Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Compendium
Buyers please note, this volume brings together two previously published works under the title Monarchy. The cynic in me says this is a clever ploy as it's not overly obvious on the cover.
Starkey is very readable, perhaps surprisingly so, this isn't heavy or dry and is in fact an easy read. Perhaps too easy. At times I felt he was glossing over too much, the book...
Published on 20 Nov 2010 by Mrs. A. Johnstone

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not as good as the tv series
very dull and dry - have not been able to relate to the book as I did to the tv series
Published 13 months ago by Cleo Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Compendium, 20 Nov 2010
By 
Mrs. A. Johnstone (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Buyers please note, this volume brings together two previously published works under the title Monarchy. The cynic in me says this is a clever ploy as it's not overly obvious on the cover.
Starkey is very readable, perhaps surprisingly so, this isn't heavy or dry and is in fact an easy read. Perhaps too easy. At times I felt he was glossing over too much, the book rattles along at quite a pace without much depth or time being given to any one period. Great for schoolchildren as the previous post said, gives you all the dates and names, but for in depth detail I'm afraid this book will leave you wanting.
Again agree with previous post, there are some factual errors here, very surprising, inexcusable really and would hope they are corrected when this goes to paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great high level view of the English monarchy., 2 July 2011
By 
I have read a few books on various English kings. This book does a great role of piecing them all together without getting boggled down on a certain reign or time period.

It gives a high level overview of a monarch's reign and their high-lights and it achieves this in equilibrium across each reign. That includes no additional coverage for Agincourt or Crecy for example and i couldn't detect any favouritism.

The book read's easy and flows very well, this would appeal to the causal reader like myself, but maybe not the more learned historian who probably knows all the coverage already or the pedantic historian, who may pick up on a date or a individuals name spelt incorrectly.

Highly recommended, informative read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not as good as the tv series, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crown and Country: A History of England through the Monarchy (Paperback)
very dull and dry - have not been able to relate to the book as I did to the tv series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars starkey crowns it again, 21 Mar 2012
Superb. Easy to read and understand. Nobody does it better. Parts of history which are not easily understood become clear in Starkeys capable writing. Starkey and the Tudors are as one but to produce such an expansive volume on the English monarchy shows what a master of history he is. Reading Crown and Country is a must for those whose knowledge of history before the Tudors and after William and Mary, is woolly. As an academic subject of study history was way down the list but David Starkey has rekindled the interest. This book has broadened that study to discover more about the early kings and queens of England before the Tudors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Diagrams unreadable on Kindle- Again!, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very cross - the diagrams do not diplay on the Kindle or on my Knidle for PC. something I have noticed with great annoyance lately in other purchases- If you are going to sell books in this format it really isn't good enough if they don't work correctly and as of now each time this happens I will take the time to point it out- if I bought a new book from a shop and the opening pages were torn out I would take it back...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Schoolboy howlers, 1 Oct 2010
Well written and interesting overview of the history of England, let down by poor proof reading especially in the family trees, which have, amongst other fundamental mistakes, Charles I's reign finishing 19 years before he was beheaded and William IV and George IV sitting on the throne during the same years, namely 1820 to 1830 - must have been a tight fit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lacks Bibliography, 29 Dec 2010
In my view this is a well written and page-turning book, interesting and apparently factual. However there is a lack of any form of bibliography - one must take on trust Starkey's writings. I think this is quite poor for such a worthy subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very readable., 9 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK. there is a couple of mistakes, which I must say I don't think I would have spotted.
It is two previous books combined, but it also fills in a gap between them.
You have to balance the fact that it is perhaps not intended as a University text book and that it is very readable.
Personally I recommend it because it is so absorbing, and has given me a view of things not given by other books, which may, or not be University text books. I would even recommend that University scholars should read it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Had great potential but somewhat lacking..., 24 Jan 2012
By 
C. Ball (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crown and Country: A History of England through the Monarchy (Paperback)
I have to confess to being a little bit disappointed with this, although I suspect that probably comes from having more than the usual familiarity with the history of the British monarchy. As a primer or an introduction to the subject, I have no doubt it would be very good. But I found it a little too lacking in depth. Its scope is admirable, and I was pleased for once to find a book that traces the history of the monarchy beyond 1066 and William the Conqueror. But the flipside of tracing such a lengthy period of history is that it only really scratches the surface.

Added to that is the fact that it is essentially serving a dual purpose - a history of the monarchy as an institution and a history of the monarchs themselves. Being very familiar with the history of Britain's monarchs, I was hoping for more of an analysis of what makes Britain's monarchy unique, how it survived and evolved, where it is heading. I found this book didn't focus enough on that aspect for me. Perhaps it could almost have been separated in two volumes?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting if a little dry at times., 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit wordy at times and perhaps a little too political also, but interesting and informative none the less. I never knew how much I didn't know about the monarchy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crown and Country: A History of England through the Monarchy
Crown and Country: A History of England through the Monarchy by David Starkey (Paperback - 29 Sep 2011)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews