Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delight
This book is a delight, a gem. The original illustrations take the diaries beyond the mundane, and Thomas Livingstone's gentle humour enlivens the often dreary weather and seemingly constant worries over Agnes health. Zeplins, Chimneys, the wash house, news from the front, the ironing, the cost of coal..... all of life is here. You will love it!
Published on 20 Sep 2008 by Mrs. J. A. Palfree

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost like eaves dropping.
Reading TOMMY'S WAR is like eaves dropping. You're given the opportunity here to read thoughts and share emotions intended for a select few people decades ago, in a way that imparts a sense of daily life like seldom achieved.

I would have given the book 5 stars but for some reason, the book is bound in a way which makes the pages hard to turn, and the...
Published on 27 Sep 2009 by Everett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost like eaves dropping., 27 Sep 2009
By 
Everett "Everett B." (Los angeles, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 (Paperback)
Reading TOMMY'S WAR is like eaves dropping. You're given the opportunity here to read thoughts and share emotions intended for a select few people decades ago, in a way that imparts a sense of daily life like seldom achieved.

I would have given the book 5 stars but for some reason, the book is bound in a way which makes the pages hard to turn, and the explanatory notes are printed such tiny type as to be almost illegible. If you're willing to put up with these deficiencies, it's a wonderful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy's War, 28 Mar 2011
By 
Jane knape (Derby UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 (Paperback)
Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 by Thomas Cairns Livingstone. This is a wonderful book, in fact we bought two so that we could take one up to Scotland to give to my father-in-law - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. Y. Craig "Wonoona" (Ballymena, Co. Antrim, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this book fascinating. His clear presentation of the times during the First World War especially around the Glasgow area where I lived brought back many happy memories. His freehand drawing of pictures gave me quite a source of amusement.

I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tommy's war (paperback), 7 Mar 2010
By 
John L. Colley "SpeedDial" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a truly enlightening book and a fascinating read, as it give a great insight into a normal everyday family situation in the midst of terrible death and hardship.
The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was that the introduction is so long and drawn out and in cases boring. Also the publishers should speak to the binders and tell them that the large blank side of the page should go on the inside so we don't have to almost tear the book in half to read the inner words. Also its very demeaning to the gentleman's family to put on the front of the book 'a war time nobody' very thoughtless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars boring, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 (Paperback)
thought this would be a good read i did not even finish reading it ; it is so boring ; great if you want to fall asleep
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918
Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 by Thomas Cairns Livingstone (Paperback - 28 May 2009)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews