Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars58
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 August 2000
'Duck in the Truck' is fun to read aloud and even the youngest of listeners is carried along with the rhythmn of the text.
It was the first book of any length that absorbed my one year old, while at the same time the humour appeals to my four year old.
The story is complete - it has a beginning, a middle and an end. The pictures have lots in them, both at first sight and after the endless repetition that goes with reading to very young children! And, almost best of all for the adult reader, all is not sweetness and light with the characters' behaviour. There is something to talk about with your older listeners.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2002
My 2 year old absolutely loves this book. The rhyming makes it very easy reading, the pictures are amusing and although the outcome is fairly inevitable, it is a fun book. It tells the story of a duck who's truck gets stuck in mud and the animals that come to try to rescue him.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Storyline -
This is the tale of a duck in a truck. The truck got stuck in the muck. A passing sheep in a jeep, a frog in a bush and a goat in a boat tried to help get the truck unstuck. In the end they push it out, but the sheep, frog and goat stayed stuck in the muck.

Early years teachers - This is a book which i have used on numerous occasions on teaching placements in both reception classes and in nursery. The children love it and keep asking for it again and again. I can see this will remain a firm favourite in the classroom and at home!

Themes: journeys, rhyming, transport, safety, friendships, helping each other, emotions.

Activity ideas:
- Rhyming activities, including hearing the sounds to writing the sounds.
- Children could discuss the changing emotions of the characters in the story.
- Children can be read the story a few times and then they can join in with the words that rhyme such as stuck and muck
- Children could create a map of Ducks journey and then create another route on the map on which Duck should have taken.
- Children could look at the safety element of Ducks journey - should duck have gone through so much muck? What if it was water?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2001
My two year old daughter can't get enough of this book!! She knows it word for word, but still likes to be read it two or three times a day.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2008
The drawings are superb as they are not cluttered, but yet full of interesting little details, hidden all over the illustrations. (You wil find Ducks shopping items on every page for instance, which is good fun.) Very good for training little children's observation skills. The storyline is kept very simple, focussing on just one problem: Duck's stuck in the muck. It therefore has children's attention immediately and also makes it a good tool for training 'before and after' with young children. As the other reviews already said again and again: the story is in rhyme which supports children's ability to reflect on language and grow in this area (e.g. Can they think of more words sounding like Duck, muck, stuck?). It's a story very suitable for use in nurseries and pre-schools and has a recommendation from Child Education.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2009
I bought Duck in the truck when my daughter was just one years old and she instantly fell in love with the silliness of the story and it has been great to watch her develop and enjoy different sections of this book at different age stages. Firstly the pictures are delightful and the rhyming is brilliant. When she was two she loved the idea of the "muck all yucky and brown" the she loved the sheep in the jeep shouting "get out of the way!!, with a beep. They say that rhyming stories help toddlers develop their speach and this book is testiment to that theory. My daughter puts her Fifi toy in bed and reads duck in the truck to her, and she virtually knows it word for word. Get this book you wont be disapointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2009
I love this book almost as much as my 3year old son does - having loaned a copy from the library I will definitely be buying this as found it timeless and really good fun to read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2016
I recently took my young niece to see a live theatre performance of Duck in the Truck. I hadn't heard of it before but my niece loved it so much that I later went on a hunt for the book. My niece is now the proud owner of this new book and she reads it almost every night. The illustrations are great and colourful, and the rhyming language is simple and suitable.

SPOILER ALERT
This book is good fun while also teaching morals - it's just a shame that the duck left all of his friends stuck in the muck at the end! How ungrateful!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
Although book ordered was classed as used it is in excellent condition. Delivery was prompt. Story brilliant my grandson loves duck.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
I had to buy another copy because my original one was finally too well-loved to mend. It's great fun. Some of the phrases are family jokes now - it's a classic. Mainly for 3 year olds (boys and girls) but also suitable for 2 year olds because even if they don't understand the words, the rhythms, rhymes and pictures are great. Also suitable for 4 to five year olds beginning to read because words and sounds are repeated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.