Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile, if not as good as Hill's later work
The first of the Dalziel and Pascoe novels is not as complex or thoughtful as some of the later books in the series, but it's still an entertaining mystery that lays the foundations of the relationship between two very different men who together form a formidable detective team. Even this first book displays Hill's witty style and elegant prose, if not to the...
Published on 12 Jan 2006 by Jules Jones

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review for the abridged audio CD
I originally read this back in 2000 and I only gave it 2.5 stars then. When the abridged audio CD came my way I thought I'd give it a go, not realising my repeat. It was not a problem, however, as there is not much about this novel that is memorable.

The murder victim is the wife of one of the local rugby team's main players and the whole team is suspect in...
Published on 22 May 2012 by DubaiReader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile, if not as good as Hill's later work, 12 Jan 2006
The first of the Dalziel and Pascoe novels is not as complex or thoughtful as some of the later books in the series, but it's still an entertaining mystery that lays the foundations of the relationship between two very different men who together form a formidable detective team. Even this first book displays Hill's witty style and elegant prose, if not to the same high level as later books.
The book is based around the goings-on at a rugby club that may or may not be connected with the murder of the wife of one of the players, but no knowledge of the game is required to enjoy the book -- it's a study of the social interactions in such a venue rather than the sport itself. The main problem readers are likely to face is that the book was first published in 1970, and as such is recent enough not to be immediately obviously a period work, while still being old enough for the culture and mores to feel somewhat odd to the modern reader. It's important to be aware of the period when reading the book, as many of the potential motivations for the characters revolve around sexual jealousy and flouting of mores. Hill draws a detailed picture of life in a relatively small Yorkshire town in the 1970s, with its web of social obligations and friendships that can be exploited by both the police and those they're pursuing.
Not my favourite of the series, and the charcters aren't yet fully developed, but well worth reading both in its own right and as an introduction to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An early meeting with Dalziel and Pascoe, 17 Nov 2000
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This was interesting to me from the point of view of seeing how much Hill has matured as a writer since he wrote this. The basic characters are there but there isn't the depth and affection in the writing that comes with familiarity. The story is quite strong and nicely plotted. He plays successfully on the sympathy you feel for the murdered woman's husband and the fact that he may well be the murderer and takes every opportunity to muddy the waters. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A seventies detective story, 15 Jun 2011
By 
Eleanor (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Clubbable Woman (Paperback)
"A Clubbable Woman" is the first Dalziel and Pascoe novel (Dalziel is gruff & rough, Pascoe his university-educated subordinate) and also the first of Hill's novels I have read. First published in 1970 it is a murder mystery centred around a local rugby club and its various affairs, intrigues, and loyalties.

Hill is an intelligent writer, vividly describing the novel's localities and characters. The seventies setting felt slightly dated, however, and the sexual politics were rather unappealing (lots of buxom women seducing impressionable men).

In spite of this, I am interested in where Hill will go with the series and look forward to reading the next Dalziel and Pascoe book - An Advancement of Learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful introduction, 4 Mar 2009
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
First Sentence: "He's all right."

Sergeant Peter Pascoe has a degree in social sciences and read criminology. His new boss is Superintendent Andrew Dalziel (Dee-ell) is big, sloppy, a copious drinker and has his own way of solving crimes. I their first case together, they investigate the murder of Mary Connon.

Mary Connon was a shrewish housewife married to a former local rugby star. After a game, "Connie" comes home to find his wife watching television in her favorite chair, only later to realize she is dead. "Connie" is the obvious suspect but Dalziel disagrees.

One of the most interesting things about this particular edition was the author's note where Hill talks having had no intention of this being a series or of Dalziel being the focal character. It's always interesting to see how things develop.

The other thing I enjoyed was learned about Dalziel through Pascoe's internal dialogue. We are discovering Dalziel as Pascoe is. As to the story itself, it doesn't have the depth found in the later books. Nor, because of the nature of it, does it have the interplay or humor between the two characters.

What it does have is a good plot and a solid foundation for the rest of the series. I look forward to seeing where it goes from here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First of the series, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First Dalziel and Pascoe novel, very good but they get better and better as the series progresses.
A must for lovers of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clubbable Woman, 26 Jun 2012
By 
F. J. Francis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Clubbable Woman (Paperback)
A good read, just like all E. Hill's books. Not a lot more to say about this item. I have now read all his novels and short stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review for the abridged audio CD, 22 May 2012
By 
DubaiReader "MaryAnne" (Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Clubbable Woman (Paperback)
I originally read this back in 2000 and I only gave it 2.5 stars then. When the abridged audio CD came my way I thought I'd give it a go, not realising my repeat. It was not a problem, however, as there is not much about this novel that is memorable.

The murder victim is the wife of one of the local rugby team's main players and the whole team is suspect in some way or another.
The senior detective investigating the crime is Dalziel, a sloppy hulk of a man who is at home amongst the beer swilling rugby crowd where this crime is set. His younger side-kick, Pascoe, is less comfortable; he comes from a more middle class background and does not identiy with the rugby scene. The play-off between the two becomes well developed in later novels but at this stage it is in its infancy and does not provide much entertainmant value.
The various characters are interviewed in a fairly routine manner and I was quite glad that my audio CD was the abridged version.

One aspect of this audio CD that did lift it above the run-of-the-mill though, was the fact that it was read by Warren Clarke, himself. He has a highly recognisable voice that instantly launched me into the British TV series that I had enjoyed many years ago.

This is the first book in the Pascoe and Dalziel series and it set the scene for future investigations featuring the two detectives. Written back in 1970, it is decidedly dated, but more recent books by this author have received good ratings so I may give him another go in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gentle English Crime, 17 April 2012
By 
C. Wilkinson "Chris the Book" (Crystal Palace England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Clubbable Woman (Paperback)
Authors first book in the Dalziel/Pascoe seies. The wit and banter is soon established between the two detectives.The pace is a little slow but reflects the village where the crime has been committed. The plot is somewhat predictable but nevertheless it is quietly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Clumsy but showing potential, 8 Nov 2009
By 
The first Dalziel and Pascoe novel and it kind of shows. It's still an enjoyable read but the characters haven't quite arrived at their final destinations yet and the mystery is a bit clumsy. The resolution of the crime was a bit of a damp squib, there were a couple of interesting twists along the way but also some very clumsy setups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Clubbable Woman
A Clubbable Woman by Reginald Hill (Paperback - 25 Jun 2009)
6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews