Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars improving handwriting.
This is a straightforward and interesting book for children to use. It is one that they will be self motivated to work in and enjoy.

It is set out in a manner that is easily accessible to all and each new join is shown clearly with space for practice before going on to simple words using the join. The initial writing practice has specially lined practice sheets...
Published on 11 Feb 2010 by N. Hopkin

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not consistent with school taught handwriting
As I said in a comment to a previous review, according to the book, nearly half the alphabet doesn't join. This goes totally against the teaching my daughter receives at school, and pretty much renders the book useless. The only use the book can serve is as a template which you then modify, if you really are going to use it to practice what is taught at school for Key...
Published on 17 Feb 2012 by Kevin


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars improving handwriting., 11 Feb 2010
By 
N. Hopkin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handwriting Practice: Age 5-7 (Collins Easy Learning Age 5-7) (Paperback)
This is a straightforward and interesting book for children to use. It is one that they will be self motivated to work in and enjoy.

It is set out in a manner that is easily accessible to all and each new join is shown clearly with space for practice before going on to simple words using the join. The initial writing practice has specially lined practice sheets which are larger than normal, graduating down smaller until the 2nd half is normal size.

This allows children to acquire joined up writing skills more easily and also encourages those children whose written work has become too small and cramped to return to a larger, more open and readable script.

Each page has enough written practice, but not too much. Thid enables and encourages the children to work through the book at their own pace, getting a sence of achievement and a new sense of enjoyment in writing. So many children dislike having to do joined up writing but this book makes it fun and easy for them, so much so that they happily want to do more pages not less.

The book progresses naturally to longer words, ultimately to sentences once enough practice warrants this. Again small ammounts graduating to larger sentences. I would recommend this book for all children and their parents. the script is in keeping with that current in schools. N. Hopkin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy to use handwriting book., 15 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handwriting Practice: Age 5-7 (Collins Easy Learning Age 5-7) (Paperback)
I liked this book, it built up the joined style of handwriting gradually. If you are looking for a handwriting book that teaches cursive handwriting this is not what you are looking for as the joins are only between some of the letters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Aug 2009
By 
M. Mcgarr (Jersey, C.I.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Handwriting Practice: Age 5-7 (Collins Easy Learning Age 5-7) (Paperback)
I purchased this for my son to practice his handwriting during the holidays. The exercises make this fun and I am pleased with his progress. Will purchase more in this series in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not consistent with school taught handwriting, 17 Feb 2012
By 
Kevin (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Handwriting Practice: Age 5-7 (Collins Easy Learning Age 5-7) (Paperback)
As I said in a comment to a previous review, according to the book, nearly half the alphabet doesn't join. This goes totally against the teaching my daughter receives at school, and pretty much renders the book useless. The only use the book can serve is as a template which you then modify, if you really are going to use it to practice what is taught at school for Key Stage 1.

The book also introduces concepts of the first join to the sixth join without any explanation of the differences, and then has worked examples where many of the letters do not join. All in all, I think this book is a poor effort and I would advise people to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok..., 24 Aug 2010
This review is from: Handwriting Practice: Age 5-7 (Collins Easy Learning Age 5-7) (Paperback)
I bought a few of these for our son, who is 5. They're OK, but a little advanced for a 5-year-old. I think the Oxford "At Home With" series is a more gradual introduction to school "work" as such. For children just moving from a foundation year, into stage 1, this might prove a little too challenging, and therefore, off-putting. I think they'll be fine, once he is more used to work, and will be good for practice at home though. The At Home With Maths book, we have, he is just flying through it and it'll give him a really good grounding for when he starts stage 1 at school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: Handwriting Practice: Age 5-7 (Collins Easy Learning Age 5-7) (Paperback)
Easy to use and well laid out. My son thoroughly enjoyed practicing his "joined Up" writing. Our only problem was the the script is slightly different to the script he uses in school, so I needed to slightly adjust the start of each letter. However he gives it 5 stars. (or 10!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what i was looking for, 21 Sep 2011
By 
Mrs. M. Taylor (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handwriting Practice: Age 5-7 (Collins Easy Learning Age 5-7) (Paperback)
I had been looking for a simple handwriting practice book for my young grandaughter. This book was great, simple to use, and made handwriting a fun thing to do instead of a chore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 12 Sep 2011
This review is from: Handwriting Practice: Age 5-7 (Collins Easy Learning Age 5-7) (Paperback)
I bought this book for my 5 year old niece, who found the first few pages quite easy but is needign a bit of practise when joining up the letters. Overall, it is very user friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great practice book, 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: Handwriting Practice: Age 5-7 (Collins Easy Learning Age 5-7) (Paperback)
I chose this for my 4 year old son and he loves handwriting and practising etters. I can leave him alone to complete one page at a time. Would definetly recommend!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars School Approved, 12 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Handwriting Practice: Age 5-7 (Collins Easy Learning Age 5-7) (Paperback)
My son needed extra handwriting practice at home. I bought this book and showed his teacher she thought it was great a lot better than others avaiable. Only down side is that it is not that long already finished it, you may wish to photocopy some of the pages for repeat handwriting practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Handwriting Practice: Age 5-7 (Collins Easy Learning Age 5-7)
Handwriting Practice: Age 5-7 (Collins Easy Learning Age 5-7) by Collins Easy Learning (Paperback - 8 Sep 2008)
3.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews