Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little more than "simple"
I thoroughly enjoyed this book! I was able to do a couple each day before bed and found them (mostly) solvable and (sometimes) too hard.

It's hard to categorise because my "easy" could be your "impossible!", but if you're past the sudokus for children (fundoku?) and if you're not up to the "fiendish" category, this is the one for you!

I must admit,...
Published on 9 April 2009 by Angela

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but.....
There are at least 11 puzzles with mistakes in them, and that is up to page 182, Surely these are checked before printing and sent out to purchasers.
Published 15 days ago by CD Net


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little more than "simple", 9 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times: Difficult Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book! I was able to do a couple each day before bed and found them (mostly) solvable and (sometimes) too hard.

It's hard to categorise because my "easy" could be your "impossible!", but if you're past the sudokus for children (fundoku?) and if you're not up to the "fiendish" category, this is the one for you!

I must admit, though, Carol Voordeman's "how to" book was a great intro to this kind of puzzle.

All in all, an excellent and entertaining book. Plenty of space around the puzzles for working out and excellent quality paper. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very good but....., 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times: Difficult Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Paperback)
There are at least 11 puzzles with mistakes in them, and that is up to page 182, Surely these are checked before printing and sent out to purchasers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable challenge but not difficult, 4 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times: Difficult Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Paperback)
This book would be useful for people who want to start slightly more difficult sudoko. Useful strategies are explained in the introduction which increase one's skills. However, the puzzles are not as challenging as other books in the series. I still enjoy them. Have just bought Book 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am Su Doku fanatic, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times: Difficult Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Paperback)
I love Su Doku. I find that The Times difficult puzzles are the ones that are best suited to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost new, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times: Difficult Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Paperback)
Original owner had only done two or three puzzles already in the book making it very good value second hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Times Difficult Su Duko, 23 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times: Difficult Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Paperback)
I have bought the same volume over the years as I enjoy Su Duko at this level and I enjoy the way the puzzles are compiled and the quality of the print. However I have never come across such sloppy editing in my life. The puzzle answers are a puzzle in themselves. A great chunk of the answers to not relate to their appropriate puzzles.
I admit to requiring the answers sometimes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pity about the answers, 4 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times: Difficult Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book and found the variation in degrees of difficulty well balanced. There were some that could hardly be classed as 'difficult', especially early in the book, but the degree of difficulty gently increased to become more challenging (without ever being too far beyond my experience). An annoyance was the lack of attention to detail, which should not occur in a title sanctioned by 'The Times'. On several occasions the 'answers' (the correct puzzles at the back) were completely muddled in their numbering. This only becomes apparent when I've made a mistake and need to check which numbers are correct. To find that you first have to search for the correct puzzle is unacceptable - whatever happened to basic proof reading?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Real Disappointment, 3 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: The Times: Difficult Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Paperback)
This was a very disappointing purchase. I enjoy the challenge of difficult sudoku, but this volume is not at all challeging and the inclusion of 'difficult' in the title is a clear misnomer. These puzzles are at best of moderate difficulty, requiring little or no thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Times: Difficult Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2
The Times: Difficult Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 by The Times Mind Games (Paperback - 3 Nov 2008)
5.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews