Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On my way towards a michelin star!, 31 Jan 2010
This review is from: Home Chef (Hardcover)
This book is really methodical in the way that it takes you through larder essentials, knife skills, and some techniques and basics that other books just assume that you know. The recipes are rated from one to three for difficulty, and by working through the book, i learned a lot of tips that helped me with other recipes. Now i can cook the three-star rated herb-encrusted turbot with chive veloute with my eyes shut!

The best thing about the book is the way that Neven writes the recipes. He always tells you which bits you can do the day before, or far in advance - so by organising myself as per his instructions, i found it easy to produce dishes that have a lot of separate components. I really felt like the book taught me how to break down complicated dishes - and i ended up impressing my friends! The chicken liver pate with fig jam is a must, but there are plenty of recipes in here that i now cook regularly. I'm recommending it to everyone...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cook book!, 14 Jan 2012
This review is from: Home Chef (Hardcover)
Home Chef. This is the perfect cook book to use in preparation for dinner parties, it's clear, well explained with lots of useful tips and the recipes are lovely - Watch out Delia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 13 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Chef (Hardcover)
i love this book have done a few menus with it all my freinds think the food is fab its so easy step by step instructions i would definetly reccomend to freinds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Chef (Paperback)
I find the recipes very easy to follow well explained, the ingredients are available in most of the supermarkets, most importantly if you follow the recipes it works and he is a highly rated chef
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cookery Book, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Chef (Paperback)
Bought after watching the show. a Must buy for all who like Neven. Clear and easy to follow would highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neven never fails to please, 25 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. R. Mcauley (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home Chef (Hardcover)
Neven has one of the best restaurants in the country and this book reflects a great deal on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Home Chef, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Chef (Kindle Edition)
As a keen cook with hundreds of cookery books, magazines and computer files, I found it a little difficult physically/mentally adapting to a Kindle recipe book. Especially without the benefit of being able to use page numbers!! [Learn to use Bookmark to your advantage.] I doubt if I could have chosen a better book to 'learn on'. Neven Maguire uses no histrionics, either in his TV show or in his books, and presents surprisingly varied and interesting recipes. They are also easily achievable. He sets out to educate the would-be cook about equipment, including knives, about herbs, about storecupboard items and these sections help to make this an ideal cookery book for 'beginners'. [And a refresher course for the rest of us.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home Chef
Home Chef by Neven Maguire (Hardcover - 29 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: £0.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews