Customer Reviews


185 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars!
I bought this book as soon as it came out and had been hoping for that to happen for a long time now.
Harlequin was a great book on itself, and I was hoping Vagabond would equal it. It did much better that I had expected!
It throws you into the story straight away, deep in North England where Thomas, father Hobbe and Eleanor search for a monk who might supply...
Published on 11 Nov. 2002 by kor_bosch

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great battle scenes
Picked up the first book in this series and flew through it while on holidays and decided to continue with the series on coming home. I have read a few of Cornwell's books and this does not disappoint. Great attention to historical detailing and in particular Cornwell has a great forte for describing the big set-piece battles that take hold the book together; outside of...
Published on 30 Jan. 2013 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Come on the next one., 7 Dec. 2002
By 
David D. Madden (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I finished harlequin (first in the trilogy) all I wanted was more and this is what you get. You could read this book first but a lot of the story is set up it the first book. I recommend it to anyone who wants an easy to read adventure story.
The only problem is when you finish it you want to be able to read the next one. I want the story to conclude because I want to find out what happens but I want to continue reading the stories for much longer. The trilogy does give the impression of spilling over into a series of novels covering the history of the hundred years war in its entirety but so what, it is a great story. This novel did come across as a gap filler before the grand final but it was still was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT'S ALWAYS NICE TO VAGA-BOND WITH A CORNWELL HERO!, 20 Feb. 2003
By 
Joseph F. Leoce Jr. (Staten Island, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Bernard Cornwell strikes again, and another Cornwell hero, Thomas of Hookton, strikes out again on his quest for the Holy Grail in Vagabond, the second book in this entertaining new series from the creator of Richard Sharpe.There are some who will say that Thomas of Hookton is merely another embodiment of Richard Sharpe. There are some who will say that Cornewll's books are somewhat formulaeic and predictable. But NONE will say that this book isn't entertaining. As always, Mr. Cornwell finds interesting historical battles and campaigns to weave his stories and characters through. The spiritual and mystical existence of and search for the Holy Grail provides some spice to the tale which is grounded in the world of the English Archer and his Long Bow and their place in military history. Villains and allies abound and of course, there is a woman or two in need of saving or loving or both. So dust off your chain mail, grab your bow and sword, display your badge and motto and take this journey soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thomas of Hookton - Vagabond, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vagabond (The Grail Quest, Book 2) (Paperback)
I chose this rating as "Harlequin" "Azincourt" and1356"are the best of Bernard Cornwell's War Bow novels nevertheless he has produced another thoroughly good novel. It enriched with vivid descriptive settings in such accurate historical contexts making this work of fiction a "must read" for any student of mediaeval warfare or and the Hundred Years War. Having shared a holiday home near Mael Carhaix with my late wife for over 20 years, I have a natural fondness for the Cote d'Armor region of Brittany particularly south and east of Guingamp. Descriptions are also so detailed that, as an amateur bowman, I have managed to manufacture several "period" emulated variants of arrows loosed from English war bows. However, the novel is a thundering good read and difficult to put down. .It is as good as and perhaps better than any of the Sharpe series. I would recommend it to anyone who I am sure many will become fans of the author's Grail Quest books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Sequel, 19 Aug. 2008
By 
J.Flood (Dublin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
Vagabond is the second book in the Grail Quest series, and the sequel to Harlequin. The books main protagonist, Thomas of Hookton, is still searching for clues as to the whereabouts of the Holy Grail, or if it even exists. This search leads Thomas from Durham, in Northern England, to Thomas's home town of Hookton, and from there onto Normandy.

I found this book, like its predecessor an enjoyable read. There are a number of great battle scenes, and they are described in vivid detail. You almost feel you are standing in the fields watching the events unfold, particularly, the battle at Durham. The weaponary of the day is described in great detail, also.

The cast of characters around Thomas, both friends and foes, are reasonably well developed, although, there are quite a number of them. You will be familiar with some of them from the earlier novel, Harlequin. Overall, a good sequel, and worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vagabond, 20 April 2011
This review is from: Vagabond (The Grail Quest, Book 2) (Paperback)
I sought this book after reading it's prequel Harlequin which had been left by another tourist in a beach bar in Goa!! Harlequin kept me entertained whilst spending long sunny days on the beach, and I couldn't wait to purchase Vagabond to continue with the adventures. Vagbond brings the main characters to Durham, which is close to my own home, and I have since been inspired to visit the scene of the battle of Neville's Cross which is so accurately depicted by Bernard Cornwellmin the book. As a female reader, some of the battle scenes become a little arduaous, but Cornwell's writing brings the scene to life to the extent that you can almost feel the adrenaline coursing!!. A great read and I will be waiting with baited breath for the final book in this series. A newby to the writing of Bernard Cornwell I will definately be reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Cornwell, 17 Oct. 2002
The follow-up to Harlequin has lived up to all of my expectations.Thomas Of Hookton's character is evolving and is becoming more like Sharpe (which is a good thing). The description of a brutal battle between the Scots and English just outside Durham is awe inspiring.Since reading the book I have stood on a modern footbridge over a busy road and gazed at the battle field of Neville's Cross in the October rain. The lie of the land is still as Cornwell describes it.It is easy to remove the housing, the cars and the tarmac and focus on the ridge which blocked the Scots. What I love,what I really love about Bernward Cornwell is that I know he has done exactly the same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me entralled, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Bernard Cornwell novels and this is no exception. Book 2 in the series and after book 1 I wanted more and after reading this I wanted more - and downloaded book 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another great adventure, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent follow-up to Harlequin (Book 1 of The Grail Quest), this story is full of gripping battles and detailed historical facts about the way of life in the 13th century. It moves along at a terrific pace and as usual Bernard Cornwell introduces such an array of interesting characters, each with quite amazing detail of their lives you get to know them quite intimately. Even if you have not read the 1st book in the series everything is explained so well that you are not left wondering where the characters fit in the overall plot. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The second installment in the Thomas of Hookton Saga, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bernard Cornwell is, in my opinion [for whatever that is worth] the best historical author currently working in the world of narrative fiction; based upon real-life historical events. He pulls no punches in respect to the often extremely violent reality of life during the wide ranging periods of human history he has covered. The net result is an authentic and often contemporary feel, featuring a cast of flawed characters that the modern day reader can identify with [in some cases], and entertained by until it becomes quite addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting but lacking substance, 14 Nov. 2003
Vagabond by Bernard Cornwell is the second book in the Grail Quest series. Once again Thomas of Hookton (an English Archer) is in search of the Holy Grail. Set during the hundred years war involving Britain and France, the book consists of action and adventure aplenty. The problem with this is that there is little advancement in plot, and almost character development (in fact many die) – the reader has little to take away.
Overall, it is only worth reading if you are looking for a shallow book with lots of battles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vagabond (The Grail Quest, Book 2)
Vagabond (The Grail Quest, Book 2) by Bernard Cornwell (Paperback - 25 April 2013)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews