Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars44
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 August 2008
As always with Rachel's books, the recipes are easy to follow and turn out the way you expect them to - so you get great results with a minimum of fuss. There is something for every occasion in this book, as the chapter titles show: "Food for the Soul", "Childhood Favourites", "Making Memories", "Something to Celebrate", "The Lazy Sunday", "An Elegant Afternoon", Pleasure Without the Guilt", "Food for Romance", "For the Love of Chocolate" and "Classic Dishes". I tried the "White Chocolate Buns" and they were dead easy to make, I even managed to whip them up before going to work, something I normally wouldn't be able to do, since I'm not exactly a member of the rise and shine party. They tasted great (funnily like macaroons - very yummy and a bit sticky) and disappeared really quickly once my colleagues tasted them. I can only recommend this book, especially if you're looking for something to make the whole family happy. Since it is beautifully laid out (with an added pink ribbon to mark your page) it also makes a nice present.
0Comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2007
Marcel Proust may have explored the effects of a Madeleine cake on the memory but Rachel Allen's recipes for `Dad's Brown Bread' and `Rhubarb and Custard Tart' are equally capable of evoking all those memories of Sunday-teas gone by whilst expanding your practical cooking skills.

With chapters that offer great recipes from childhood, meals for celebrations and even food for romance, Rachel Allen invites readers to cook dishes which are (or soon will be) part of the fabric of life. Grown-up Pavlova and rich buttered lobster recipes sit surprisingly well alongside the simple joys of cheesy pasta bake. Each section is beautifully illustrated with stunning family-centric photography and the recipes are easy to follow - encouraging household participation in cooking (although readers may find it difficult to share any of the goodies that are the result of the chapter entitled `For the Love of Chocolate').

Wholesome without being preachy and sweet without being sickly, Rachel Allen's Food for Living is quaint food philosophy with a kick and the perfect book to add to your kitchen shelf.
0Comment|79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2008
A lot of the recipes can be got from the web but for the pictures and the recipes themselves buy yourself the book (or better still, buy for he/she who lurks in the kitchen area). The chocolate brownie recipe is a personal favourite featuring their inspired use of raspberries and (as they keep for ages) you don't really have to share them with anyone else.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2008
this is such a fab recipe book! i got it for xmas and i use it alot. so far have made the spanish chorizo (used veggie sausage instead) and chickpea soup, blue cheese potato and leek soup (which is so gorgeous), heart shaped toast with egg and the cheesy soda bread, and some of the smoothies! they all turned out really well. i can't wait to make so many different things and next on my list is the chocolate and banana bread and butter pud! the book is written in such a simple and lovely way and is not pretencious atall. it also has great illustrations and feels very good quality. i particularly like the different sections such as food for the soul and the lazy sundays section, as there is something for any occasion. i would DEFINITELY recommend this!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
I have now made 4 recipes from this book in the space of a month. The fact that it is themed by mood and has great pictures has meant that it has been v. easy to use. Ingredients lists are relatively straight forward, as are the cooking instructions. V. easy to use and to find something that suits the occasion.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2007
I was so excited to see Rachel Allen has published another cookbook!
It's a beautiful book, full of lovely colourful photos and most of the recipes are things I will actually use.

She's always great on Saturday Kitchen so I made sure to watch her new show and I love it - she's very easy to watch and her accent is lovely to listen to. It's refreshing that there are no pointless self-obsessed innuendos like Nigella or tired cliches like Gordon and Jamie. I get the impression she's just a real woman with a real family and real clothes who likes really good food!
0Comment|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2011
I really like Rachel Allen recipes, I find them tasty and easy to make. She is my favorite chef.
This book however was a disappointment. Did not like the way the index was organized, and one of the recipes I tried did not work at all page 193 Torta di cappuccino. It probably had the wrong amounts. I looked it up on the internet and unfortunately found out that other people had the same problem with this particular recipe. Pitty!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2010
This is the first Rachel Allen book that I have purchased although I have been a fan of her cookery shows for a long time. I think the book has some very good recipes and good photos. I have tried some of the recipes and they were delicious!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2009
A fabulous cookery book with good quality interesting dishes. Rachel's writing is a joy to read and she does not make life complicated by forcing you to stick rigidly to her ingredient list, there are alternatives! What a breath of fresh air compared with Gordon Ramsay et al!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2011
I absolutely love Rachel Allen, I now have five of her books and cook from them constantly, they are full of reliable recipes that never go wrong, the timings are always exact, and the finished product delicious! She has a combination of quick to cook dishes and ones that require more time in this book and many of her cake recipes provide enough for the tin that mean, with three hungry children, I'm not having to bake daily for desserts/lunch boxes/snacks etc. Her recipes don't need hard to find ingredients or costly ones, the recipes are easy to follow and the accompanying pictures give you perfect insight into how the recipe will look. I strongly recommend this, or any of Rachel Allen's books, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£25.00
£16.59

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.