Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Companion volume to Bake
This is definitely a companion volume to bake. In Rachel's usual style the recipes are easy to follow and bake regardless if you are a newcomer to baking or an experienced one. As its title suggests it is jam packed with many different cakes to cover all sorts of cake baking and eating occasions.

Not every single cake is pictured but the ones that are look...
Published on 27 Aug 2012 by KM Cook Book Queen

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not enough photos!
I know everyone says there are not enough photos of her food in her books. I usually don't mind but in this case they are definitely needed especially in the children's birthday cake section. She gives detailed written explanation of technics etc. but a thumbnail picture would explain a lot better. There are no pictures for some and just a picture of the finished...
Published on 24 Oct 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friends birthday, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cake: 200 fabulous foolproof baking recipes (Hardcover)
Got this for a friends birthday and she is a keen cook. She reports that she loves it and I have tasted the spoils.... Delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where are the pictures?, 27 Oct 2012
By 
C. Bannister (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cake: 200 fabulous foolproof baking recipes (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Rachel Allen's recipe book is split into 9 chapters:

Easy
Fast
Healthy
Classic
Teatime
Dessert
Children's Decorating ideas
Celebration
Festive

along with an Introduction and some cake essentials which contains some hints and tips along with equipment advice.

The Apple Oat and Pecan bars in the fast chapter are absolutely delicious chosen as it had a picture showing the finished product. I find it offputting to attempt a recipe with no picture and there are many tasty sounding recipes in the book without them so I guess I will just have to be brave and hope I don't cook something that looks unappetising.

The healthy chapter had me slightly confused but it contains some recipes for people with food intolerences or allergies including gluten and dairy free pecan brownies.

All the recipes are well-written with clear instructions on how to get the desired results with tips included on decorating included in the cake essentials.

A good addition to my collection of recipe books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cake, 25 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book compliments the TV series. Rachel Allen recipes are all about what "normal people" do in the kitchen. Have at last been able to produce a good cake not the easiest part of cookery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Books, 24 Oct 2012
This review is from: Cake: 200 fabulous foolproof baking recipes (Hardcover)
Excellent book , great reciepies , very straight forward and easy to follow .good value for money, would make a lovely gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent recipes, but not enough illustrations, 22 Oct 2012
By 
Sue C. (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cake: 200 fabulous foolproof baking recipes (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As an avid baker, I was excited at the prospect of this book. It is divided into sections e.g. Easy, Fast, Healthy, Teatime, Dessert, Childrens, Classic, Teatime, Festive, Celebration. Each section has an excellent range of recipes, some more traditional and others are new recipes. The book has a lovely 'quality' feel with many of the recipes accompanied by fabulous photographs. However, I do feel that the use of photographs has not been thought through that well - the recipe for lemon curd is accompanied, rather unnecessarily, by a photograph of a jar of lemon curd, whereas many of the cakes (including, for example, the Snowman cake and the Teddy Bear Cake) are not supported by a photograph of the finished cakes! The recipe for Raspberry and coconut squares has two photographs - one of Rachel Allen with a mixing bowl and one of a dish of coconut, but unfortunately does not actually show the finished cake! Having said that, I do like this book and am sure I will cook many of the recipes, so have given this four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Rachel for "Cake", 17 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cake: 200 fabulous foolproof baking recipes (Hardcover)
I got this book delivered from Amazon a couple of days ago and I have no regrets whatsoever! It contains all the wonderful cake recipies by Rachel Allen and I simply can't wait to try them. There are simple cakes as well as more rich dessert and festive recipes which are not hard to do at all. You will find something for every occassion. The cocolate mousse cake looks so lovely and "do-able". Even before he books arrived I used the search inside option on amazon and made the chocolate crumble marble cake and it disppeared in no time after coming out of the oven. Thank you Rachel.

DilCake: 200 fabulous foolproof baking recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cake: 200 fabulous foolproof baking recipes (Hardcover)
Really good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cake: 200 fabulous foolproof baking recipes (Hardcover)
great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cake: 200 fabulous foolproof baking recipes (Hardcover)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cake: 200 fabulous foolproof baking recipes (Hardcover)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cake: 200 fabulous foolproof baking recipes
Cake: 200 fabulous foolproof baking recipes by Rachel Allen (Hardcover - 30 Aug 2012)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews