Customer Reviews

38
4.0 out of 5 stars
Blue Mars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£12.08+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2015
I only read this because there was something about reaching out to the solar system and the stars, but... [SPOILER]
that stuff was just a footnote to the main bit about forming a new govt, and the new ecology.
I stopped caring about Phyllis and her one dimensional "Mars is a national park" stick in the muddedness.
I had to skip Michael Duval's bloody sentimental holiday in his home region. It felt like a pointless dead end. I didn't see him as enough of a key character to devote so much page space to his attachment to his home town.
More long winded descriptions. These books really needed a handful of sketches in the back, maybe.
These books deserve a set of mini series though, say 10 episodes for each book.
OK, I'm going back to my short and sharp Kindle self publishing sets.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 20 October 1999
I think this is one of the most compelling books I have ever read. Mr. Robinson very skillfully captures your mind, and leads you to that beautiful planet just an astronomical doorstep away. After reading 'Red Mars', waiting for the sequel was hard and waiting for Blue Mars even harder. After finishing all three books, you almost have to slap yourself in the face, and tell yourself that it has not YET happened. Because it will happen this way, I'm sure.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 11 March 2014
Simply stunning trilogy... Genuinely a MUST read for sci fi aficionados. Can not recommend it more. Science, humanity, poetry... Sublime
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 11 February 2014
I only gave this 4 stars because of the incredible 2312 by the same author. You MUST read 2312.

The future technology described here has (in some cases) been overtaken by today's technology. BUT like all good SciFi that does not diminish the book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 22 August 2013
Perhaps more technical than the two previous books but nevertheless a fascinating read. Mars can never be the same
These books and this author have defined it's every aspect.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 4 July 2013
Having now read all three in the trilogy I would say that they are a worthy effort, firmly in the tradition of Azimov and Clarke (in their more epic modes) - but for me slightly let down by a lack of editing. Rather too much geology and geography, both repeated in lengthy chunks throughout the storyline. The plot and characters are excellent, truly well thought out and developed; witness the fact that I did read all three books, but I did have to skim read a bit too much for my liking. I don't mind at all to read beautiful and imaginative descriptive passages, but in all three books I really felt there was just too much of it... and it did disrupt the flow of the story in a way you would never find in the likes of classic Azimov (Foundation trilogy for example). Nevertheless, this quality of 'serious' science fiction is rare these days and this Mars trilogy still well deserving of the four stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 25 June 2013
3rd Volume in the Mars trilogy. A well researched believable scenario on how to sustainably colonize Mars and make it work. A compelling future history which could be if only things could go right for once.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 29 November 2000
Fantastic book if not in the action hero mold of most sci-fi. By now the colonists adventures on Mars are less exciting, the book is great because all the characters are well drawn and it really is just as it might be if we ever get to Mars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 3 June 2015
One of the most satisfactory endings to an ongoing saga, I have read in years. This story keeps living on in my imagination which is all down to how well it was written. Would highly recommend this tale to any one who loves science fiction.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 16 August 2000
This is an excellent trilogy, the ultimate comentary on the terraforming of Mars. The characterisation is superb, and the mixture of science and socialogy surrounding the characters is also brilliantly done. A fine work of art!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Green Mars
Green Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson (Paperback - 6 Aug. 2009)
£12.08

Red Mars
Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson (Paperback - 6 Aug. 2009)
£12.08

2312
2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson (Paperback - 25 Jun. 2013)
£6.74
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.