Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
In this condensed version of John Grogan's best-selling MARLEY & ME, the author has written an adapted version of his life and times with his Labrador Retriever, Marley, that's perfect for younger readers.

Having read and fully enjoyed MARLEY & ME when it was first released, I was a little anxious to see how Mr. Grogan would handle a shorter, easier-to-read...
Published on 24 April 2008 by TeensReadToo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars gift for my daughter
She loves to listen to this when she goes to bed and it seems to help her sleep. So I would recommend to friends
Published 17 months ago by bugsy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 24 April 2008
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
In this condensed version of John Grogan's best-selling MARLEY & ME, the author has written an adapted version of his life and times with his Labrador Retriever, Marley, that's perfect for younger readers.

Having read and fully enjoyed MARLEY & ME when it was first released, I was a little anxious to see how Mr. Grogan would handle a shorter, easier-to-read version for the middle-grade set. Fortunately, MARLEY: A DOG LIKE NO OTHER is a fun, vibrant, and compelling read that even older elementary school students will enjoy.

When John and his wife, Jenny, first pick Marley out from a litter of pure-blood Labradors, they have no idea that their small bundle of fur with the big paws and blocky head will eventually turn into a 97-pound drool-machine full of nerves, excitement, and limitless energy. This short story (196 pages) is a testament to the trials, tribulations, and ultimate loyalty of a dog who ended up starring in a feature film.

Marley is the type of dog that you love, despite his flaws (and there are many!), and even the youngest of readers will be overjoyed to read about the trouble that he finds himself in on a daily basis. And, I admit, I shed a few tears towards the end of this book, but they were well worth it, because Marley was worth it.

One great benefit of this version of Marley's story are the numerous full-color photographs that the author has included. This addition alone makes MARLEY: A DOG LIKE NO OTHER an asset to your home library.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 9 April 2009
I bought this book for my 9y daughter. It is beautifully written and was easy enough for her to read and understand it by herself. The photographs of Marley are a added bonus, it makes you fall in love with him even more!! This book is very funny and most people will relate to having a loveable rougue. Be prepared to have a box of tissues though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 4 Nov 2007
By 
Free Spirit "shilo115" (North Wales, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
If you loved the original book then you will love this one. It is an ideal story for children with photographs of Marley himself which is nice to see. The cover is nicely decorated and I think it is a good gift for any dog loving child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marley - A dog like no other, 27 Dec 2008
A Kid's Review
This book is totally wonderful! It describes Marley in the cutest (but nautghtiest) way possible and makes you feel how Marley felt in a most amazing way. It's just the best book ever! And the good thing is that you don't have to be 9-12 years old to read it, it's suitable for anyone who likes to read about a wacky dog life book that's touching at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naughty but lovely Marley!, 13 Jan 2010
By 
E. Bastian (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My 12 year old daughter has just finished reading this book and absolutely loved it from cover to cover! We recently got our own puppy and as a result it made the book so much more enjoyable. It is true that every dog has its own character and unique personality. This book will make you laugh and cry. Very well written. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marley a dog like no other., 14 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good read for children who are fairly advanced in their reading. The age range who will most appreciate this book are from about 8 to early teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids of all ages, 31 July 2010
By 
Mr. A. Moore "The Moore Family" (Redditch UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Marley and me made me cry with laughter and sadness but had parts that I thought unsuitable for my two kids who dearly wanted to read it so this edited version was ideal as it had the unsuitable parts removed.
Its a great story (far better than the film) about the misadventures of a dog and its owners and is supposedly based on fact. A heartwarming story about life in general and a must for anyone who has ever had a dog. Take note, the end, without giving anything away will have you in tears, no matter how tough you think you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marley: A Dog Like No Other, 28 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marley: A Dog Like No Other (Paperback)
Marley: A Dog Like No Other I got this book after seeing the Film and way told the book would be nice to reed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dog is a friend for life, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book always makes me cry I have a mad loving dog who is my soul mate and I can safely say John got it spot on if you give a dog your time and love you have their heart forever.loved every chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars gift for my daughter, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
She loves to listen to this when she goes to bed and it seems to help her sleep. So I would recommend to friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marley: A Dog Like No Other
Marley: A Dog Like No Other by John Grogan (Paperback - 5 Mar 2009)
£4.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews