Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPER SUPERNATURAL STORY
I have enjoyed every book that Barbara Erskine has written and Hiding from the Light is in my opinion another winner!
I could not put it down for long,.
It is an 'on the edge of your seat' story about Emma who feels
compelled to buy an old cottage in the village that she remembers from her childhood days. As she settles in there, Emma begins to hear voices...
Published on 28 May 2003 by Jackie.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but that's all
This book was not a patch as many of the author's other books. I quite liked the characters but felt that there was no development of them at all during the story. Obviously you have to suspend disbelief with her books, but this was ridiculous. The whole thing was over the top and overwrought. It was also too long. As there was no character development the book could have...
Published on 10 May 2012 by Mrs. S. Partridge


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPER SUPERNATURAL STORY, 28 May 2003
By 
Jackie. (Yorkshire. England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hiding From the Light (Paperback)
I have enjoyed every book that Barbara Erskine has written and Hiding from the Light is in my opinion another winner!
I could not put it down for long,.
It is an 'on the edge of your seat' story about Emma who feels
compelled to buy an old cottage in the village that she remembers from her childhood days. As she settles in there, Emma begins to hear voices in her head and share someone else's memories. That 'someone else' being a witch from the 1600's. The story progresses into supernatural happenings which have you biting your nails and the past and present collide, with dramatic results. My only negative thought on the whole book is that it did seem to end too simply. But,it was brilliant. I loved it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hiding under the duvet more like!, 25 May 2003
By 
E. Morris "mogsey75" (Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hiding From the Light (Paperback)
wow this book is addictive! i have read quite a few barbara erskine books with this one being the latest and managed to read it within a week. I just couldn't put it down and oh it can scare you! just like midnight is a lonely place this book is about ghosties and things that go bump in the night in the deep essex countryside. I wont go into too much detail just to say that it is halloween in the book, there are witches and a witchfinder general all back for revenge! enter a good looking vicar ,an independent ex-london girl and a local modern day witch -this book keeps you gripped right up till the last page! if you like ghost stories, romance and good v's evil this book should be for you! buy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from my favourite author, 22 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hiding From the Light (Paperback)
I had real trouble putting this book down, Barbara Erskine followers will love this one. Very atmospheric and I actually felt I was in Essex with Sarah, Emma and Lyndsey. The plot was good, although I found Alex rather a wimp and slightly annoying. Basically I would recommend this book and was pleased Erskine has recovered her usual standard as I was disappointed with the ending of Whispers in the Sand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GHOSTIES AND BEASTIES AND THINGS THAT GO BUMP IN THE NIGHT.., 6 Mar. 2006
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hiding from the Light (Hardcover)
I have been a fan of this author ever since I read her wonderful bestselling book, "Lady of Hay". So, I looked forward to reading this, her latest book, which has supernatural portents and characters from another place and time.
In this book, the mid-seventeenth century and the present converge. Ghosts from the time of Oliver Cromwell, when Matthew Hopkins, the Witchfinder General, unjustly persecuted women in some rural communities in North Essex for being witches, are stirring. With Halloween on the horizon, it is only a matter of time before they make their presence felt.
Emma Dickinson, a high-powered business executive finds herself inexorably drawn to a quaint cottage in a rural community in North Essex, where, as a child, she had spent some time. Leaving behind her lover and significant other, she buys her dream cottage, which long ago belonged to a herbalist named Liza who met her end at the hands of the Witchfinder General. When Emma moves into the cottage, she begins having a series of nightmares of a past that she cannot bear to remember.
Unbeknownst to her, Mike Sinclair, the handsome new rector of her parish, likewise finds himself consumed by images of the past. A voice in his head interjects concepts and feelings that are alien to Mike. He is at a loss to explain what is happening and does not know that he is barreling towards a climax that will be decisive in determining whether the forces of evil or good will prevail.
The author, a master storyteller, weaves a tale that is engaging, but the quality of the writing, however, is uneven, and some of the characters are not fully-fleshed. Moreover, the book could have benefited from some better editing. Nonetheless, while the book falls somewhat short of the standards that this author herself has set, it is still a moderately entertaining book that fans of the author will, in some measure, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hiding from the Light, 4 May 2003
This review is from: Hiding From the Light (Paperback)
In my opinion this book was brilliant, I just did not want to put it down, it had horror (gave me nightmares), romance, suspence. I was totally lost and really became part of the story.
I would recommend this to anyone, another great novel from Barbara Erskine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent writing, 18 July 2006
By 
Georgie (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hiding From the Light (Paperback)
I have read quite a few novels by Barbara Erskine and this does not disappoint. Quite scary in places but not enough to give you nightmares it keeps you on the edge of your seat. Her research is excellent for all her novels and she makes you feel you are there with the characters. I could actually feel the mist coming across the land as well as the presence of the Witchfinder General. Keep giving us more Barbara I cannot get enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read!!, 13 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Hiding From the Light (Hardcover)
An excellent fast-paced read with plenty of twists and turns, Hiding From The Light carries on the tradition this author has gained from creepy ghost stories like Midnight Is A Lonely Place. The story starts with a thirty-something yuppie who spots an advert for a cottage in the village where she used to holiday with her parents. On an impulse, she gives up her job in the city and her lover to buy, what she thinks, is her dream home. It's not until she moves in that the nightmares and the fun (creepy kind that is!) begins. One of Ms Erskine's best and even better than Whispers In The Sand. The author has an amazing skill of bringing the characters and surroundings to life. Only fault is that the story ends a little too sudden, I would have liked an epilogue detailing what happened to the characters a few months down the line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely gripping story.........., 4 July 2010
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hiding From the Light (Paperback)
which will have you reading and reading until before you know where you are, you will have finished the book.

Emma is living in London with Piers her boyfriend when one day whilst at the Dentists she opens a copy of a magazine and sees estate agents details for a cottage in Mistley near Manningtree in Essex. She is suddenly seized by a desire to go and look at the property even though Piers is an avid townie and swears he will never leave London.

To cut to the chase then, Emma buys the cottage and moves down to Essex sans Piers but with her two cats. She has named the cottage Liza's cottage as she remembers seeing it as a child and always being fascinated with it. The old occupant and I mean old, circa 17th century speaks to Emma but this is the start of something that is malevolent not benign. Soon a local girl called Lyndsey starts to harrass Emma as she feels that she is upsetting the balance of things. Things being the decommisioned church and church yard opposite Liza's which reputedly holds the grave of
Matthew Hopkins the notorious Witchfinder General.

Now, this bit may or may not be true as I have actually been to the place living locally and although there are no signs of a church left there are a couple of graves in what is now a small paddock where sheep graze. The place does feel rather odd though I have to say.

The novel shoots along rapidly gaining momentum all the time until there is a final battle twixt good and evil involving the Rector, Emma, The local Cunning Man and Lyndsey the self styled Wiccan whose interference has led to one death and two possessions.

No-one was safe from Hopkins during his reign of terror and it is documented that over 200 people were tried in East Anglian for supposed Witchcraft or comporting with the Devil.

There is so much more I could say about this brilliant novel but I would spoil it for others so my best suggestion therefore, is to buy it and enjoy it for yourself.

I would like to point out that Essex is a beautiful County particularly down at this end and nothing like the Essex so hatefully portrayed on the TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but that's all, 10 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Hiding From the Light (Paperback)
This book was not a patch as many of the author's other books. I quite liked the characters but felt that there was no development of them at all during the story. Obviously you have to suspend disbelief with her books, but this was ridiculous. The whole thing was over the top and overwrought. It was also too long. As there was no character development the book could have been half the size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! Atmosphere drips off every page!!!, 9 Aug. 2010
By 
This review is from: Hiding From the Light (Paperback)
I loved this novel, not least because I love anything a bit witchy and the ghost of Mathew Hopkins aka Witchfinder General coming back from the grave to hunt down modern day witches and wiccans is enough to give me goose bumps! The atmosphere of the book is tangible and I could not put it down. Hiding from the Light is the kind of novel which lives on in the mind long after the final page has been read and the book satisfyingly, yet somewhat reluctantly, closed. Shame the Wiccan was depicted as evil though - will the stereotype never be lived down?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hiding From the Light
Hiding From the Light by Barbara Erskine (Paperback - 19 Feb. 2009)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews