Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The blood-drenched ending will give you nightmares!"
WARNING! IF YOU HAVE NOT YET READ 'BIRTH OF A KILLER' THEN DO NOT READ THIS REVIEW!

At the end of the last book, Larten and Wester were left behind by Seba so that they could have fun living in the human world with fellow young vampires called Cubs. The book starts off with Larten having a ball of a time, and when he leaves behind the Cubs he and Wester join a...
Published on 1 May 2011 by Chris D

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not for the faint hearted
It had a good storyline and everything but towards the end a little psychopathic. This book is great but if you don't like Gore or blood do not read the book.
Published 3 months ago by looks good


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The blood-drenched ending will give you nightmares!", 1 May 2011
WARNING! IF YOU HAVE NOT YET READ 'BIRTH OF A KILLER' THEN DO NOT READ THIS REVIEW!

At the end of the last book, Larten and Wester were left behind by Seba so that they could have fun living in the human world with fellow young vampires called Cubs. The book starts off with Larten having a ball of a time, and when he leaves behind the Cubs he and Wester join a war pack: they observe humans fighting and then feast on the bloody corpses. It's one of these 'feasts' that provides the book's second most gruesome scenes, but the top scene for giving you nightmares is... Well, I'll talk about that later.

The fun and games can't last forever, though, and Larten and Wester are soon back at Vampire Mountain. Wester knows what he wants to do with his life, but Larten is not sure, and so the majority of this book sees Larten trying to find his path in life. More characters from 'The Saga of Darren Shan' are re-visited in this book, including Evanna, Arra Sails and Vancha, and whilst it is good to learn more about these characters, it also can make this book at times feel like just a re-telling of 'The Saga of Darren Shan' rather than a brand new book. But that's only at times; mostly this book feels fresh and original.

I mentioned before that there is a scene that will give you nightmares and that blood-drenched scene comes right at the end of the book. Don't worry, I won't spoil it for you!

My only main critism of this book is that, like 'Birth of a Killer', there are very few strong, original female characters. Most of the women are either: stupid and pretty humans for the Cubs to woo or a house-wife waiting for her husband to come home so she can cook the tea for him. There are some strong women, these being Lady Evanna and Malora, but even these have their sexist labels: Evanna is only liked by men when she looks gorgeous and beautiful, and Malora spends most of her time cooking and cleaning for Larten.

That's only one flaw, though, and does not stop this book being utterly fantastic, and the ending will have you shivering. Dark, brutal and clever, but I do hope Shan gets some more original ideas and better female characters in his future books. 5/5.

FOR MORE OF MY BOOK REVIEWS SEE: https://sites.google.com/site/thebookkeep/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyably book, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've always been a fan of Darren Shan's writing style, and although classed somewhat as a teen book this can be enjoyed by all ages. Another great read in the Larten Crepsley saga and very much looking forward to reading the next one. Although short it's enough to keep you hooked for about 3 hours depending on how quick you read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not for the faint hearted, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It had a good storyline and everything but towards the end a little psychopathic. This book is great but if you don't like Gore or blood do not read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haven't read it yet. Not in the reading mood but came very quick and in good condition so hopefully it will be a good read when the time comes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely amazing book!!! I know these are aimed at teens or young adults but I must say for an adult it is still a series difficult to put down!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Darren Shan., 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favourite authors. I can't wait to read this but I am reading another book at the moment. The book itself looks a bit battered but its in alright condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son loved it!, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son loves all of Darren Shan's books and this is no exception. The artwork on the cover is amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another good book. I really do like the Darren Shan books and this is like a diary of Mr Crepsley. Mr Crepsley is my favourite character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean of Blood (The Saga of Larten Crepsley, Book 2) (Paperback)
this was a great book to read as ive read the vampire series was great to see how he lived before enjoyed it very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book I've read them all and find them as good as each other if your a Mr crepsley fan i'd recommend you get these all of them!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ocean of Blood (The Saga of Larten Crepsley, Book 2)
Ocean of Blood (The Saga of Larten Crepsley, Book 2) by Darren Shan (Paperback - 29 Sep 2011)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews