Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiendish Su Doku 2
Another great collection. The difficulty seems similar to the first Fiendish collection and the same format of 180 Fiendish and 20 Super Fiendish. The puzzles get harder as you progress through the book. That may seem odd if you expect all Fiendish to be similar but it's true. Approaching puzzle number 150 I was thinking it had been fairly straightforward so far with no...
Published on 28 Nov 2009 by R. J. Hole

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Fiendish
I am very disappointed by this book. I've reached puzzle 150 without using any advanced solving techniques at all. If you want truly fiendish sudoku, I recommend Wayne Gould's books.
Published on 22 April 2010 by Sue Doku


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiendish Su Doku 2, 28 Nov 2009
By 
R. J. Hole (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Times: Fiendish Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Sudoku Syndication) (Paperback)
Another great collection. The difficulty seems similar to the first Fiendish collection and the same format of 180 Fiendish and 20 Super Fiendish. The puzzles get harder as you progress through the book. That may seem odd if you expect all Fiendish to be similar but it's true. Approaching puzzle number 150 I was thinking it had been fairly straightforward so far with no triples. Then on puzzle 150 I noted the first one, an open triple. I noted another triple on puzzle 153.

I have been doing the Fiendish and Super Fiendish puzzles that appear in The Times at the end of each week. The ones in the paper almost always seem a lot easier than the ones that appear later in this book.

If you are thinking "why should I buy this book if I can get my fix with the harder puzzles that appear in the paper (which I can get from the website if I don't want to buy a paper)?" then think again. If you are up for the challenge, some of the Fiendish in this book are harder than the Super Fiendish in the paper. As for the Super Fiendish, they do live up to their name!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Fiendish, 22 April 2010
This review is from: The Times: Fiendish Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Sudoku Syndication) (Paperback)
I am very disappointed by this book. I've reached puzzle 150 without using any advanced solving techniques at all. If you want truly fiendish sudoku, I recommend Wayne Gould's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Times Fiendish Su Doku Bk 2, 20 May 2009
By 
This review is from: The Times: Fiendish Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Sudoku Syndication) (Paperback)
"does what it says on the tin!" This is keeping my husband quiet for hours - great book, hope number 3 comes along soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping the grey matter from turnig black., 2 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs. Eileen Skivington (clackmannanshire,scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Times: Fiendish Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Sudoku Syndication) (Paperback)
My son bought both my husband and I a copy of The Times fiendish Sudoku as he couldn't stand us copying out the grids to try the same one on wee scrappy bits of paper with squiggly lines. That was brilliant thinking and has kept us happy through many a long wait in airport terminals.That was about a year ago and we have now sadly finished the book.(Dont do it every by the way) What joy when we discovered there were books 2 and 3! Who cares if the plane is delayed anymore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiendish but great fun Su Doku, 12 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Times: Fiendish Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Sudoku Syndication) (Paperback)
For anyone that likes Su Doku but finds the normal issue a little to easy, this is the book for you. Plenty of great puzzles (with answers at the back) and 20 really sticky ones at the end. Great value for money and a real challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practise makes perfect, 15 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times: Fiendish Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Sudoku Syndication) (Paperback)
Great Book and swift delivery.
After several yaers of practice I am up to this level now and striking over 80 percent.
I get a real workout solving these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Fiendish at all, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times: Fiendish Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Sudoku Syndication) (Paperback)
If you are an experienced Sudoku fan, then don't bother with this book. The first handful of puzzles are hard-ish, but the degree of difficulty drops off considerably after that. By number 30 they are at a standard that can only be called easy. My wife has commandeered the book and is now finishing the puzzles at a rate of about 2-3 minutes each.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fiendish Su Doku, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times: Fiendish Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Sudoku Syndication) (Paperback)
These books arrived within the stated time. which was excellent. They were packaged well, and certainly the title is a good description. They kept two men well occupied over the Christmas festivities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great workout for the brain., 21 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times: Fiendish Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Sudoku Syndication) (Paperback)
The super fiendish ones at the end are incredibly tough. Call for lateral thinking and 4D systems thinking. Some are so good that they take days to solve. Read 'em and weep in some cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So fiendish!, 4 Oct 2013
By 
S. Semple (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times: Fiendish Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Sudoku Syndication) (Paperback)
Fantastic. So may of these books are easy - not this one. Finished the first book, still struggling with this one but about to buy no. 3 so I have it on hand for when I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Times: Fiendish Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Sudoku Syndication)
The Times: Fiendish Su Doku Book 2: Bk. 2 (Sudoku Syndication) by The Times Mind Games (Paperback - 5 Feb 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews