's - literally - everyting!, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Orlando Castro "OGC" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Considering this book contains all the works of Oscar Wilde, it has a relatively small size without having a very small font, which is a relief. That's point one.
Point two: Oscar Wilde is a genius! His way of writing is really his own, you can see that in everything he wrote, from his personal letter De Profundis to any of his ficcion. He has a peculiar kind of humor, a very intelligent one, but one can still very easily relate to it. On the other hand, you may get some sort of Wilde fever and read a lot of his works in a row and then get a little tired of it. But from my experience, you get over that quick! ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My books from Amazon, 12 April 2010
By 
Bjarne Hansen "Bjarne Hansen" (København) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Two months ago I was looking for some English literature. I went to my book-shop and asked for some English books but they didn't had any books of my interest, try Amazon, they said to me, and such I done. I bought three old classic books. The books were the collected Works of Oscar Wilde - and The Complete Sherlock Holmes - and the collected novels of The Bronte Sisters. The books look very nice, they were bound of cloth and the one of these was printed with gold on the edge of the pages. I thought that to such a low price the books must have been printed in China. The books look very nice in my bookcase and in your bookcase too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The most important line from Wilde.....mis-written, 28 April 2011
By 
T Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book itself looks very impressive. Hardback with the gold lettering is very impressive as is the collection of works included. However when i came to read The Importance of Being Earnest, i noticed that the most famous line ever written by Wilde has been missed out. The line from Lady Bracknell in response to Jack stating that he has lost both his parents, reads, "Both...that seems like carelessness." rather than the line we all know it should say.

I know giving this 1 star may seem a bit harsh but it is such a crucial error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stephen Fry Presents - Stories for all ages
Stephen Fry Presents - Stories for all ages by Oscar Wilde (Audio CD - 2 July 2009)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews