Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BONE,BLOOD AND STEEL
The Master returns,Robert Low brings his passion and love of the Norsemen to the page as we pick up the saga of Orm and the Oathsworn.When you have fame and are top of the pile there are always someone who wants to knock you of the top.There are old friends, but fewer now,but there are also old enemies looking for revenge and after the lost of the Fjord Elk and the...
Published on 12 Mar 2010 by James Eves

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pending reading
No comment at this stage. I have to read it first and then I will let you know. In the mean time I enjoy Eco's book.
Published 1 month ago by mark nicolau


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BONE,BLOOD AND STEEL, 12 Mar 2010
By 
James Eves "applegarth" (London,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Prow Beast (The Oathsworn Series, Book 4) (Hardcover)
The Master returns,Robert Low brings his passion and love of the Norsemen to the page as we pick up the saga of Orm and the Oathsworn.When you have fame and are top of the pile there are always someone who wants to knock you of the top.There are old friends, but fewer now,but there are also old enemies looking for revenge and after the lost of the Fjord Elk and the sacking of Hestreng, they are froced to flee into the mountings and this is only the start of the Oathsworn problems.Robert Low pulls you into the time,the place and before you know it you have your sea-chest stowed and you are sat with your oarmate waiting for Orm and Finn to show the way.
It`s been a long cold winter,but in a cosy chair,with a great book,a glass of the "water of life" and adventures with old friends what more could one need,if Finn would indulge me one more time and let me quote Red Njal old granny"you can have to much of a good thing".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal, Bloody and Brilliant, 11 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prow Beast (The Oathsworn Series, Book 4) (Hardcover)
Well as Robert Low is always keen to remind us, 'the Gods promised the Oathsworn all the riches and fame in the world, but never said they would enjoy it!'

This the fourth in the Oathsworn series finds our band of warrior brothers back at home sitting on their horde of silver and busy whelping new Viking pups. You just know there is a 'however' though, and there is, a big one!

Their blood frenzied antics come back to haunt them from their last adventure in the shape of a boat load of beserkers led by a revenge crazed jarl, into this broth stir some Norse 'king making' politics and ambition, a promised self-sacrifice to Odin, and a journey up the Oder river in full spate to retrieve a young foster son entrusted to Orm.

It's action packed, brutal, grim, tragic, funny, moving and above all else incredibly entertaining stuff.

What sets Low apart from the other great writers of historical fiction is his ability to make the charactors so individual and real rather than lumbering plot vehicles. For me only GRR Martin and Abercrombie are in the same league in this respect. That and the fact you just do not know what the heck is going to happen next. Low has no qualms about killing his characters off, so you read his books with a genuine fear, no, a knowledge, that some of the people at the start of the journey will not be there at the end, no matter how fond you are of them.

For other dedicated Oathsworn fans reading, you will be glad to hear Crowbones makes a welcome return to proceedings, and this book does not close the book on a possible 5th Oathsworn story as I feared it might, knowing the author has switched his attentions to the 'Wallace/ Robert the Bruce' story.

I also happen to know from following Low's blog that he has a completed 'Crowbones' book, good to go. So if anyone at Harper Collins is reading, as the song goes, 'why are we waiting?'

I also liked the fact that the inevitable epic journey, which in previous Othsworn stories has got a little tedious, this time was onboard ship so gave the story much more momentum and pace as well as allowing me to indulge my actual Viking fantasies.

In summary, the best Oathsworn book yet! Here's hoping for at least one more, when the two 'Roberts' have won freedom from us bloody English!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smell the Beast, 16 April 2010
By 
M. J. MCTEAGUE (Durham England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Prow Beast (The Oathsworn Series, Book 4) (Hardcover)
Having bought the 1st in the series on a whim I have been impressed by the realism and obvious historical accuracy of the era in which the Oathsworn series is set. You can almost imagine you were reading a blow-by-blow account of real people. I would imagine that translations so they can be published for the Scandanavian reader would result in enthusiastic reviews from the countries in which the Oathsworn is set.

Adventure, realism, imagination all set in a historical context and building up the readers relationship with the crew (many of whom die heroic or mundane deaths along the way)so that you come to care.

Bring on No. 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars prow beast, 13 April 2010
This review is from: The Prow Beast (The Oathsworn Series, Book 4) (Hardcover)
Having read the previous books in the series this book didn't lack in
excitement,detail a great adventure.
I am looking forward to reading more books from Robert low
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another excellent book!, 28 April 2010
By 
This review is from: The Prow Beast (The Oathsworn Series, Book 4) (Hardcover)
Prow Beast turned out to be another exciting chapter in the travels and travails of the Oathsworn. Robert Low continues to show that he can come up with original stories and character development that keeps his plots and characters from becoming cookie cutter templates for this type of literature. All in all an excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 4 April 2010
By 
Daniel Piotrowski (Lackawanna, New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Prow Beast (The Oathsworn Series, Book 4) (Hardcover)
I love how this guy writes. The books are just so hard to put down. He gives a great down-to-earth, gritty account of Viking life back then. (or at least it feels that way) Heya!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pending reading, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No comment at this stage. I have to read it first and then I will let you know. In the mean time I enjoy Eco's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE PROW BEAST, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read first two in series, and if this is like them then it will be a good read. lets hope so
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great follow on from the oathsworn triolgy. A fantastic read leaving you wanting to know more. A brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Readable, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As the headline indicates, I found this book readable, I would go so far as to say I enjoyed it but not the page turner that I would have liked it to have been. Characters are enjoyable but at times a bit predictable but I suppose that is par for the fourth book in a series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Prow Beast (The Oathsworn Series, Book 4)
The Prow Beast (The Oathsworn Series, Book 4) by Robert Low (Hardcover - 4 Mar 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews