Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The lost Jurassic Park
With a strapline which essentially covers the whole ethos of this book, 'A Jurassic Park for the Lost generation' you certainly know what to expect. And you get it - in hordes of man-eaters, swarms of ditto and, frankly, with more than half an eye on the blockbuster film, a gripping yet not unexpected grand finale and a meeting of minds/bodies for our two hero...
Published on 17 Jun 2009 by Michael Watson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Cause...
I'm afraid that this simply didn't hold my attention: which is a sad thing to say about an island filled with prehistoric creatures. If anything would make for a rip-roaring adventure, then this should have been it. An intriguing (if not exactly original) premise is ruined by terrible characterisations and simply stupid character-decisions. Add to that some simply awful...
Published on 25 Jun 2009 by M. S. Richards


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The lost Jurassic Park, 17 Jun 2009
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fragment (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With a strapline which essentially covers the whole ethos of this book, 'A Jurassic Park for the Lost generation' you certainly know what to expect. And you get it - in hordes of man-eaters, swarms of ditto and, frankly, with more than half an eye on the blockbuster film, a gripping yet not unexpected grand finale and a meeting of minds/bodies for our two hero characters.

It is formulaic, hence my four stars but it is very well written and the author seems to well understand how to create a scientific explanation for his creatures. Whether it works so well when villains (a villain, really) and terrorist threats loom into the picture it a moot point.

But if you like gore and action and gore and beasts and gore and...well, you catch the mood of most of the book, this one should be right up your jungle trail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fragment: A whole new world undone, 5 Jan 2012
This review is from: Fragment (Paperback)
Fragment: A whole new world

My first book in 2012, and it is going to be very hard to beat! I just could not put it down, and even if the rare fight scenes were a little bloody (but they had to be, for the point to be communicated) the story was simply breathtaking, and mind-boggling.

An intelligent and coherent narrative, with a wide cast of characters, but which never get derided and whose weaknesses are never presented gratuitously.

Some deeply researched science that was instructive, and interesting, and all relevant to the core of the plot. It is definitely not trite or superficial, but the writing tells the science in a fun and easy-to-grasp manner, all the while being very serious stuff.

Comic scenes, followed by action, and more action, and then lots of thinking about what is happening...

"Jurassic Park" was just the beginning. "Dust" was another milestone. This is another eye-opener, and it opens many cans of worms. Just don't look at them.

I don't really want to say too much about the story, as it simply needs to be read. It is proper science-fiction: not the space kind of stuff, but the real earth-grounded matter that asks the questions and proposes some frighteningly plausible answers.

The action never overflowed into Alien-monster stuff, but remained within a terrifying but coherent scientific context. The characters reacted with the whole scope of human ability, and there are no superheroes who dominate the scene or who are there as casual reminders that this is just a story. It is all perfectly credible, which makes it all the more thought-provoking.

The story is a fantastic read, and should be read by anyone with interest in the fate of humanity, the role humans play in the destiny of the world, the origins of species and the long term view of life in general.

Strongly recommended book... like I said, it is going to be hard to beat this read in 2012.

Emmanuel Power
Geneva, Switzerland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ., 12 Jan 2011
By 
Shaw (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fragment (Paperback)
Contrary to what most people here have said, I really enjoyed reading this book. It's not the best, conceptually, but it's flowingly written, there's a good mixture between serious and non-serious, the dialogue works well and the characters, though a little mundane and A-typical also worked well. It's full of great action when called upon but it doesn't overdo it. Honestly, such a fun read, I definately got into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow and double wow, 2 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Fragment (Paperback)
Picked up a copy of this book by shere chance when I had nothing else to read, couldn't put it down. I'm not going to write war and peace about this book it'll spoil the story. Do yourself a favour and get hold of a copy.
PS this would make a great film especially in the wake of Avatar, the special effects would be awesome.
PPS Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good beginning and middle, ruined by a stupid last act, 17 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. S. F. BOWLAND (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fragment (Paperback)
This story begins well. It has a solid and fascinating premise - the discovery of a lost island with an ecosystem so invasive and advanced that it threatens all life on Earth. The characters are cliched cutouts, but the island itself is the real star, as the native ecosystem exhibits its bloody savagery, and the weird animals go on a killing spree.

It even manages to play around with some of the standard modern tropes - such as by having the environmentalist be the bad guy. But while it does manage to provide some interesting ethical arguments, they are presented clumsily, with no doubt as to which side the author is on. Still, twin threats of nuclear and ecological devastation successfully maintain tension until about two thirds of the way through, and I was enjoying it.

But then it is ruined, RUINED, by an absolutely STUPID ending. It veers off into a ridiculous and completely implausible tangent, which absolutely shatters any semblance of credibility. Suspension of disbelief was snapped completely, and I ended up rolling my eyes at the ridiculous implausibility of it all. There is only so much impossibility that a reader can be expected to accept, even in trashy sci-fi, and this ending goes much too far, and ends up being just stupid.

One of the worst endings to a book I have ever read. Such a shame, such a waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fragmented, 29 Sep 2009
By 
CJ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fragment (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I hate to re-iterate comments from other reviewers, but in this case it can't be helped. Starting with the books strapline `Jurassic Part for the Lost generation'. Well, there are no dinosaurs and OK, it does take place on an island, but I'm struggling for many more Lost comparisons.

Based on the strapline, the publishers are presumably inviting comparisons with Michael Crichton. The trouble is, Crichton knew how to pace a story and lace it liberally with suspense. These are things Warren Fahy still has to work on.

The idea is that an island, completely isolated in the middle of the ocean, houses species of creature which have evolved in a very different direction to most other life on Earth. They are almost all predatory and vicious in nature. Which means early human contact with these native animals is rather messy.

It's a great idea and there are passages of the book where it works pretty well, but the pacing is all over the place. After a good start, Fahy then wanders off into a lengthy `essay' on the science of evolution and natural selection. This kills off all of the early intrigue, but the book does recover somewhat....then he does it again, on more than one other occasion! Any lengthy explanation of such things through dialogue always seems very clunky, and it's done too much in this novel.

The predators on the island are described in great detail and are uniformly fearsome creatures. For quite some time I was wondering what the eventual outcome was going to be as the island's residents clearly had the upper hand against man, until an extremely convenient event crops up and things lurch off in an admittedly unexpected direction and ended up with a sickly sweet ending. Granted, I didn't see it coming but it was quite disappointing. The dialogue over the closing pages is also very, very bad; to the point some of the character's lines are just laugh out loud funny when they shouldn't be.

So Fragment is a great idea, which occasionally works really well, but is let down by the overall story-telling. Something of a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Cause..., 25 Jun 2009
By 
M. S. Richards "twitchwilliams" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fragment (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm afraid that this simply didn't hold my attention: which is a sad thing to say about an island filled with prehistoric creatures. If anything would make for a rip-roaring adventure, then this should have been it. An intriguing (if not exactly original) premise is ruined by terrible characterisations and simply stupid character-decisions. Add to that some simply awful writing, and you've got an idea of what to expect. If you like the kind of sci-fi TV movies that Sky 3 shows in an evening, you might like this; if not, then avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How do they get away with this?, 2 Jun 2009
By 
Benjamin J. Whitehouse "Book geek" (Wrexham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fragment (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
"Jurassic Park meets Lost" shouts the cover.

Err. Well... yes in that it's a mysterious island and some creepy dinosaur like creatures.

Beyond that the comparasions with Lost end.

The writing is pretty poor in the novel. Don't buy it, get it from the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An exciting book but not great, 18 May 2009
By 
Smatch (South West) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fragment (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I started reading this one evening and didn't put it down for a few hours, at which point I realised how late it was. Very easy to get into.
It's a formulaic book with good characters about an unexplored island (a very good intro chapter with the original discoverers) where a TV reality crew land upon.
Then are immediately met with hostile creatures, some of which I think are very err stupid but still it is a fast exciting read, and with some quite unnerving parts.
The story progresses in a sort of split chapters each seperated by a different time like 6:03PM, 6:12PM for example. At times it can be very science heavy and If you can't stand reading all of these hard to pronounce words you may want to have a flick through before you buy it.

The last third of the book including the climax is not very good to be honest, it seemed like the author lost the plot in one case in particular although I won't spoil what it is.

I think this book is perfectly suited to people who enjoyed Lost World or Jurassic Park and want to read a storyline similar. Or to people who just want quite a fun same-ey sort of read. Nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A travesty, 3 May 2009
By 
Ash - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fragment (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Well the first thing I would take issue with is the tag-line "Jurassic Park meets Lost". I am a huge fan of both Lost and the Jurassic Park book and whilst I can see the slight comparison with the book I don't really get the Lost link. Yes it is on an island with weird creatures, but isn't that just Jurassic Park?

As for the comparisons to Jurassic Park, it is frankly a travesty for anyone to see this in the same class as Crichton. Yes Crichton mixes action with science and all that but there is a major difference, Crichton is actually a good writer.

This had a decent premise which in the hands of someone who could actually write would have made an awesome story able to rival the best out there, however, from the moment I started reading I was horrified at the terrible writing.

The imagery is so appalling I am amazed that the editors did not ensure sections were re-written. There were times when the imagery and comparisons made no sense and some were so random it seemed the author just guessed at what a simile was. The descriptive passages are also poor with creatures etc lacking any real detail. Whilst I realise that the whole point was to give the flora/fauna an alien appearance, you surely have to draw the line somewhere and after finishing the novel I still wasn't sure what half the animals even looked like. It was only at the end of the book that I discovered the inclusion of a couple of pictures of a couple of the animals. Unfortunately these were completely different from the images the author had managed to describe. I have read my fair share of fantasy and science fiction novels, some good, some bad, and most leave me with an understanding of what the characters, monsters etc look like but this author seems to think mundane things such as this irrelevant to his story.

As for characterisation, there simply isn't any, the main characters (and I use that phrase very loosely) were one-dimensional at best and the other "characters" were even worse. I was constantly waiting to find some sort of connection with any of the characters but even at the end I really didn't care what happened to any of them. As for the `bad-guy', it was blatantly obvious what he was going to do from the off-set which ruined any chance of building suspense and making the story even remotely interesting. Normally when I read I find some characters annoying, some funny etc but for the first time since I started reading I can honestly say that I really have no opinion about any of the characters from this novel simply because I don't even remember most of them.

The opening of the book reads like a child had written it and the ending is truly atrocious. Throughout the book you are treated to cliché after cliché almost as if the author had a "dummies guide to writing a novel" next to him and even then he appears to have skipped a few fundamental chapters. It was also lost in its own theorising for significant sections which both distracted from the main story of the novel and reduced a poor read into a boring one. I am all for scientific and philosophical inclusion in books, but it surely can't be a good sign when at the end of the book you actually end up agreeing with the "bad-guy".

From a great premise with huge potential this book lacks any depth with desperately poor description and imagery. There is little to no characterisation and I was not only left with no empathy for any of the characters but often hoping for them to befall some grizzly death just to end the book quicker. I really hope the publishers manage to get this sorted but I can honestly say that if this is the level of writing they are happy with then it is frankly a shocking indictment of their standards. I fail to understand how anyone could have actually enjoyed this and I can honestly say that if it was a choice of reading this book again or being eaten alive by Crichton's dinosaurs, the latter would definitely be my choice as it would undoubtedly be less painful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fragment
Fragment by Warren Fahy (Paperback - 29 April 2011)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews