Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but flawed
With its North European setting, this book provides an interesting perspective on the existing Medieval/Crusades fiction genre. It is mostly fairly captivating, with a well developed plot and cast of main characters. However, at points the book suffers from what I believe are editorial or perhaps translation mistakes, with certain sequences, statements and sentences...
Published on 3 Mar. 2009 by Mrs. Barnaby

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The first of three
Slow to start, the characters blossomed through the book. The life of Scandinavians at the time is described in detail and one felt they could be there. Arn came of age in the telling and has the tools to be the hero as he grows will start the next.
Published 6 months ago by Frank. John's


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but flawed, 3 Mar. 2009
This review is from: The Road to Jerusalem: Crusades Trilogy Bk. 1 (Crusades Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
With its North European setting, this book provides an interesting perspective on the existing Medieval/Crusades fiction genre. It is mostly fairly captivating, with a well developed plot and cast of main characters. However, at points the book suffers from what I believe are editorial or perhaps translation mistakes, with certain sequences, statements and sentences lacking their apparently intended impact and a few sub-plots here and there simply vanish without being concluded, and are not mentioned again. This makes parts of the book a little confusing, but the novel remains a decent read.
One final point is that you should not expect conclusiveness from this book. Even as the first part of a trilogy, the plot is left wide open and you are left somewhat with the impression that what you've read was more of an extended introduction than a full novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learning history while enjoying drama, 29 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
I read the whole trilogy - and the following book about Arn Magnusson's son, all in Norwegian language. Loving fiction, but being interested in ancient history, these books appealed to me like the books about indians when I was a child (long ago now). Most interesting is that even if the first book is excellent, the two (three) following are even more exciting. They give insight not only into Swedish and Nordic history, but also The "political world" of the 12th century. It even made me reflect about today's Middle East conflict; the leaders in Israel and Palestine could maybe learn something about how things might be solved to the better - together - by reading these, especially the Knight's Templar. And not to forget, the plots and the the personalities described in detail are fantastic, I really came to know them all in person while reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent opening of a trilogy, 5 Jan. 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Road to Jerusalem is the first in a trilogy of historical novels tracking the life of Arn, from boyhood to his participation in the crusades. It gives a unique insight into the historical realities of the day, from papal influence to pagan kings, the rise of Islam and militant Christianity and their crossroads in the battles for control of Jerusalem.
The characters are well developed, the historical detail legion and the intrigue spun like the finest tapestry of the time round plots and subplots with a firm thread holding it all together and making it an absolute pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A trilogy with no ending, 24 Sept. 2007
This book is the first of a Trilogy- which are indeed a great read - they have all the elements of a great story and are being made into a movie currently. The books are quick to read (read addictive) and contain that ever so brilliant combination of factual figures based around real events and real people. We rarely get a glimpse of the Nordic countries post Viking and pre Ikea. These books are written by an author that i would only urge Orion to publish more of.
However only 2 of the 3 books ("The Road to Jerusalem", "The Temple Knight") are available - the last instalment - "The kingdom at the end of the road" or "Riket vid vägens slut") is pretty much MIA - no longer in publication and not in stock. Thus whilst a great story and a worthwhile read - you will have to wait for the 3 part movie (in production check imdb) to find the conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book with a lot of Deja vu......., 14 Dec. 2010
By 
D. Tan "tan1415" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road to Jerusalem: Crusades Trilogy Bk. 1 (Crusades Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
To understand my review ...you must have seen the movie The Kingdom of Heaven. I am thinking Ridley Scott has read this book too.

There are so many similarities between the book and that movie...that at first i thought the movie was the result of the book. Can't be coincedence right?

Example: Arn like Balian from the movie are both tasked with protecting travellers in the holy land. Both Arn and Balian met their later enemy and became more or less friends AND got saved by them. Both Arn and Balian didnt become the leaders of their respective sides.(Seemed like it would have changed the events if they did)

Sadly for the movie..it was not. The book (isn't it always)was much much better. It describes the end of the kingdom of Jerusalem. It took time to explain how the templar order has changed since arn was in the holy land.

Anyway it's a wonderfull story and a worthy 2nd part of the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nordic Christianity, 4 Oct. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Jerusalem: Crusades Trilogy Bk. 1 (Crusades Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
Having read a number of books of this period by British Authors I was intrigued to see a series written by a Nordic Author. Although I was unfamiliar with the style (and the locations described) it was a book I thoroughly enjoyed and I immediately opened the next one in the series to continue reading the saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Road to Jerusalem, 1 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Jerusalem: Crusades Trilogy Bk. 1 (Crusades Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
I found this quite slow but still intrigueing this being the first in the trilogy I thought the 2nd and 3rd would improve but they were equally quite slow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst initially I wasn't sure as I started to read the first in the series, I became totally engrossed and read the next two in quick succession. The books are a great insight into the making of the Swedish royal family. They are exceptionally well written, and well, Arn is great character, though sometimes a little unbelievable as he rarely puts a foot wrong. Thoroughly recommend reading and just wish the films were in English!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I intend to follow Arn to Jerusalem and then back to Sweden, 2 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Road to Jerusalem: Crusades Trilogy Bk. 1 (Crusades Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
It takes some time to get into this book as background to Arn is slowly built up, but it is well worth keeping with the story as the 12th century drama unfolds and we follow Arn from childhood to becoming a young man and Templer Knight. I have ordered the next two novels in this trilogy, so would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the road to jerusalem,crusaders trilogy,book 1, 16 Jan. 2012
This review is from: The Road to Jerusalem: Crusades Trilogy Bk. 1 (Crusades Trilogy 1) (Paperback)
i knew that this book would be excellent as i had already , read the second and third books.i love this period of history and found it was well researched i also found it interesting because i did,nt know anything about the land that eventually became sweden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Road to Jerusalem: Crusades Trilogy Bk. 1 (Crusades Trilogy 1)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews