Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical Fiction
This book does a great job of setting out the causes of the Peasants Revolt, how life at court worked and the impacts on all levels of society in a post "Mortality" (Black Death) world. It is also interesting as it describes the beginnings of the commercial power of the City of London. It was well crafted, a rewarding read. Writer's license is used to interweave the lives...
Published on 4 Aug. 2010 by artemisrhi

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The actual history is probably more captivating
Alice Perrers is probably one of the most reviled women in medieval history. Whilst she was no angel, the (albeit deserved) reputation for grasping doesn't tell the whole story. She certainly tried to get what she could for herself and her own, but she did provide comfort and support to an aging king who saw his hopes for the future dying as his once formidable son wasted...
Published on 25 Feb. 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The actual history is probably more captivating, 25 Feb. 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The People's Queen (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Alice Perrers is probably one of the most reviled women in medieval history. Whilst she was no angel, the (albeit deserved) reputation for grasping doesn't tell the whole story. She certainly tried to get what she could for herself and her own, but she did provide comfort and support to an aging king who saw his hopes for the future dying as his once formidable son wasted away.

However, I don't think that this is the book to rehabilitate her tarnished reputation. `The People's Queen' seems an unlikely title: Alice was never a popular heroine, and I didn't get any real sense from the book as to why the author picked this name for her. As other reviewers have suggested, the book is at times stuck between historical novel and commentary on the period - it ends up not being entirely plausible as either. The period of history is fascinating: events then shaped the events in the kingdom for the next couple of centuries (and beyond), but the book just doesn't capture that essence of change.

Overall, it's not a bad introduction to an overlooked character, and gives some useful background to the period, but just doesn't engage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historical Fiction, 4 Aug. 2010
By 
artemisrhi "artemisrhi" (Forest of Dean) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The People's Queen (Paperback)
This book does a great job of setting out the causes of the Peasants Revolt, how life at court worked and the impacts on all levels of society in a post "Mortality" (Black Death) world. It is also interesting as it describes the beginnings of the commercial power of the City of London. It was well crafted, a rewarding read. Writer's license is used to interweave the lives of the main protagonists which whilst improbable it is done well as it allows the writer to explore the issues in ways that would have been impossible otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and well-researched, but failed to capture and grip me, 12 July 2010
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The People's Queen (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Set in the late fourteenth century, this follows the rise and fall of Alice Perrers, mistress to Edward III. As the king's decline becomes more obvious, Alice looks to exploit her position as much as she can, and set up her next patron, John of Gaunt. Clever and deeply involved in trade and finance, Alice underestimates both John and the feelings of the country, until even her friend and sometime lover, Geoffrey Chaucer, raised by her into a position of power in the city, feels she is going too far.

This is an intelligent novel which is well-researched but, somehow, the whole thing failed to capture or grip me. It's good that Bennett has written a historical novel which actually deals with trade and finance, rather than simply seeing `history' as the background to lush romance, but while I really wanted to like this book, somehow I just didn't. Alice should have been a great heroine: pragmatic, taking pleasure in her own cleverness, liking men as friends rather than being either their victim or object of desire - but somehow she fails to entice.

So while this is gritty and detailed, and gets to grips with money and trade as well as politics somehow the whole thing felt a little lacklustre. There should have been much to get one's teeth into: the rivalry between Edward III's sons which precipitated the so-called War of the Roses; the plotting of Alice herself; the lovely portrait of Chaucer which makes him as sweet and somehow humble while still intelligent as one would expect; the Peasant's Revolt; even the romance between John and Katherine Swynford (more popularly told in Katherine, and factually in Katherine Swynford: The Story of John of Gaunt and His Scandalous Duchess) - all this is here, but I was still left feeling utterly unengaged.

Perhaps it's the present tense narrative that held me at arm's length, perhaps I just don't gel with Bennett's style (I didn't like her Portrait of an Unknown Womanmuch either). Either way I would certainly say that this is an accomplished book in lots of ways - I just didn't like it, though, and it took weeks for me to slog through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story about an unusual woman ..., 19 Aug. 2010
By 
Cee-Gee (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The People's Queen (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I had never heard of Alice Perrers before reading this novel. In fact, I wondered whether Bennett had just made her up because she did not sound like the typical Medieval woman.

Alice is the King's mistress, but his health is declining and she needs to find someone new to protect her and the position that she has risen to after his death. Not only that, she is one of the richest people in the country and has her fingers in every pie. She has a lot to lose and the novel follows her as she rides Fortune's wheel. I really enjoyed her story. Sometimes it was a little predictable, but not in too bad a way - it was like knowing that something would happen, but willing Alice to change course.

Another character that features heavily in the novel is Geoffrey Chaucer, who, thanks to Alice's patronage, is given an important administrative job in the City of London. I had never really considered that Chaucer would have been anything other than a writer and so for someone to imagine his everyday work, around which he wrote his poems, was quite interesting.

My only complaint is that the novel was a tiny bit too long. It is over 500 pages long and at times it seemed like the plot was just moving a bit too slowly.

Other than that, a great historical novel that focuses on an interesting and unusual character. Well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well researched story set in unusual period, 30 Jun. 2010
This review is from: The People's Queen (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Begins during the latter part of the reign of Edward the third and continues during the reign of Richard the second. It describes the chaos of a country suffering what is called mortalities (outbreaks of plague) and the expensive wars of France, through to the peasants Revolution. In the midst of this is Alice Perrers who claws and schemes her way up from a very humble beginning to become the most powerful woman in the country and mistress of the King then loses most of it againThe book is not an easy read, it is packed with rich the rich detail of life in England, the struggles between the court factions and the complicated financial machinations of a bankrupt King who continues to wish for war. It is at times cruel, tragic and bitter at times but is also lightened by periods of dry humour. Extensive research is obvious as one reads. Fact and fiction are well merged into a very credible description of a period that I know little about. It is I think rare to find books written about the late 14th early 15th century but I will certainly investigate it more thoroughly now. I was pleased to be introduced to it and would recommend it to not only serious history readers but to anyone who enjoys historical fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars `She's never been one for yesterdays.', 12 Jan. 2013
By 
Jennifer Cameron-Smith "Expect the Unexpected" (ACT, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The People's Queen (Paperback)
Alice Perrers, the `Queen' of this title is mistress to the ageing English King Edward III. In this novel, she is portrayed as being one of the people - a peasant - who has risen to great heights and made many enemies along the way. After a prologue set during the Black Death, the novel proper opens, with Alice at the height of her powers - fully atop the Wheel of Fortune. Where to from here?

Alice is beginning to realise that she needs to secure her future: Edward III has been an indulgent protector and benefactor but he cannot live much longer. And there are signs that both Parliament and the City of London have enough power to insist on a greater role in running England in future. The war with France has been costly and increasingly more difficult to fund. The King's heir is dying, and his successor is a boy.

As Alice amasses property for her future, she keeps a keen eye on the power struggle between Edward III's sons: the dying Edward the Black Prince (his heir) and his brother John of Gaunt. She is also a patron of Geoffrey Chaucer, then Comptroller of export tax on wool, sheepskins and leather in the Port of London, and shares aspects of a past with Wat Tyler (who will later be leader of the Peasants' Revolt).

`Alice Perrers is not invited to the King's funeral.'

Without the King to protect her, Alice's life takes some interesting turns. She moves from the Court to a safe manor house, to a place of safety or so she hopes. But Fortune's wheel has not yet finished turning: Alice, her family and friends have yet to endure the Peasants' Revolt.

`The day and the night that follow are the time of the Beast.'

`The People's Queen' covers seven years of Alice's life: from 1374 to 1381 (the year of the Peasants' Revolt) and is mainly told in present tense. It took me a while to become caught up in the story, but once I was I couldn't put it down. Present tense, with dashes of authorial narration kept this story moving. I am intrigued by Alice Perrers and am in the process of reading three novels about her. Each is very different and while I'm not yet sure which Alice I prefer best, I found this depiction engrossing. I especially enjoyed the depiction of Geoffrey Chaucer.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fortune's Wheel, 15 May 2011
By 
Mrs. D. J. Smith "eowyngreenleaf" (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The People's Queen (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm assuming that The People's Queen of the title is Alice Perrers, one time mistress of Edward III and the main narrative character of the novel, but even having finished the book I can't really see how this title fits; Alice isn't a woman who goes out of her way to make friends with people, but is certainly a woman with plenty of enemies! She's thoroughly disliked by nobels and commoners alike.

Usually with a major character you expect that the author will present them in such a way that you end up with some sympathy for them or hoping things are going to go their way. I didn't really get this with the way Alice is portrayed in this book; I'm not sure if Bennett wanted us to like her or not? Yes, it was a tough time to live, particularly if you were a woman who had to look out for herself, but Alice comes across as greedy, unscrupulous and immoral. In fact the entire 'cast' of the novel are a pretty unsympathetic bunch, with the noteable exception of Geoffrey Chaucer.

Overall, while not a bad book it's not a great one either. It's over 500 pages long and really it could have been cut down a fair bit - I did some speed reading over quite a few passages where it got a little tedious. The narrative is also in the present tense which I found a little odd and I'm afraid I still remain unconvinced by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enthralling, superbly told story, 11 Aug. 2010
By 
laineyf "widnes" (warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The People's Queen (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
'The People's Queen' tells the story of Alice Perrers, who rose from humble beginnings to become the mistress of the King, Edward III. Alice was a lady who had an eye for the main chance, storing up wealth, property, and, unfortunately, enemies. In 14th Century England, life was very hard especially for the peasants, and there were many rumblings against Alice from the start, both from the nobility and the general population. Not that Alice cared. She went on her merry way, ammassing gifts from the King, beautiful and costly robes and furnishings, whilst the population of England sufferred under the weight of the Plague (the Mortality), and the taxation and tyranny of the gentry. England was at war with France, and the war had to be paid for somehow, so the general population were taxed even more, as the infamous Poll Tax was introduced. Edward III was now an old man, somewhat in his dotage, and Alice was now more of a comfort and carer to him, than the willing and available Mistress she had been in the past. His eldest son, Edward the Black Prince, adored by the people, was dying, and his younger son, John Duke of Lancaster (John of Gaunt) was detested by the populace. Alice, who could never resist intrigue, teamed up with John (or so she thought), entertaining thoughts of how, after the death of the King and the Prince, she would still have power at court through the Duke John, who would, quite obviously, take the throne from his brother's son, a mere child. John of Gaunt maintained that such a thought never crossed his mind, that he did not want to be King of England, as he had no right, and would swear fealty to the young Prince. Working in the city is a young poet, named Geoffrey Chaucer, whose path crosses with Alice's, with far-reaching results. As we continue with the story, there are so many famous names and events - The Peasants Rebellion, Wat Tyler, the Plague, Katharine Swynford to name a few - so many times when Alice could have gone to ground and altered the course of her life, and so many times when she should really have just shut up, that it's very frustrating that we can't tell her this!! It's a case of 'the higher you climb, the further you fall' in Alice's case, and it's about acceptance, and knowing when to stop pushing your luck. This book is an exceptional, highly enjoyable, very well-written and page-turning story. I would have given it 10 stars if I could, and would most whole-heartedly recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical fiction from a particular figures viewpoint. I will definitely seek out more of Vanora Bennett's work now. A triumph!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great idea but not a gripping tale!, 8 Sept. 2012
This review is from: The People's Queen (Paperback)
I love historical novels and especialy love reading Philippa Gregory as she captivates her audience.When you read her books, you can transport yourself back in time and her books are a pleasure to read. However, I thought I would give another author a chance and was greatly disappointed!The main character Alice is intriguing and an excellent choice to write a story about . Yes, I did learn about the times in which the story is set but it failed to capture my imagination or interest. In fact months after reading the book, I had already forgotten what had happened.I lent it to my mum and she was unable to finish it. It is a difficult book to get through and is almost like you are reading a documentary in an extended version. I can't imagine reading anything by this author again and will stick will talented writers such as Gregory in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The People's Queen by Vanora Bennett, 24 Aug. 2011
By 
Carroty Nell "Nell" (Alaska, USA (summer) Manchester, England (winter)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The People's Queen (Paperback)
The story is intriguing. A fascinating period of history, little explored by historical fiction writers. Bennett has wonderful flowing prose-style (although I wasn't too sure about the use of the present tense). The story of Alice Perrers, mistress of Edward III, is cleverly entwined with the lives of colourful characters of her day - John of Gaunt, Chaucer, Wat Tyler etc. Bennett never forgets she is telling a story, not a history book, and we don't feel encumbered with historical facts.

I'm afraid I never really engaged with Alice as a character however, either to like or loath her.

On the whole therefore I would say this book is worth a read but is not a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The People's Queen
The People's Queen by Vanora Bennett (Paperback - 5 Aug. 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews