Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dalziel on his own
First Sentence: No one knew how it came about the Dalziel was making a speech.

With Pascoe off on his honeymoon, Dalziel (Dee-Ell) is taking a holiday of his own. Things quickly go awry when his car is swamped in a flooding road. He is rescued by a group of rather happy mourners and taken to a decrepit mansion to dry off. More seems wrong than just the...
Published on 29 Jan 2010 by L. J. Roberts

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An April Shroud
The condition of the book was reasonable for second hand and it arrived well packaged and quickly. The story was not as good as others he has written as it centred round Dalziel instead of the team which, in my opinion, makes it less interesting as there isn't the same interplay of relationships. It came alive when the Pascoes came back into it.
Published 10 months ago by grandmajil


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dalziel on his own, 29 Jan 2010
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: April Shroud (Hardcover)
First Sentence: No one knew how it came about the Dalziel was making a speech.

With Pascoe off on his honeymoon, Dalziel (Dee-Ell) is taking a holiday of his own. Things quickly go awry when his car is swamped in a flooding road. He is rescued by a group of rather happy mourners and taken to a decrepit mansion to dry off. More seems wrong than just the state of the abode; there's a preserved rat in the freezer and the very appealing mistress of the manner twice widowed in suspicious circumstances.

When bodies become a fact of the present, rather than the past, Dalziel isn't leaving until the murderer is found.

It was nice to see Dalziel on his own for most of this book. He is fat, crass, rude, politically incorrect and altogether repulsive. And he's wonderful. He is the type of character you'd rather not know, or even be around, but you can't help like him and would always want him on your side. Aside from Pascoe, who is absent from most of this book, none of the characters are appealing.

In addition to Hill creating a very vivid cast of characters is the writing. Hill is an amazing author. He lovingly created a masterful and complex plot, with plenty of twists and an element of suspense. It was a wonderful version of the "country manor" mystery.

Hill's descriptions and dialogue with delightful sharp humor kept me engaged from first page to last. He truly demonstrated that one can tell a complete, compelling story in 187 pages (in my edition).

I am having a delightful time working my way through this series. I highly recommend Dalziel and Pascoe to all.

AN APRIL SHROUD (Pol. Proc-Dalziel and Pascoe-England-Cont) - VG+
Hill, Reginald - 4th in series
Foul Play Press, 1975, US Hardcopy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early Pascoe and Dalziel--mostly Dalziel, 1 May 2012
By 
Blue in Washington "Barry Ballow" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: An April Shroud (Paperback)
"An April Shroud" is one of Felony & Mayhem Publishing's reprints of excellent (mostly) mysteries from the 70s and before. In this very well written Reginald Hill story, Dalziel and Pascoe have become the formidable detective team they will be for years to come, but Pascoe marries Ellie in the first chapter and leaves on a honeymoon, leaving Dalziel to take some time off on his own after the wedding. Big Andy is soon embroiled with a bizaare menage that generates dead bodies on a regular basis.

As always, the best parts of "An April Shroud" are the highly original characters and witty dialogue that are hallmarks of author Hill (and pretty much unequalled by any other mystery or other genre writer in 20 years). The book's plot is unusually serpentine and the denouement both funny and a bit opaque. In any event, it's a fine piece of writing that any reader will enjoy. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like my kettle (only better), 12 Feb 2009
By 
Leslie JJ Martin "bloody silly idea this" (News From Nowhere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No hesitation in giving this one full marks. Easier to keep track of the personnel here than in some others in the series, there is no "author's alter ego" spouting long words in place of being in possession of a credible personality, and the idea of Dalziel contemplating his "futurity" as a result of Pascoe's marriage is probably where Hill first wades above his shins with a view to breasting the deeps of their relationship. Dalziel gets the woman all right (need you ask?), but ends up being married to his job, which seems a decidedly brighter prospect for him in consequence of Pascoe's return in the final pages. So, fun and games with the prospect of plenty more.
The similarity to my kettle? As with the kettle, I'm only writing this to attempt to counter the unfairness of what I consider to be a particularly unperceptive review. There's an entertaining story here and it would be a shame to miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An April Shroud, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An April Shroud (Paperback)
The condition of the book was reasonable for second hand and it arrived well packaged and quickly. The story was not as good as others he has written as it centred round Dalziel instead of the team which, in my opinion, makes it less interesting as there isn't the same interplay of relationships. It came alive when the Pascoes came back into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A weak addition to the oeuvre, 17 Nov 2000
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I feel that Hill perceives his characters so vividly that they are real to him and by so doing he likes to show us glimpses of their off-duty time. This is essentially one of those glimpses, despite a weakly mysterious story line. I too like to think of Dalziel and Pascoe as real people but I like to find out things about them as a subtext to the murder enquiry, not have the murder as the subtext. I was disappointed because this didn't add anything to my knowledge of the characters or to my enjoyment of a good murder mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the cover............, 25 Feb 2007
After seeing Inspector Pascoe off on his honeymoon with a few ill-chosen words, Superintendent Andy Daiziel soon runs into trouble and water on his own solitary holiday. Rescued by a bunch of somewhat cheerful mourners, he accompanies them back to their rundown mansion to dry off.

The owner of Lake House, Bonnie Fielding, seems less troubled by her husband's tragic death than by the problem of finishing the half-completed Banqueting Hall which is to save the family fortunes. Prompted not only by a professional curiosity - why, for instance, would anyone want to keep a dead rat in a freezer? - but also by a more personal interest in Mrs Fielding's ample charms, Daiziel stays on.

By the time Pascoe reappears, there have been several more deaths, and it looks as if his normally hard-headed boss might have compromised himself beyond redemption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An April Shroud
An April Shroud by Reginald Hill (Paperback - 25 Jun 2009)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews