Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like this book
Being a dedicated foodie with a bookcase already full of food and cookery books, enjoying cooking, but not liking Gordon's TV Language, I would not normally have bothered to buy this book. I was staying with friends and they had been given a copy. I browsed through it and was hooked. The presentation and photographs are excellent and make you want to cook and eat the...
Published on 4 Aug. 2009 by Brian Shadbolt

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good recipes but lacking in pics
the book was good as you would expect fom ramsay the recipes were fantastic and the addition of some forgotten classics was a nice suprise BUT it lacked in pictures it would be better if you could actually see the finished article especially with desserts and starters to ensure consistency etc are correct
Published on 2 April 2009 by Mr. A. S. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like this book, 4 Aug. 2009
By 
Brian Shadbolt (Vale of Evesham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a dedicated foodie with a bookcase already full of food and cookery books, enjoying cooking, but not liking Gordon's TV Language, I would not normally have bothered to buy this book. I was staying with friends and they had been given a copy. I browsed through it and was hooked. The presentation and photographs are excellent and make you want to cook and eat the dishes. The recipes are for mainly classic British food, good stuff that we remember. If this is Gordon's experience of pub food, I want to go to that pub to eat. Many of the recipes are difficult to find in most modern cookery books. In this book they are well laid out, easy to follow and best of all they work. Very glad I bought my own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book of traditional British Pub Food, 9 July 2009
By 
Simon Beer (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have really enjoyed reading through this and trying some of the excellent recipes. The book covers a large number of dishes most cooks will already make my their version off, but don't take that as a bad thing. Instead I think of it a bit like the Cook Off's on the F-Word where Gordon shows the celebs his take on their signature dish, mainly resulting in a really good alternative.

I have tried the bangers and mash and the chicken and bacon pie to great success. I am sure the others will be just as easy. Compared to Jamie Oliver's random mutterings on a page that sometimes leave vital decisions to the imagination, Gordon's recipes are easy top read and follow. For a nice change these ones are very realistic midweek home fayre too. You don't have to throw a dinner party, scour oriental supermarkets or any of the other nonsense many cookbooks result in. Instead the vast majority of recipes are best serviced by a herb garden, a trip to the butcher, the greengrocers and some store cupboard essentials, my kind of cooking.

My only wish with this book is that some of the bloomin awful pubs around my house go buy this and take on some of the recipes. It is near impossible to name one that provides what I class as good pub food, instead it is either carveries or menus so big there isn't a cat in hells chance of anything being fresh. A simple mixture of some nice grill basics and 4-6 specials for the week should be enough for any of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this F***ing book big boy!, 7 Mar. 2009
By 
A. Jackson "Andy" (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a fantastic book of British favourites with the Ramsay touch. It has easy to follow recipes for everything from crisps & pork scratchings (Michelin starred pork scratchings???)to roasts, with tradional comfort food like hotpot etc, steak in ale pie, pates etc. I've only had the chance to try one recipe so far in my first 24 hours but it has turned out wonderfully.

I have quite a few Ramsay cookbooks and would reccomend this one to anyone. Whereas some (like 3 * chef) are almost "food porn" - looks great but little chance of doing it at home, this is easy to follow with everyday ingredients, no special equipment but great wholesome food.

The print is clear, some great photos of the food and of Ramsay & Sarge, a nice retro feel to some of them too.

I don't have a Ramsay pub within about 100 miles so this is the next best thing. Buy it, read it, use it to make something to impress your family and friends, you and they will be glad you did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GR returns, 26 Nov. 2009
...with another book...and between the covers this time, we find old favourites such as:

♦ Gammon Steak with Pineapple and Fried Egg
♦ Toad-in-the-Hole
♦ Hake in Beer Batter with Mushy Peas

nestling alongside, the lesser well-known (perhaps), such as:

♦ Pork Cheeks in Spices with Bashed Neeps
♦ Rabbit Hotpot with Perry

and the rather intriguing:

♦ London Particular

Initial impressions and a quick flick through this publication - 'a tribute to British pub food' - one could be forgiven for getting a slightly confused impression of what this book is aiming at.
A lot of the recipe titles certainly have that 'chef spin' on them which suggests something more 'up-market' for want of a better way to put it - i.e. the more 'posh restaurant-side' rather than the 'bar-side' of what I know as the 'traditional pub', perhaps, which could limit appeal.
Having said that, all is revealed with a quick read of the dust-jacket flap:

'...I believe that simple, delicious British food should be found in that great British institution - the pub. However, all too often pub owners think they can get away with serving tasteless, defrosted meals. The gastropubs aren't much better - to my mind many gastropubs sell mediocre food at restaurant prices.
When my friend, Mark Sargeant and I set up the Gordon Ramsay pubs in London, we wanted to produce the sort of simple but delicious British classics that warm the cockles of your heart and to serve them at affordable pub prices.
Dishes like rich, hearty 'Chicken and Smoked Bacon Pie', mouth-watering 'Sausages with Mustard Mash', 'Sweet and Sour Peppers' and indulgent 'Treacle Tart' - classics which have stood the test of time.
That's why I have collected my favourite British recipes into one collection so you can invite your friends round, serve some good, English ale and cook the best in traditional pub food classics in your own home...'

A touch of gold colouring outlines the raised lettering of the title as GR peeks over a dish, on the dust-jacket, although, both disappear off the durable hardboard cover which opens to 256 thick matt pages, split over main chapters:

(1) Bar Food
(2) Savouries with Toast
(3) Soups and Broths
(4) Starters
(5) Catch of the Day
(6) Pies and Savoury Tarts
(7) Comfort Food
(8) Grills and Sautés
(9) Weekend Roasts
(10) Puddings
(11) Basics

sandwiched between an introduction and an index.

Each chapter opens with a double title page showing the list of recipes which follow, on a traditional pub blackboard type layout.

Each recipe is clearly laid out with the title, an opening note, the number of servings, the list of ingredients along with suggested accompaniments and the method, presented in the usual GR style.

A small taste of the other recipes contained within:

♦ Scotch Eggs
♦ Prawn Cocktail
♦ Homemade Pork Scratchings
♦ Scotch Woodcock
♦ Cock-a-leekie Soup
♦ Grilled Kippers
♦ Somerset Fish Casserole
♦ Roasted Bone Marrow with Caper and Herb Dressing
♦ Cornish Pasties
♦ Steak and Kidney Pie
♦ Black Country Beef Stew
♦ Lancashire Hotpot
♦ Rib-Eye Steak with Chips and Sauce Choron
♦ Pork Chop with Champ
♦ Roast Chicken with Gravy and Bread Sauce
♦ Christmas Roast Turkey infused with Truffles
♦ Roast Beef with Red Wine Gravy
♦ Summer Pudding
♦ Jam Roly-Poly
♦ Queen of Puddings
♦ Stocks
♦ Roast Potatoes
♦ Custard
♦ Pastry

This book is interspersed with a fair number of illustrations for a book this size - including some of GR and 'on-location', as usual, but the number of the finished dishes is still on the light side, in my opinion, which may prove negative to those of us who like to see what we are aiming for on the plate, e.g. 'Potted Hough' ('Hough' is Scottish 'shin' (of beef on the bone), incidentally)).

From the introduction:

'...This book brings to you dishes that have become pub classics.
It offers simple, reasonably priced recipes that you can cook at home without fuss or complication. This is the food that has brought the British pub on to the culinary map.'

Although I am a fan of Mr Ramsay, I do question whether this publication will appeal to the market the title initially suggests it is aimed at, and that is part of the reason why it has taken me a good few months to try, taste and...ponder.
Without doubt, there are some great recipes and my overall favourite is:

♦ Honeyed Pork Stew, from (pages 164/165),which panders to my 'one-pot' preference when nobody knows what time they are getting back for dinner. The opening note of this tasty recipe hints that it is the 'perfect winter warmer' and, at this time of the year (at the time of writing), I can certainly endorse that! The recipe makes great use of a relatively inexpensive piece of boneless pork belly with a load of vegetables, all slowly simmering away on a low heat in my favourite Le Creuset pot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good recipes but lacking in pics, 2 April 2009
By 
Mr. A. S. Brown (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
the book was good as you would expect fom ramsay the recipes were fantastic and the addition of some forgotten classics was a nice suprise BUT it lacked in pictures it would be better if you could actually see the finished article especially with desserts and starters to ensure consistency etc are correct
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can pull me a pint anytime, Gordon, 13 Mar. 2009
By 
Scottish Footie - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Love Gordon and love this new book. There are some real classics here which I'd sort of forgotten about but never should have. It's a real celebration of good, honest, simple food which is what any good pub should focus on. Good bangers and mash will beat hand-massaged Iranian goose burgers with a side of organic kale roasted by monks any day of the week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not disappointed!!, 9 April 2009
By 
Mrs. N. Sutcliffe "sooty2" (W. Yks UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having already bought several Gordon Ramsey books, I did wonder if this one would really provide anything new but I'm not disappointed! The recipes are a real mix of traditional and original with some really quick and tasty ideas. Can really recommend the London Particular soup - intrigued by the name, we gave it a try and were rewarded with a cheap, easy-to-make and hearty soup that I'l definitely be making again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School Pub Grub, 5 Jan. 2011
By 
A. Young (North Vancouver, BC, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just got the book yesterday and I can't wait to started! The recipes are using traditonal the "cheap meats" of England as they would have been hunted/caught. Unfortunately, now a days Grouse, Pidgeon, pheasent are farmed and are considered an exotic delicacy. But I'm sure substituting with Free Range Chicken/ Turkey/ Cornish Game Hens will be equally delectable.

The recipes themselves are straightforward and look mouth watering. Gordon has also included a lot basic accompanying recipes such as Tartare Sauce, Red Onion Marmalade & Yorkshire Puddings. Essentially, recipes you SHOULD know but have yet to find a reliable recipe.

The part about book that has really surprsied me is the number of desserts! - Never seen that on a pub menu! But, OMG I can't wait to try making them. One recipe, in particular, is the Pimm's Pudding! Always been a fan of Pimm's and the idea of making the pudding right after picking the fresh strawberries myself will be justice served!

If you're always on the look out for new ways of roasting meats or making savoury pies this book is worth picking up. As all the recipes reflect Gordon's respect & passion for food. Best part is the book does NOT contain (many if any) repeats from his earlier books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent & Easy, 24 Jan. 2014
By 
Chris Mottola "Old Swiss" (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great cookbook with easy to do recipes and easy to find ingredients.

I made the roast with red wine gravy for Boxing Day and it was a huge hit. The app section is perhaps my favorite. Lots of easy savories and fun snax like roasted nuts.

All the classics are here. Toad in the Hole. Cottage Pie. Pasties. Grilled kippers. And the best Mulligatawny soup I've made.

Comfort food at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and easy, 25 Mar. 2009
Great book of simple recipes. Some of his previous books have been complex and for the more ambitious home cook, but this is great traditional stuff, much more akin to the accessible Jamie Oliver style. Nice to see him celebrating British recipes too, given his classical French training, though of course the depth of his skill informs everything he does. I've bought a shoulder of lamb for the weekend...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gordon Ramsay's Great British Pub Food
Gordon Ramsay's Great British Pub Food by Mark Sargeant (Paperback - 25 April 2013)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews