Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and often infuriating mind and personality
Having read the Kenneth Williams diaries some time in the late 1990s I was very interested to finally read his letters. I agree with reviewers who say that they are a necessary corrective to the diaries, which tended to express all of Williams' bile and unhappiness with himself and those around him and none of his abundant humour and charm. That said, there is an obvious...
Published on 11 May 2011 by DOD

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining in places
A selection from a lifetime of letters, some of which are entertaining and enlightening, others deal with day to day stuff.

A good book for flipping open at a random place to start reading.
Published 22 months ago by Angus P. Walker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and often infuriating mind and personality, 11 May 2011
This review is from: The Kenneth Williams Letters (Paperback)
Having read the Kenneth Williams diaries some time in the late 1990s I was very interested to finally read his letters. I agree with reviewers who say that they are a necessary corrective to the diaries, which tended to express all of Williams' bile and unhappiness with himself and those around him and none of his abundant humour and charm. That said, there is an obvious continuity between the diaries and the letters - I heartily commiserate with those friends of Williams' who were long-suffering and who he more often than not eventually cut out of his life for no apparent reason. But one can also see why they persisted - as he could be hilariously funny, generous, wise, caring, when he was in the right humour. He was a self-loathing gay man who could not come to terms with his natural physical urges and this seems to be at the heart of his deepest troubles. But he was also a gifted actor and racconteur and I clearly remember the first time I saw him in 'Carry On Cleo' being absolutely delighted by his outrageous voice and personality. He is the person I remember best from those films. I would highly recommend these letters as a unique insight into a brilliant and troubled mind. But be sure to read the recently published biography of Williams as well, which manages to explain his contradictory life and personality and a talent that achieved so much but left so much unfulfilled potential at his death in 1988.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent insight into a 20th century legend, 12 Nov 2002
By 
Mr. Steven Bootes "sbootes" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Kenneth was a prolific letter writer, and a great one too. He could talk about endless subjects (religion, homosexuality, acting etc) and make them all sound interesting. Some of the people he communicated with were famous (such as Richard Burton and Stanley Baxter), others were just 'ordinary' people from all around the world.
As you can probably gather from the text above, The Kenneth Williams Letters book is a very varied but interesting read. It's a shame that Kenneth never saw the effect his letters and diary books have had on the public since his tragic death in 1988. He would have been justifiably proud of their success and influence on people in the 21st century, such as me!!
Kenneth took a great deal of care and consideration into these letters, so I hope you will firstly buy this book (and his diaries too) and secondly take in everything he says. Well, almost everything!
Russell Davies edited both the diary and letters books, and he has done a great job on both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grreat follow up to the Diaries, 4 Oct 2010
By 
A. Crowley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kenneth Williams Letters (Paperback)
This is a great follow-up to the Diaries but I recommend that you read the Diaries before reading the Letters if you want to know the background to events.

Very good all the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kenneth Williams Letters (Paperback)
This book arrived in excellent condition and nicely compliments others I have on Williams such as The Diaries and Born Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining in places, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A selection from a lifetime of letters, some of which are entertaining and enlightening, others deal with day to day stuff.

A good book for flipping open at a random place to start reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 8 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Kenneth Williams Letters (Paperback)
Didn't care for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kenneth Williams Letters
The Kenneth Williams Letters by Russell Davies (Paperback - 1 July 2008)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews