Customer Reviews


439 Reviews
5 star:
 (345)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not like anything I've read before
I am eight years old and I really liked this book because it is funny and not like anything I have ever read before. The characters are brilliant. I like Lisa, Darvesh's mum and best of all, Dennis. I think that a boy dressing up as a french girl is a very funny idea. I would like to buy this book for all my friends at Christmas, boys and girls.

by Ottilie...
Published on 12 Oct 2008

versus
145 of 163 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprised no-one has commented on..
the porn mag content. My 8 yr old daughter loved the first Walliams book she read, so we got her this one. I was disappointed to find myself having to explain what a porn magazine is. It goes on to say the father hides his, and the older brother takes them. If she had spotted one in a shop and asked, then fair enough, but to find it in a children's' book was not...
Published on 30 April 2012 by Cook Booker


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not like anything I've read before, 12 Oct 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Boy in the Dress (Hardcover)
I am eight years old and I really liked this book because it is funny and not like anything I have ever read before. The characters are brilliant. I like Lisa, Darvesh's mum and best of all, Dennis. I think that a boy dressing up as a french girl is a very funny idea. I would like to buy this book for all my friends at Christmas, boys and girls.

by Ottilie Blackhall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a MUST READ book!, 25 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Boy in the Dress (Paperback)
I am 10years old and this was a fab book to read. Once again, David Walliams has written a charming, hillarious, meaningful book.
Raj,the famous shopkeeper, has appeared again this time however with more ridiculous offers. David Walliams writes inspiring books appropriate for ages of 7-12 as some parts are rather rude.
He writes about his experiences and puts them through a character in the book.
Truly an eye-opening, glamorous, sophisticated book!
I read this bok within 2 days because I was so intigued and that's the same with his other classics: Mr Stink (a tramp who makes a friend), Billionaire Boy (a superior rich kid who tries to make a REAL friend) and Gangsta Granny(an ederly crown-jewel stealer.)

YOU MUST READ IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grannys gift, 9 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy in the Dress (Paperback)
I have never given a thought to David Walliams as a childrens writer, he certainly has the gift of being able to make children laugh out loud. My grandchildren were delighted and we will certainly be looking out for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boy in the dress - excellent, 2 Jan 2011
By 
Mrs. Ep Jones (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy in the Dress (Paperback)
So funny I found myself laughing out loud when I read it. Kept sniggering for days after. Bought for my grandson but I enjoyed it as much as him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


145 of 163 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprised no-one has commented on.., 30 April 2012
This review is from: The Boy in the Dress (Paperback)
the porn mag content. My 8 yr old daughter loved the first Walliams book she read, so we got her this one. I was disappointed to find myself having to explain what a porn magazine is. It goes on to say the father hides his, and the older brother takes them. If she had spotted one in a shop and asked, then fair enough, but to find it in a children's' book was not appropriate. I've given this three stars for this reason. Apart from that it's a great book, well-written, funny and greatly enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the boy in the dress, 5 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Boy in the Dress (Paperback)
i bought this book for my grandson and he is so pleased with it. i can't wait to read this book myself. i'm waiting in line for my turn tho i'm afraid as my other grandchildren want to read it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something a little different, 7 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: The Boy in the Dress (Hardcover)
I have to say that I throughly enjoyed this book. Walliams has come up with something different and challenging for young readers and i think it is very important to applaud this. It is not often that you come across a big name children's book that deals with issues outside of normative girl/ boy roles. I found myself involved in and moved by this book and my cousin (who I read the book with) certainly agrees with me! If you're looking for the kind of book that sends out positive messages about diversity and acceptance without it coming off as a lesson or a lecture, then this really is a kids book worth taking a look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 4 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy in the Dress (Paperback)
David Walliams is fantastic. My daughter has always enjoyed reading, but she now has Mr Stink, The Billionaire boy and The boy in the dress. She now cant wait to get her hands on the next book. David Walliams captures the excitement in these books and gets children's minds thinking and imagining. By far the best author that has been around for some time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 15 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Boy in the Dress (Paperback)
Wow! I have just read this book to/with my 10 year old son. Despite being one of the earliest David Walliams books we bought it last, and this, I'm ashamed to say, is because I thought the title would put my son off. However, I couldn't have been more wrong! It was FANTASTIC - one of those books that you just don't want to put down. My son loved the humour, and I loved the pathos and sense of hope at the end. It is so moving that at one point a silent tear rolled down my cheek. It is a fabulous book, beautifully written and I would highly recommend it to anyone of any age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 12 Mar 2011
By 
E. Braben - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boy in the Dress (Paperback)
I read this book before I gave it to my grandchildren aged 8 and 10 years. I enjoyed David Walliam's writting style very much. I was impressed with his ability to cover the issue of 'difference' in such a funny and entertaining way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Boy in the Dress
The Boy in the Dress by David Walliams (Audio CD - 1 Nov 2008)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews