Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whay hay!!!!!
Liked it. Nice pics,interesting words, great interviews. All I expected. Will add to the collection of M and W material I've got. If you like these comedians, or like British comedy.....or both, then you'll enjoy owning this book. Got a nice expensive feel to it...quality!
Published on 23 Nov 2009 by PJO

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars a good book spoiled by the way it is presented for Kindle
I was looking forward to reading this book as, like so many, I am a great fan of Morecambe & Wise. However the very poor presentation on my Kindle really spoiled it for me. Many many pages (most in fact) had lines split in two I appropriately, slowing the flow of the writing. Paragraphs were also split like this. Justification was all over the place. In one case the page...
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whay hay!!!!!, 23 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone: The life and work of Eric Morecambe (Hardcover)
Liked it. Nice pics,interesting words, great interviews. All I expected. Will add to the collection of M and W material I've got. If you like these comedians, or like British comedy.....or both, then you'll enjoy owning this book. Got a nice expensive feel to it...quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars we certainly do miss him.... Eric Morecambe the one and ONLY, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Carl De Rome - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone: The life and work of Eric Morecambe (Hardcover)
well its 30 years since John Eric Bartholomew passed away, one of the greatest parts of a UK comedy act ever
and what a book this is..... if you like Morecambe and Wise in particular Erik you will love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars a good book spoiled by the way it is presented for Kindle, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was looking forward to reading this book as, like so many, I am a great fan of Morecambe & Wise. However the very poor presentation on my Kindle really spoiled it for me. Many many pages (most in fact) had lines split in two I appropriately, slowing the flow of the writing. Paragraphs were also split like this. Justification was all over the place. In one case the page was straight on the right hand side and uneven on the left. I frequently found myself wanting to sort it, but of course I could not. Had it been a free book it could just have been acceptable but as one which was over £6 it is not.
This is not to say the book itself was bad, but I knowI have not enjoyed it as much as I would have had it been properly presented. Indeed I felt a sense of relief when I finished it. I was really disappointed and would not recommend it to any of my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Autobiography, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone: The life and work of Eric Morecambe (Hardcover)
Loved it. Was in condition as it was second hand and it was a good buy good buy and arrived in very quick time. Have no issues what so ever. Enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone: The life and work of Eric Morecambe (Hardcover)
Very amusing and insightful and well written book about one of the greats. Thoroughly enjoyed it. It is good it was by a relative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Been There Before, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone: The life and work of Eric Morecambe (Hardcover)
For any fan of Eric Morecambe this title is probably worth a read, but having read a few other books on the same subject, I can't help but think that I've seen all of this before.
This being another title written by Morecambe's adopted son - Gary - on the same subject, I believe that whilst the book delivers a few interesting pieces, it's probably time that Morecambe jnr. finally stopped living off the back of his father's fame, and brought out a new title about somebody completely different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed fan, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone: The life and work of Eric Morecambe (Hardcover)
The mistake I made was to think that this book was a biography - it's not, it's a tribute. The book is an eclectic mix of biographical material and anecdotes from people who knew Eric, some of which are quite trivial - I still don't understand why the author felt that a photograph of Eric with his mother's elderly neighbour on her one and only visit to Eric's house in Harpenden should be included. Anyway... if you're looking for a biography of Eric's life and works this is not the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone, 8 Feb 2010
This review is from: You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone: The life and work of Eric Morecambe (Hardcover)
Good book, good delivery. However the date of despatch it says the date is June 2010 and January 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morecambe, 9 Dec 2009
By 
Glord (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone: The life and work of Eric Morecambe (Hardcover)
One of the only things about Eric Morecambe my daughter hasn't got. Looking forward to giving it as a present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone: The life and work of Eric Morecambe
You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone: The life and work of Eric Morecambe by Gary Morecambe (Hardcover - 15 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews