Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
54
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2009
This book concludes the 'Attil's Howe' trilogy but perhaps not the Oathsworn story. This episode finds Orm, now in his twenties sitting uncomfortably with his increased 'Jarl' status and surrounded by companions eager to be off a 'Viking'. The call of the sea and lure of the horde of silver they discovered in the 'Whaleroad' takes them off on the seas again but others too have their eyes on the silver!

I will say no more about the plot for spoiling reasons but safe to say those who liked the first two books will find much to enjoy here. My only negative point is the story loses a bit of momentum in the middle section. So Robert if your reading... the influence of the Danes on the formation of modern Russia is very interesting and I sense where the further story of the Oathsworn lies but please no more trekking accross the steppes.

But this is a great trilogy! No one else can do the fireside camaraderie of the warrior band like Low. He draws you into the group and makes you one of them, though he makes no bones or apologies for the Viking lifestyle. I also love the constantly self doubting hero Orm, a refreshing change from some of the indestructable all perfect central charactors in other histroical fiction.

Great stuff a trilogy for all lovers of historical fiction and especially Vikings.

Since I have written this the author has corrected me via the comment box and I should therefore point out it is not a trilogy but a series and a fourth Oathsworn book will follow! Glad to clear this up not only to be factual but because he is into Viking re-enactment and I live close to the sea!
88 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2009
White Raven is the third book in the Oathsworn series. Low ha created a wonderful and vivid world filled with the action and adventure of the whale road. As with the previous two novels Low's character or well written and the backdrops all well realised. There are plenty of new characters to get our teeth sunk into, my personal favourites were Crowbone and the Amazon warriors. Personally I prefer the second novels to both this one and the first, but for any fan of Vikings or Historical fiction in general, this is a gem of a series well worth reading.

Ormm wants to settle down on his homestead and raise his horses, but the oathsworn are getting itchy feet, they can hear the call of the whale road and the adventures and wealth it promises. Also still in the back of their mind is the huge sums of silver left in Attila's tomb, it isn't until their homestead is attacked is Orm forced to take steps to leave his home. From when they leave, the oathsworn will face battles on land and sea and a race to the tomb of Attila.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2009
I'm giving this book 5 stars because of the excellent way it portrays the harsh, brutal and doomed exsistance of life in the 10th Century. Robert Low brilliantly evokes the real sense of the comradship that these raiders must have shared and highlight's the importance of an oath taken in these times compared with the somewhat wishy washy way we live today. The first chapter made me feel physically sick which no book has ever done before! It is as he says himself a tale to be told around a fire and i love the way that his style of writing and use of language fits with my own imagined image of Orm Bear Slayer re-telling the story of his life. A brilliant read!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
Having read the first two books in the series I was expecting White Raven to be better than it is. Unfortunately it seems the author has struggled to find a plot that can keep the readers interest but instead, has padded out the story with Crowbone, a new character who, I believe, will be the main character in subsequent story's, telling fables to the rest of the Characters in this story. I think it would have been better if, instead of struggling to fill out this book, Mr. Low could have incorporated this into the previous book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Part of a series of five stories about the Vikings in C10th. A great mix of fact and fiction with believable characters and situations. Compulsive reading. I've been recommending the series to everyone I know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Once again Robert Low delivers the goods in his latest Oathsworn book -very believable, brutal and grim throughout -his vivid descriptions of a band of Norse Warriors battling their way through the frozen Russian steps will make you want to turn the central heating up a notch -top marks.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
But it is a reasonably well told yarn, its pace adequate and it appears reasonably well researched if the afterward is to be believed. Definitely helps to have read the first two novels to follow the details of the plot of this one, however. I had left a gap of about three years and found I had to do more than a little reminiscing to pick on some of the references to events in the earlier books. But it introduces an interesting new character in Crowbone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
I knew when I started reading this seeries, that it would be thrilling and White Raven was no exception.. As I expected, it was a great read and kept me interested to the veruy last page. I would reccommend Robert Low to anyone who is looking for a good read about Vikings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
Overall, I've found the three books of the trilogy entertaining reading. Low does create an interesting, if somewhat depressing, picture of the life of the Viking. Seems to have been be a fair bit of snot about; someone or other is always blowing snot out of their nose! I thank the gods for Kleenex today! Interesting how he manages to make you feel some degree of empathy for an essentially pretty unlikeable bunch of characters, whose lives centre on drinking, fighting and rape. No books or tv in those times, see? You can imagine why the Vikings were feared and loathed so much, reading these books. But they have held my interest sufficiently to want to read them all. Quite a flavour of Bernard Cornwell, with more snot!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2009
The third book of Robert Low's exhilarating Oathsworn series continues the story of Orm and his crew five years after the events of "The Wolf Sea", as they venture back out onto the steppe in search of Atil's howe and the legendary treasure hoard once again.

Like its predecessors, "The White Raven" is fast-paced, gritty and utterly enthralling. Low certainly doesn't shy away from graphic descriptions of medieval atrocities, or from crude humour; but both of these elements simply add to the wonderful sense of realism which pervades the book and makes it such an engaging read.

The crew of the original Oathsworn has dwindled significantly by this point in the series, which has allowed Low to introduce a large number of other characters to the tale. Some have been met before - Brondolf Lambisson, Jon Asanes (Goat Boy) - and others, such as little Prince Olaf Crowbone, are completely new to the Oathsworn. As ever, Low's wonderful gift for bringing his characters to life is a key to the story, with Crowbone, Red Njal, Sigurd and Thorgunna only a handful of examples in the book.

While Low's decision to place the action in mid-winter lets him avoid repetition of the crew's journey across the steppe - and demonstrate more of his incredible knowledge of the Viking world - "The White Raven" will not disappoint fans of the previous Oathsworn books, or indeed anyone who appreciates a good saga tale.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.