Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solving humankinds problem - the Martian way!
Mars is now a green and fertile world thanks to the terraforming-efforts made in the previous two books of the trilogy. The conflict between the pro-terraforming "greens" and the militant "Reds", wanting to preserve Mars, first described in "Red Mars", and the struggle between the Earth-based super-corporations started in "Green Mars" is still omnipresent as the...
Published on 27 Oct. 2001 by Lasse F

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well researched, largely without direction, not much action
Writing the trilogy must have required huge amounts of research. I applaud KSR for his efforts. However, I cannot applaud him for the significant lack of plot in this book. This book spends a large part of its 700+ pages describing landscapes and the way of life of a number of individual characters.
Most of the more interesting events are related in an almost...
Published on 21 Mar. 2000 by SRW


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars The final anti climax, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only read this because there was something about reaching out to the solar system and the stars, but... [SPOILER]
that stuff was just a footnote to the main bit about forming a new govt, and the new ecology.
I stopped caring about Phyllis and her one dimensional "Mars is a national park" stick in the muddedness.
I had to skip Michael Duval's bloody sentimental holiday in his home region. It felt like a pointless dead end. I didn't see him as enough of a key character to devote so much page space to his attachment to his home town.
More long winded descriptions. These books really needed a handful of sketches in the back, maybe.
These books deserve a set of mini series though, say 10 episodes for each book.
OK, I'm going back to my short and sharp Kindle self publishing sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, 20 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
I think this is one of the most compelling books I have ever read. Mr. Robinson very skillfully captures your mind, and leads you to that beautiful planet just an astronomical doorstep away. After reading 'Red Mars', waiting for the sequel was hard and waiting for Blue Mars even harder. After finishing all three books, you almost have to slap yourself in the face, and tell yourself that it has not YET happened. Because it will happen this way, I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars start with red mars, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simply stunning trilogy... Genuinely a MUST read for sci fi aficionados. Can not recommend it more. Science, humanity, poetry... Sublime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Kim's best, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only gave this 4 stars because of the incredible 2312 by the same author. You MUST read 2312.

The future technology described here has (in some cases) been overtaken by today's technology. BUT like all good SciFi that does not diminish the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trilogy 's end, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perhaps more technical than the two previous books but nevertheless a fascinating read. Mars can never be the same
These books and this author have defined it's every aspect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great in parts, 4 July 2013
By 
N. Harpur (Maidstone, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having now read all three in the trilogy I would say that they are a worthy effort, firmly in the tradition of Azimov and Clarke (in their more epic modes) - but for me slightly let down by a lack of editing. Rather too much geology and geography, both repeated in lengthy chunks throughout the storyline. The plot and characters are excellent, truly well thought out and developed; witness the fact that I did read all three books, but I did have to skim read a bit too much for my liking. I don't mind at all to read beautiful and imaginative descriptive passages, but in all three books I really felt there was just too much of it... and it did disrupt the flow of the story in a way you would never find in the likes of classic Azimov (Foundation trilogy for example). Nevertheless, this quality of 'serious' science fiction is rare these days and this Mars trilogy still well deserving of the four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A well researched believable scenario, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
3rd Volume in the Mars trilogy. A well researched believable scenario on how to sustainably colonize Mars and make it work. A compelling future history which could be if only things could go right for once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When can I go to Mars?, 29 Nov. 2000
By 
Fantastic book if not in the action hero mold of most sci-fi. By now the colonists adventures on Mars are less exciting, the book is great because all the characters are well drawn and it really is just as it might be if we ever get to Mars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 16 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This is an excellent trilogy, the ultimate comentary on the terraforming of Mars. The characterisation is superb, and the mixture of science and socialogy surrounding the characters is also brilliantly done. A fine work of art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mars, 2 Aug. 2009
after red mars you want more , so you should go through green and finish on blue ..... nothing to add Kim Stanley Robinson you love it or hate it ;) you will definitely love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Mars
Blue Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson (Paperback - 6 Aug. 2009)
£12.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews