Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delight
This book is a delight, a gem. The original illustrations take the diaries beyond the mundane, and Thomas Livingstone's gentle humour enlivens the often dreary weather and seemingly constant worries over Agnes health. Zeplins, Chimneys, the wash house, news from the front, the ironing, the cost of coal..... all of life is here. You will love it!
Published on 20 Sept. 2008 by Mrs. J. A. Palfree

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost like eaves dropping.
Reading TOMMY'S WAR is like eaves dropping. You're given the opportunity here to read thoughts and share emotions intended for a select few people decades ago, in a way that imparts a sense of daily life like seldom achieved.

I would have given the book 5 stars but for some reason, the book is bound in a way which makes the pages hard to turn, and the...
Published on 27 Sept. 2009 by Everett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy's War, 7 Dec. 2009
By 
S. Wright "Simonboo" (Newton Abbot, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent book. I bought it after reading reviews on Amazon and wasn't disappointed. A quirky and enthralling view of life and war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful book, 26 Jun. 2009
By 
Ks And Rm Barclay "ROZ" (GLASGOW) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was so good .I could not put it down , I just wanted to read what happened next .I enjoyed it too because the area was local to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read!, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am captivated by this excellent book and have also bought myself the sequel : "Tommy's Peace" ! Moving, funny and entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy's War, 28 Mar. 2011
By 
Jane knape (Derby UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 (Paperback)
Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 by Thomas Cairns Livingstone. This is a wonderful book, in fact we bought two so that we could take one up to Scotland to give to my father-in-law - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun book, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 (Paperback)
Good service and good price, arrived promptly and well packed. Product was exactly as described all in all very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 (Paperback)
I bought this as a present for someone who only reads non fiction books and it didn't disappoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, 12 Jan. 2015
fascinating account of WWI by someone who fought in the war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918, 1 Feb. 2009
By 
Mrs. Y. Craig "Wonoona" (Ballymena, Co. Antrim, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this book fascinating. His clear presentation of the times during the First World War especially around the Glasgow area where I lived brought back many happy memories. His freehand drawing of pictures gave me quite a source of amusement.

I would highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 (Paperback)
very professional
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 (Paperback)
Great item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918
Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 by Thomas Cairns Livingstone (Paperback - 28 May 2009)
£15.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews