Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading
The last decade has seen a frightening erosion of personal liberties and the democratic principle in Britain. CCTV everywhere, crooked MPs that can't be fired, keeping innocent DNA, EU treaties seizing chunks of British soveriegnty, councils snooping, ID cards, detention without trial, databases logging our every email/call, the right to a jury, habeas corpus etc etc etc...
Published on 18 Nov 2009 by butwhatdoiknow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Yawn
Found this a bit boring if I'm honest. I think Dominc Raab used to be a lawyer - you'd never guess with the long rambling paragraphs and repetition. I brought The Silent State by Heather Brooke at the same time and found it a much better read.
Published 7 months ago by A. Stanhope


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading, 18 Nov 2009
By 
butwhatdoiknow - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Assault on Liberty: What Went Wrong with Rights (Paperback)
The last decade has seen a frightening erosion of personal liberties and the democratic principle in Britain. CCTV everywhere, crooked MPs that can't be fired, keeping innocent DNA, EU treaties seizing chunks of British soveriegnty, councils snooping, ID cards, detention without trial, databases logging our every email/call, the right to a jury, habeas corpus etc etc etc. In a clear, concise and conspiracy-nut-free critique, Dominic Raab seeks to dissect and better understand how and why this has happened. A common argument trotted out is 'If I've got nothing to hide, why should I worry?' The answer is, generally, at the moment in our (relatively) benign (relative) democracy you needn't. BUT remember. Things can change, and as the world becomes a more difficult place in the decades ahead (global warming, end of oil etc) governments will be delighted to assert ever greater control over their populations. They will make some dumb decisions along the way, and unless we're careful, we shall have little way of stopping that in the future. Without a written constitution, we in the UK are wholly reliant on the law to protect us. The Labour government has been chipping away at the law ever since they came to power and since Lisbon, whatever the Tories may promise, many changes are effectively there to stay. Read this book, use your vote very wisely, don't say you have not been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone who considers themselves "free" should read this, 6 Mar 2009
By 
P. Bayley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Assault on Liberty: What Went Wrong with Rights (Paperback)
Taking historical, political, humanitarian and practical viewpoints, Dominic Raab lays out clearly what it means to be a citizen, not a suspect, in the UK.
If you need a clarifying view of the corrosive effects of the overt and stealth legislation that is gradually stripping every Briton of their hard-won liberty and historic freedoms, this is your reference work.
Raab's political bias is clearly stated, but his arguments are balanced, precise and convincing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 14 May 2009
This review is from: The Assault on Liberty: What Went Wrong with Rights (Paperback)
I found this book particularly refreshing as it lays out the cold hard facts and exposes the truth about how our liberty has been assaulted on an unprecedented scale. Raab also talks about the implications of the nefarious 'Regulation and Investigatory Powers Act', 'the Anti-Terrorism Act' and the spurious E.U. 'human rights' and how rather than benefiting and protecting society, these new statutes and leglislations turn the very concepts of 'innocent before proven guilty', 'criminal justice', 'liberty', on its head. He shows how these acts have created a culture of criminalising the public for the most petty of misdemeaners meanwhile dangerous criminals continue to be treated with a 'softly softly' approach from the legal system, ultimately escaping any real justice. Raab exposes the shocking fact that Tony Blair effectively introduced a new 'law/statute/leglislation' for every single day he was im power for the entire duration of his being in office. Because all these draconian and oppressive new laws have been introduced drip by drip, the public failed to notice the implications. It is only now the reality of living in a totalitarian police state is dawning and that we need to act, fast - before our last remnants of liberty are snatched away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye-opener, 4 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Assault on Liberty: What Went Wrong with Rights (Paperback)
A fair and reasoned assessment of the salami-slicing of the freedoms we have long accepted as being part of being British. Although the author points out that The Labour Party is not totally to blame for all this, equally it is the reason for much of it. A vitriolic lambasting of Jaqui Smith, Jack Straw, Gordon Brown, Tony Blair and so on it is not; however the kid gloves remain off... A very interesting and thought-provoking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Assault on Liberty: What Went Wrong with Rights (Paperback)
This is a well written, articulate review of the insidious diminution of long cherished rights over the past 15 years or so. It is written with a sharp eye for detail and provides a convincing argument to those who may doubt that things have really changed that much. My only criticism would be that Mr Raab's party political views sometimes intrude unnecessarily but given it was written in the run-up to the 2010 election (where Mr Raab was a successful Conservative candidate)this is perhaps understandable. It remains to be seen what influence Dominic Raab MP has on government policy now he is closer to the centre of power This book provides a good grounding for those concerned about the erosion of liberty in the UK in recent times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An assault on Liberty, 23 May 2010
By 
Dr. P. Jepson "Dr Peter Jepson" (Strode's College, Egham, Surrey.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Assault on Liberty: What Went Wrong with Rights (Paperback)
This is an excellent publication by Dominic Raab. The book challenges your thoughts and understanding, though in a few areas I wish it could take on a few extra issues. For example, it signifies, at page 222, which of the ECHR areas he considers are 'core' rights. However, he does not fully explore those rights that he thinks are not 'core' and why they are not. He could also do more to explore the way that our domestic judges should be considering the decisions of the ECtHR as being simply persuasive precedent and not, as he almost infers, decisions that our domestic courts routinely follow.

It is my view that this book provides an excellent analysis of an area that is going to be increasingly important over the next few years. Indeed, the Coalition Governments proposals to set up an inquiry into replacing the ECHR with a UK Bill of Rights will make this publication a must read for many legal and political students and commentators. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive Reading, 3 Mar 2009
By 
A. Irvine "Teuchtar95" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Assault on Liberty: What Went Wrong with Rights (Paperback)
This should be compulsory reading for every school child and local politician. Every person who is interested or involved in our legal system MUST read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 6 Oct 2011
By 
A. devlin "goodmusic" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A well written book and one that makes you really think about getting what you wish for. This book will always be contemporary, no more so than now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Yawn, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Assault on Liberty: What Went Wrong with Rights (Paperback)
Found this a bit boring if I'm honest. I think Dominc Raab used to be a lawyer - you'd never guess with the long rambling paragraphs and repetition. I brought The Silent State by Heather Brooke at the same time and found it a much better read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Assault on Liberty: What Went Wrong with Rights
The Assault on Liberty: What Went Wrong with Rights by Dominic Raab (Paperback - 19 Jan 2009)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews