Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delight
This book is a delight, a gem. The original illustrations take the diaries beyond the mundane, and Thomas Livingstone's gentle humour enlivens the often dreary weather and seemingly constant worries over Agnes health. Zeplins, Chimneys, the wash house, news from the front, the ironing, the cost of coal..... all of life is here. You will love it!
Published on 20 Sep 2008 by Mrs. J. A. Palfree

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost like eaves dropping.
Reading TOMMY'S WAR is like eaves dropping. You're given the opportunity here to read thoughts and share emotions intended for a select few people decades ago, in a way that imparts a sense of daily life like seldom achieved.

I would have given the book 5 stars but for some reason, the book is bound in a way which makes the pages hard to turn, and the...
Published on 27 Sep 2009 by Everett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delight, 20 Sep 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a delight, a gem. The original illustrations take the diaries beyond the mundane, and Thomas Livingstone's gentle humour enlivens the often dreary weather and seemingly constant worries over Agnes health. Zeplins, Chimneys, the wash house, news from the front, the ironing, the cost of coal..... all of life is here. You will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a find!!! An absolute treasure trove., 17 Oct 2008
I don't usually read diaries but this caught my eye and I decided to give it a go as I generally read war books. From page one it became a treasure trove of snippets from a bygone era. How a family strove to make ends meet through severe hardship during ww1. Thomas makes light of it all with wit, charm and such delightful drawings of news items or his family.
Shaun sewell has made a great discovery and shared it with the nation. We must thank you for that and just hope Harper collins will see fit to produce book 2 from 1919 t0 1933. I only hope someone will find the pre war diaries that might have started as early as 1905 whilst thomas was courting Agnes.
This is a real gem, set in Glasgow it gives us all another angle on the great war, A great social history, and whether you are from the North, the south, England, scotland, Ireland or Wales it will appeal to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glasgow's WWI Kiss, 19 Sep 2008
By 
M. L. Richings "m_richings2" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well, what a find, I am normally an avid veiwer of the Antiques Roadshow but must have missed the autumn 2007 episode at alnwick castle which featured the original MSS of these diaries, these are, I think unique, part facsimilie MSS part typeset, the diaries are illustrated throughout by Thomas Cairns Livingstone, a well to do Glasweigian shipping clerk, the diaries span the best part of 30 years, but here we have the best bits, the Great War years, plus a few entries for 1933, depression era (how spookily apt for today) I am a collector of WWI Diaries, I like seeing the great war from all angles, but I have never come across one like these, and i don't think there will be another set like these published, I can rave on about how superb they are, but the proof of the pudding is in the eating, I am sure you will agree, it will be the best money you've ever spent, open the pages of Thomas Cairns livingstone's diaries and let him talk to you himself and be transported back to Post Edwardian Glasgow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wee man's great war, 26 Dec 2008
By 
Alexander Bryce (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having a fair knowledge of this 1914/1918 hellish war from the writings of the politicians and historians,it was both interesting and enlightening to follow the lives of ordinary working folk who happened to be living and working in Glasgow at this time through the diaries of Thomas Livingstone. This book has everything: humour, compassion and suspense [will he or won't he be called to the trenches]. Here is a man of very limited formal education who writes beautifully quoting from the classics ,using French and Latin phrases and illustrating his pages with skillful sometimes sad but usually very funny cartoons. This day to day account of his family life[ birthdays, Christmas, summer holidays] against the horrors of the first world war is a masterpiece.Thomas Livingstone dealt with his wife's failing health, food shortages, the death of friends and alas lack of tobacco to indulge his only vice with fortitude and kindness.
I defy anyone to read this unassuming work without laughing out loud and shedding a few tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life on the Home Front, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One man's heart-warming account of lower-middle-class life in Glasgow set against the momentous events of the Great War. The struggles of everyday life are juxtaposed with world-changing events in Europe. Shows how people at home coped with everything from the loss of friends at the Front to shortages of food and fuel, and yet, they still carried on with the routine of family, work and leisure as best they could. Delightfully quirky illustrations by the author make this a truly personal record. With the centenary of World War One fast approaching, I have no hesitation in recommending this book to anyone with even the slightest interest in social history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Book, 7 Feb 2013
By 
A. Duffy (Livingston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 (Paperback)
Although I am a Kindle owner and use mine regularly, there is nothing quite like holding a beautiful book in your hands, flicking the edges of the pages and smelling the paper. This is such a book. It is a diary, one man's personal story with all that entail's - the ups, downs and trivia. I first became aware of the diaries when they were shown on BBC's Antiques Roadshow and, being a Scot, I took a particular interest. When I learned that this had been published, I added it to my wishlist and in the next few days I will embark on reading it in detail after little snippets here and there over the last week or so. I can hardly wait. I know I will not be disappointed. And I managed to buy a hardback copy at a ridiculously low price - and to a Scot that matters!!
Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good read, especially if you know Glasgow. Details way of life in Glasgow during WWI as a civilian not a soldier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy's War. A First World War Diary 1013-1918, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book which gave a meaningful introduction to Tommy's small family's way of life during the First World War. It is a superb keyhole look at their lives in a working class area of Glasgow in difficult times.

Tommy gives the reader a pen picture of his day to day working and social life-----is wife , Agnes,to whom he is devoted, and their son, young Tommy, who is the apple of their eyes. The diary is kept faithfully each day and in it Tommy records --getting his hair cut, Agnes's frequent illnesses, young Tommy's successes at school , plus detailed records of the war being fought across the English Channel. The number of soldiers, German as well as British, killed and wounded are recorded just underneath his own family's story. Tommy illustrates his diary with little, humorous drawings which add poignancy to his records.

I found it difficult to put the book down. I kept saying to myself--"just another page"-but that did not work! An excellent read giving a glimpse of the social, political and difficult times at that stage of the 20th Century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun book, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 (Paperback)
Good service and good price, arrived promptly and well packed. Product was exactly as described all in all very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read!, 10 April 2013
By 
A. R. Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am captivated by this excellent book and have also bought myself the sequel : "Tommy's Peace" ! Moving, funny and entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918
Tommy's War: A First World War Diary 1913-1918 by Thomas Cairns Livingstone (Paperback - 28 May 2009)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews