Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Touching comedy - a family-centred Tales of the City
I read this book recently on the strength of reading Gale's collection of short stories (a gift). The unlikely title and some of the plot-details on the cover may be off-putting to some. This would be a pity because Gale tells a story of many layers which succeeds because you actually care about nearly every character, and the intrigue of the plot as each character...
Published on 12 May 1999

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange but likeable
This is rather an odd book. It doesn't seem to know what it wants to be and the plot runs all over the place and at varying speeds. Sometimes it drags over nothing very much and then a seemingly vital episode is rushed along too quickly. The main character is Lawrence and most of the narrative is devoted to him but he's rather a closed book, difficult to understand and...
Published on 1 Dec. 2009 by Iain C. Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange but likeable, 1 Dec. 2009
By 
Iain C. Davidson "iain1825" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tree Surgery for Beginners (Paperback)
This is rather an odd book. It doesn't seem to know what it wants to be and the plot runs all over the place and at varying speeds. Sometimes it drags over nothing very much and then a seemingly vital episode is rushed along too quickly. The main character is Lawrence and most of the narrative is devoted to him but he's rather a closed book, difficult to understand and therefore to empathise with. It starts out well enough as the unfortunate man is accused of murder but then that story is rushed to a hasty conclusion in the course of an early chapter and suddenly we are off on a free Carribbean cruise (handy!) surrounded by a plethora of frankly bizarre characters none of whom are explored in any depth so we don't really care about them either. A great deal of time (too much?) is spent on the cruise to very little effect and then that storyline is rushed to a rapid end too following an unlikely run-in with a tiger!

After that we are spun off into several little threads; the murder plot makes an unexpected re-appearance, an unsuccesful attempt is made to flesh out the wife and mother characters and there are a couple of highly unlikely co-incidences that take quite a bit of swallowing. I wasn't at all surprised to read an interview where the author admits to not really following any kind of plan in this book - he just let the characters do what they wanted to do!

Despite all this, I did enjoy 'Tree Surgery'. Patrick Gale is capable of writing with a delicious wit that is sometimes not very evident in his more 'serious' works. Here, I believe his tongue is very often firmly in his cheek - at least, I hope so...surely no-one could have created a character like Lala and expect her to be taken seriously! Ultimately though, it is let down by its characters and a lack of warmth. Tragic things happen in this book and yet they pass for nothing, we don't care because everything and everyone is so thinly drawn - a pity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Suspend your disbelief!, 24 Nov. 2008
By 
Princess (York England) - See all my reviews
I have really loved some of Patrick Gale's books, particularly Rough music, A Sweet obscurity and Notes from an Exhubition but this was a sad disappointment. Sad as the plot was beyond ridiculous, disappointing because it all started out so well with some very promising characters and themes but the co-incidences in the second half of the book defy all credibility and had me laughing out loud in disbelief. However it wont stop me reading more of this very entertaining author and I would reccommend him to anyone - just not this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Touching comedy - a family-centred Tales of the City, 12 May 1999
By A Customer
I read this book recently on the strength of reading Gale's collection of short stories (a gift). The unlikely title and some of the plot-details on the cover may be off-putting to some. This would be a pity because Gale tells a story of many layers which succeeds because you actually care about nearly every character, and the intrigue of the plot as each character develops. (Yes the plot does depend on some unlikely coincidences, but by the time these are recognised, you don't really care, because of the way it works for the characters). At the end you understand the seemingly bizarre title, in fact the bittersweet conclusion left me a little moist-eyed. (Only Mark Helprin's books have done that to me before.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Patrick Gale, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of his best. I gradually understood the meaning of the title, which was cleverly worked out although the situations the characters found themselves in were quite extreme as a result. A good story with a host of well perceived characters, portrayed with clarity and humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful, comic, light hearted, life affirming novel, 15 Mar. 2009
By 
Carlton (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
A wonderful, comic, light hearted, life affirming novel. It starts in a dark place and feels as if the characters perform a dance to the author's music, to end in the warmth and light. As the novel ends "How do we manage to go so awry, break so utterly apart and still find the strength to continue?"

I would have rated this higher, but I felt that there was a forced section in the middle of the book where the author wanted to tie up loose ends, that did not have the same authorial voice, before he proceeds to his warm conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of the Unexpected ..., 5 Oct. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gale carves up the Family Tree & puts it back together in ways that surprise to the last page. Much of this is achieved by exploiting the reader's prejudice about birth order & family relationships. Like mental judo, he probes for a weakness - and will throw you before you know it.
If it seems improbable - it is!! If you're able to laugh at your own prejudice, you'll like this ... and it's great for existing fans of teasy, clever Gale.
* OnlyMe reviews books from an Only-Child perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the standard I was expecting from Patrick Gale., 24 Nov. 2013
By 
L. Barlow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tree Surgery for Beginners (Paperback)
I chose this with confidence because I love Patrick Gale's books, but I'm afraid I was disappointed in this one. It is well written, I have to say that, as all his books are but the story is just plain daft. The plot romped along from one daft coincidence to another. Lots of unbelievable deaths and unlikely characters, bringing it to a silly conclusion.

I have to say again that Patrick Gale really can write, but it was the story that lets this one down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant beginning and terribly contrived end!, 7 Jan. 2009
By 
Philip Thompson "abby1710" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I first started reading this book I found it inventive, exciting and a brilliant read, about two thirds through this book I began to think this is a bit unrealistic and did not flow with the very believable feel to the start of the book. Gales writing style is very good as per usual but the crazy amount of coincidences and totally unrealistic developements made me wonder if the same author finished this book. It turned from great literature to pure trash within a chapter. I would of given one star but the start of the book was so good that I can't believe it ended so badly. I am still waiting for the wonderful book that I believe this author can create as his books have moments of true brilliance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of the unexpected ..., 2 Oct. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gale carves up the Family Tree & puts it back together in ways that surprise to the last page. Much of this is achieved by exploiting the reader's prejudice about birth order & family relationships. Like mental judo, he probes for a weakness - and will throw you before you know it.
If it seems improbable - it is!! If you're able to laugh at your own prejudice, you'll like this ... and it's great for existing fans of teasy, clever Gale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tree Surgery for beginners, 13 Jun. 2009
By 
T. Daum (S. Yorks. , U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tree Surgery for Beginners (Paperback)
patrick Gale is a prolific writer. Have had much time to read of late due to an arm injury and have so far read 5 of his books. They are all brilliant, absorbing and thought-provoking. this book is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tree Surgery for Beginners
Tree Surgery for Beginners by Patrick Gale (Paperback - 14 May 2009)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews