Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collins Easy Learning Irish Dictionary
This is a very good Irish dictionary, it's one of the best I've come across. There are three great supplements included in the dictionary which are great for complete beginners: a section on improving your dictionary skills, a section called 'Irish in Action' which is attractively laid-out and includes lots of useful phrases for common everyday situations and the final...
Published on 1 Nov 2009 by Tomás O'Leery

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Learning Irish
Very disappointed that pronunciation was not given for each word, given that the written word rarely matches pronunciation..... Otherwise comprehensive.
Published 6 months ago by E.J.F.Smythe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collins Easy Learning Irish Dictionary, 1 Nov 2009
By 
Tomás O'Leery (Galway, Republic of Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Easy Learning Irish Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Irish) (Paperback)
This is a very good Irish dictionary, it's one of the best I've come across. There are three great supplements included in the dictionary which are great for complete beginners: a section on improving your dictionary skills, a section called 'Irish in Action' which is attractively laid-out and includes lots of useful phrases for common everyday situations and the final section, which I think completes the dictionary, is the Irish grammar and verb table section, which is brief, but achieves its purpose. Additionally the dictionary obviously has the Irish-English, English-Irish sections which are printed in different colours to make it less confusing. The Irish-English, English-Irish sections are also littered with helpful culture notes and notes on important grammatical points. The only thing the dictionary doesn't have is a pronunciation key, but it makes up for that with free downloadable information sheets which includes a comprehensive pronunciation guide amongst other things. Altogether a great dictionary for beginners!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a pure joy; wonderfully put together, 8 Nov 2009
By 
Crisdean "Crisdean" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Easy Learning Irish Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Irish) (Paperback)
What a joy this dictionary is. Normally we do not equate dictionaries as fun to read; normally we associate them with dry dull grammatical points, but this dictionary is wonderfully put together, engaging and clearly and colourfully laid out. I'd never thought I'd ever take a dictionary for bed time reading - but I have with this one!
Anyone wanting to learn the Irish language and not sure what dictionary to get, I can not recommend this one enough. It is totally engrossing and it has a sense of liveliness about it where the language is actually presented in a living, vibrant fashion.
I wish more writters of dictionaries for learners of a language would look towards this as an example of a very well put together dictionary.
Well done all the folk at Collins; you've done a wonderful job in creating this wonderful dictionary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars irish dictionary, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Irish Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Irish) (Paperback)
am happy with the purchase, but would have liked to have the irish pronounciation, and was disappointed that it did not have this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collins Irish Dictionary, 13 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Irish Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Irish) (Paperback)
This is good if you want to learn Irish, it has all the basic words and phrases. You can also learn verbs to help you speak whole phrases. Plus this is in full colour! A great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Learning Irish, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Irish Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Irish) (Paperback)
Very disappointed that pronunciation was not given for each word, given that the written word rarely matches pronunciation..... Otherwise comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, 23 April 2014
By 
Julie Appleton (Mona Vale, NSW, AU) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Irish Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Irish) (Paperback)
Well designed dictionary with loads of other useful information, not usually included in dictionaries, in various coloured sections. As well as Irish - English it reverses and has English to Irish alphabetically, and the middle section called Irish in Action that includes general information and even a map of Ireland. Very necessary to gain a better understanding of the Irish language. It also seems to fascinate visitors, and has become a talking point in our home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Irish (Gaelige) dictionary, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Irish Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Irish) (Paperback)
I'd say it's useful for anyone studying at school or whatever reason. With this book you can learn to say the time, the months, seasons and many useful sentences and grammar. If ya need an irish dictionary i would recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 9 Mar 2014
By 
Beal Feirste (Beal Feirste, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Irish Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Irish) (Paperback)
Very useful book to have when reading or learning Irish. The layout is quite good and easy to read, well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full marks!, 12 Feb 2014
By 
H. McEntee "Amazon fan" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Irish Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Irish) (Paperback)
My son finds this alot better than the dictionary I had to buy on the school book list, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Learning Irish Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Irish) (Paperback)
I bought this for my sister as her kids are going to a Irish school, we both needed a refresher course, would reccommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easy Learning Irish Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Irish)
Easy Learning Irish Dictionary (Collins Easy Learning Irish) by Collins Dictionaries (Paperback - 2 April 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews