Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heart-wrenching and heart-warming
The story should really be called 'The boy who survived the famine and then harnessed the wind.' The first two-thirds of the book is about Williams growing up in Kasungu in Malawi and understated simpleness of his life and the tragedy of the Famine of 2001 in Malawi.

Reading about the famine is heart-wrenching. I did at a point have tears in my eyes and an...
Published on 22 Mar. 2010 by Peter R

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Story behind William and the windmill
Enjoyed descriptions of land and life in Malawi but ending was disappointing. The American phrasing threw me a little. I was much more used to hearing a different turn of phrase from Malawians during my years there. Lovely to read about the everyday practicalities of life on the Warm Heart of Africa, although the eating of the goat skin is difficult to read.
Published 10 months ago by Loopy Lili


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Warm Heart of Africa, 17 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant, well written story of life in Malawi. It depicts the difficulties of day to day living with the resilience and determination that shines through in family life.. This is 'The warm heart of Africa'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A story of how ingenuity can overcome even the worst poverty. A wonderful story of triumph over adversity. Just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a truly remarkable story that completely captures the imagination and attention of anyone lucky enough to have stumbled across this gem. Initially I found it quite difficult to get into the way of, as it is very different from anything else that I've read, but I guarantee that whatever your background is - you will not regret having discovered this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't stop reading!, 10 Oct. 2012
This book may have had a greater impact on me because I have just recently returned from Africa. But even if you have never set foot on African soil and you do like real life stories or biographies, then they don't come much better than this.
It is a story told with humility that forces the reader to think outside themselves and put life and it's issues into perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Need a little inspiration to get you out of bed in the morning?, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind (Paperback)
I hope someday to shake his hand. I am a teacher, read this on my summer break, this has got to be introduced into schools as part of the curriculum. This is someone who is truly inspiring. It’s not just the pupils who need to read this, I am now encouraging my colleagues to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars uplifting, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind (Paperback)
A fantastic story of doing something wonderful just with the power of curiosity and determination. Should be on the reading list for schools as it shows how even if you start with nothing you can transform your community and life by doing something productive. Simply inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Inspiration, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind (Paperback)
An inspirational account of a boy who fought against the odds to achieve the incredible from nothing. It should be compulsory reading in schools. Whatever age you are read it and be inspired and amazed. If you think the world is against you read it and think again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moving and inspiring, 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind (Paperback)
A brilliant story about the difficulties facing many African societies in terms of famine and under development. Highlights how the perseverance and determination of individuals can have a dramatic effect on the quality of people's lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Appropriate use of wind power, 8 Mar. 2010
By 
Jago Wells (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Unlike the huge energy corporations who wish to cover our iconic landscapes with huge land hungry industrial wind power plants,William Kamkwamba of Malawi sees a different future for wind power. Low impact and harnessed to domestic locations rather than hundreds of miles away from remote consumers.
As an inventive teenage boy living in poverty,William designs a small basic turbine which he makes from salvaged scrap. After his initial success,the young African is inspired to construct a turbine which will service his family's basic needs. Against the odds William battles through social and technical adversity to build his turbine. An uplifting tale told with courage and humour. A million miles from the corporate fat-cats profit driven vision of renewable energy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, good hearted and touching real life story, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind (Paperback)
Nice, good hearted and touching real life story, although outcome of the actual story unfortunately does not benefit the inventors community or region due to political and economic agendas of the large cooperate world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind
The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind by William Kamkwamba (Paperback - 4 Mar. 2010)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews