Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Insects
As an allotment owner and a keen gardener, I inevitability come across many insects.
Having a curious mind it is satisfying, being able to identify individual species, and more important, to recognise which are the gardeners 'enemies' and which are our friends.
To this end, I have found the 'Collins Complete Guide To British Insects to be the perfect companion...
Published on 7 Sep 2009 by Mr. John L. Roberts

versus
30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good general introduction with some reservations
To cover British insects in one volume compromises have to be made. Overall this book has got it about right, in that it provides a colour photograph of the insect, a brief description and miniature distribution map. Roughly 8 insects are covered on a page. The book covers every order of insects found within the British Isles. Hence, as a book to cover all insects it does...
Published on 26 July 2011 by Harry E. Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good general introduction with some reservations, 26 July 2011
By 
Harry E. Clarke (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Insects: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
To cover British insects in one volume compromises have to be made. Overall this book has got it about right, in that it provides a colour photograph of the insect, a brief description and miniature distribution map. Roughly 8 insects are covered on a page. The book covers every order of insects found within the British Isles. Hence, as a book to cover all insects it does a reasonable job.

However, there are some disappointments. Over half of the book (158 pages) is devoted to just one order Lepidopdtera (butterflies and moths), leaving just 134 pages for all other insects. This is a great shame, as Lepidopdtera are better covered by other books, and the other orders are poorly represented in print. There are approximately 2000 Lepidopdtera in the British Isles, but there are 4000 Beetles, 5200 True Flies, 1650 True Bugs, as well as representatives in other orders of insects.

Some of the photographs are substandard, making identification difficult, such as the pictures of bumblebees.

Presentation is a bit inconsistent. For example, the entry for the "RUBY-TAILED WASP Chrysis ignita" is followed by "CHRYSIS ANGUSTULA". Each entry should be in a consistent format. It would be better to present as Latin name - English name (if there is one), rather than present one entry with the English name in upper case and bold, and the next entry as the Latin name in upper case and bold.

References and useful addresses is not as comprehensive as it could be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Insects, 7 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. John L. Roberts "Nature Lover" (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: British Insects: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
As an allotment owner and a keen gardener, I inevitability come across many insects.
Having a curious mind it is satisfying, being able to identify individual species, and more important, to recognise which are the gardeners 'enemies' and which are our friends.
To this end, I have found the 'Collins Complete Guide To British Insects to be the perfect companion. It not only identifies many, many, species, but also give one an insight into the wonderful world of nature, and the constant struggle to survive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Odd Indexing, 24 July 2013
By 
Ray Dart "Plingsby" (Bedfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Insects: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
This is a nice resource, and is fairly complete. Oddly the indexing does not often use common names, you won't find "Wood wasp" in there (although it is mentioned in the text). Likewise "Marmalade fly" and "Thicknee" are missing - there are dozens of other examples. Other than that, it's good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent intermediate identification guide for british insect, 20 April 2012
By 
Chris (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Insects: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
A good step up from Collins Complete Guide - British Wildlife: A photographic guide to every common species for those with an interest in insects. This expanded volume covers more species with excellent quality photos.

The only real criticism is that the editors interest in Lepidoptera (Butterflies and moths) is clearly evident, with a large portion of the book given over to just this order. It would have been nice to have more examples of other kinds of insects!

Overall though, it's an excellent reference book for those wanting to quickly check an idea of the more common species.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like this bug book, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Insects: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
As a child I wanted an encyclopaedia on sharks but was given one on insects. I don't have that book anymore, it was a big old hardback and the pictures were all drawn. On the butterfly pictures the wings would be drawn and coloured in one top and one underside and I thought for a while there were actually butterfly's with different coloured wings- one fancy, one dull. I bought this book to replace that one. It's not covered in male and female symbols and doesn't have extensive info on caddis fly larvae but it is full of close up pictures of mini beasts. I got given a butterflies and moths book by a friend but it was generic round the world stuff. You can't beat a book full of back garden critters, uncomplicated by their overseas relations.
In the front of the book it tells you how to narrow the creature down to a portion of the book, through its body shape and short description, but for bug identifying on the move you can just flick through and find the caterpillars page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Considering the vast subject..., 28 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Insects: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
...this book is very well-presented. Beautiful photographs, adequate information, and a good layout. It is a bit large for an in-field identification guide, but I doubt there is an easy way round that. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellant identification guide, 30 Jan 2011
This review is from: British Insects: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
I decided to purchase this book following a field experiment carried out during my PhD in entomology, where I was struggling to identify certain insects using standard keys e.t.c. On opening this book I was very pleased with the number and detail of the pictures of a wide variety of insects which many other books lack. With the good layout and structure I quickly managed to identify two of my mystery insects and I was pleased to see pictures of the smaller uninteresing insects which can often be missed out.
I think this book is a valuable resource for anybody with an interest in insects and if it does not solve your indentification problems it will certainly point you in the right direction at an excellant price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Guide, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Insects: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
I bought it as a present but thought it was a comprehensive and very full guide with wonderful pictures which really would help with identification.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collins guide, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Insects: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
A very useful guide to have avaiable either in the field or back home to check against notes made whil out and about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collins British Insects, 19 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Insects: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide) (Paperback)
Nice little book and probably one of the best without having to spend a fortune. Nice clear photos throughout, and clear information with a small pictorial of UK distribution of species. I've identified quite a few little creepy crawlies using this book and as a 'complete' guide it's handy to have on your bookshelf. With so many different species of insects it can not of course be truly 'complete', you'd need about two dozen books to be accurately called 'complete', but still a very good book covering most of the more common species you're likely to come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Insects: A photographic guide to every common species (Collins Complete Guide)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews