Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book's rhythmn reaches very young listeners.
'Duck in the Truck' is fun to read aloud and even the youngest of listeners is carried along with the rhythmn of the text.
It was the first book of any length that absorbed my one year old, while at the same time the humour appeals to my four year old.
The story is complete - it has a beginning, a middle and an end. The pictures have lots in them, both at...
Published on 27 Aug 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, didn't download properly
My 3 year old and I both enjoy the story. It's engaging and funny, and about mud, which is always fun for a preschooler. Unfortunately, the pictures are all messed up and we cannot see the full 2-page spreads correctly. It's a shame, really, as we do like reading it and it's a bit annoying to not be able to see the full pictures.
Published 11 months ago by amy higham


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book's rhythmn reaches very young listeners., 27 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Duck in the Truck (Paperback)
'Duck in the Truck' is fun to read aloud and even the youngest of listeners is carried along with the rhythmn of the text.
It was the first book of any length that absorbed my one year old, while at the same time the humour appeals to my four year old.
The story is complete - it has a beginning, a middle and an end. The pictures have lots in them, both at first sight and after the endless repetition that goes with reading to very young children! And, almost best of all for the adult reader, all is not sweetness and light with the characters' behaviour. There is something to talk about with your older listeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining and light-hearted rhyming story, 8 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Duck in the Truck (Paperback)
My 2 year old absolutely loves this book. The rhyming makes it very easy reading, the pictures are amusing and although the outcome is fairly inevitable, it is a fun book. It tells the story of a duck who's truck gets stuck in mud and the animals that come to try to rescue him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Story about a duck, frog, sheep, goat, and a truck, 16 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Duck in the Truck (Hardcover)
My two year old daughter can't get enough of this book!! She knows it word for word, but still likes to be read it two or three times a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and educative!, 4 Oct 2008
By 
Ruth B. (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Duck in the Truck (Paperback)
The drawings are superb as they are not cluttered, but yet full of interesting little details, hidden all over the illustrations. (You wil find Ducks shopping items on every page for instance, which is good fun.) Very good for training little children's observation skills. The storyline is kept very simple, focussing on just one problem: Duck's stuck in the muck. It therefore has children's attention immediately and also makes it a good tool for training 'before and after' with young children. As the other reviews already said again and again: the story is in rhyme which supports children's ability to reflect on language and grow in this area (e.g. Can they think of more words sounding like Duck, muck, stuck?). It's a story very suitable for use in nurseries and pre-schools and has a recommendation from Child Education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the book shelf of any Toddler, 16 Mar 2009
By 
Ms. C. M. Hough "ziggy1234" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duck in the Truck (Paperback)
I bought Duck in the truck when my daughter was just one years old and she instantly fell in love with the silliness of the story and it has been great to watch her develop and enjoy different sections of this book at different age stages. Firstly the pictures are delightful and the rhyming is brilliant. When she was two she loved the idea of the "muck all yucky and brown" the she loved the sheep in the jeep shouting "get out of the way!!, with a beep. They say that rhyming stories help toddlers develop their speach and this book is testiment to that theory. My daughter puts her Fifi toy in bed and reads duck in the truck to her, and she virtually knows it word for word. Get this book you wont be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 19 Mar 2009
This review is from: Duck in the Truck (Paperback)
I love this book almost as much as my 3year old son does - having loaned a copy from the library I will definitely be buying this as found it timeless and really good fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's great fun. Some of the phrases are family jokes ..., 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duck in the Truck (Paperback)
I had to buy another copy because my original one was finally too well-loved to mend. It's great fun. Some of the phrases are family jokes now - it's a classic. Mainly for 3 year olds (boys and girls) but also suitable for 2 year olds because even if they don't understand the words, the rhythms, rhymes and pictures are great. Also suitable for 4 to five year olds beginning to read because words and sounds are repeated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Duck, 21 Mar 2003
This review is from: Duck in the Truck (Paperback)
What a fantastic book. My 2 year old is riveted to this book and the way it rhymes. It didnt take long before she knew all the words and joined in with the book. Sorry no skipping pages in this book, they notice!. She understands the pictures and what they are saying to her. It is such a good book that we bought the whole series and she loves them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duck In The Truck, 18 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Duck in the Truck (Paperback)
This was one of my sons first books when he was 4 months old, and he still loves it now he is almost 3. He loves the rhythm and will join in with the reading. He knows every word of it just like his dad and I! A lovely, funny and bright book spurring me on to order the others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I had a load of Jez Alborough for my own children when they were small and they loved tem - still remeber them now, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duck in the Truck (Paperback)
Can't go wrong with Jez Alborough and childrens books. This was brought as apresent but read againa and again. I had a load of Jez Alborough for my own children when they were small and they loved tem - still remeber them now. I will be buying for my grandchildren as they grow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Duck in the Truck
Duck in the Truck by Jez Alborough (Paperback - 28 May 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews