Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what i wanted
A good guide to various animals you are not sure about, I liked the fact that it shows you actually photos of each animal not a drawing, also that it covers Europe , as i will be taking it to France.
Published on 15 May 2011 by kathryn

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars knowledge at your fingertips
great book to have in the car or if camping. very small and light, but lots of fascinating info which makes seeing nature so much more interesting and excites the mind into wanting to see and know more.
Published on 2 Sept. 2010 by N. Brennan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what i wanted, 15 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good guide to various animals you are not sure about, I liked the fact that it shows you actually photos of each animal not a drawing, also that it covers Europe , as i will be taking it to France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All animals are mammals, 13 July 2012
(This is a review of the 1980 edition. I "only" have the Swedish translation, but its NOT a photographic guide! The new 2009 edition seems to have been so thoroughly revised, that it's an entirely different book! Please ask the Amazon sellers specifically what edition they are selling before purchase!)

"Wild Animals" is a pocket-sized field guide to European mammals. I admit that I'm quite impressed: most species are illustrated, and the illustrations also include footprints and nests.

If the field guide can really be used to identify insectivores or small bats, is another matter entirely. At least it will give the reader a working knowledge of the European mammal fauna, "Europe" as in everything from Greenland to the Black Sea. The guide also includes implanted and feral species, including the genet, the racoon, the muntjac, water deer, feral cows (!), feral horses and the water buffalo.

The biggest disappointment is that the great whales are shown as they would look like to a causal observer on a ship deck, i.e. you don't see much. The smaller whales are shown in stranded condition! But then, this presumably is how whales really do look like in nature - from a human vantage point.

Since "Wild Animals" was published in 1980, the geographical ranges given for many species are probably in need of an update. The implanted and feral species might also be different today. Still, this miniature field guide might nevertheless come in handy - if you don't need it yourself, fetch one for the kids!

Just make sure to tell them that all mammals are animals, but not all animals are mammals...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars knowledge at your fingertips, 2 Sept. 2010
By 
N. Brennan "Scuba Steve" (Poole, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
great book to have in the car or if camping. very small and light, but lots of fascinating info which makes seeing nature so much more interesting and excites the mind into wanting to see and know more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars little gem, 17 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Animals (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
the collins little gem books have been around since my childhood i've grown up reading them
the small size lets you drop it in your pocket and the easy to understand text and superb pictures
are a must for the nature lover or if you want information about the countless subjects the books cover
from whisky to mushrooms you will find an easy read informative book i have a big collection and as
a nature lover i find the pictures superb for identifying species a must buy collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collins Gem- Wild Animals, 23 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Animals (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
The Collins Gem miniature guides are generally excellent, and Wild Animals by John Burton comes up to the usual high standard of other Collins Gem field guides. The books are attractively laid out, packed with information, and small enough to carry with you when out walking. The Collins Gem guides are ideal as gifts for children and adults. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy size and informative, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Animals (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
Perfect size to carry in your pocket or rucksack and is great to give some info on different animals native to this part of the world. You can get more information in other books but this is enough to start off with. It suits our children too as there is not too much in each page, yet enough to keep them busy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for all the family, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Animals (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
All the family learnt a lot from this book and it is a handy size to take out and about with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful little books., 19 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Wild Animals (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
I love these Collins reference books both for the really handy little size and the wealth of knowledge within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Animals (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
Prompt postage great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 19 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Animals (Collins Gem) (Paperback)
informative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Animals (Collins Gem)
Wild Animals (Collins Gem) by John A. Burton (Paperback - 2 April 2009)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews