Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cult book of the cult TV show
If, like me, you're both a football fan and a Sky Sports subscriber, you'll probably be familiar with Soccer Saturday (at six hours, the longest regular live show on British TV). In this book, Jeff Stelling lifts the lid on the magic box and reveals the secrets behind the show and its panel of ex-player pundits. It's revealing (lots of genuinely interesting...
Published on 30 April 2009 by tsl04

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars There's only one Jeff Stelling!!!
This is a great insight into arguably one of Britain's most popular sport's programmes. Fronted by Jeff Stelling, Soccer Saturday has now become a national institution. However, if you've been living in a cave somewhere for the last ten years, allow me to briefly explain the concept. Jeff Stelling informs viewers of the scores from live football matches going on from...
Published on 16 July 2011 by Teddy Ludford


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cult book of the cult TV show, 30 April 2009
If, like me, you're both a football fan and a Sky Sports subscriber, you'll probably be familiar with Soccer Saturday (at six hours, the longest regular live show on British TV). In this book, Jeff Stelling lifts the lid on the magic box and reveals the secrets behind the show and its panel of ex-player pundits. It's revealing (lots of genuinely interesting behind-the-scenes stuff), refreshingly frank (Stelling isn't afraid to point out the weaknesses and foibles of his fellow panellists), and frequently laugh-out-loud funny.

Jeff Stelling is a broadcasting god, presiding over six hours of unscripted mayhem every Saturday with wit, preternatural cool and some genuinely awful puns (the book's title is but one of many). He's deservedly a cult hero to footy fans everywhere, for whom this book is a must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jeff Selling superstar, 8 May 2009
By 
Alan Reynolds (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Anyone who is familiar with Jeff Stelling's Saturday marathon on Sky Sports will be fascinated and entertained by this book. Some brilliant behind the scenes stories and some great reminiscances of George Best, Rodney Marsh et al as well as an insight into this legendary broadcaster's career from humble beginnings with Radio Teesside to his recent Countdown appointment. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 3 May 2009
By 
Matt Gadd - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
An awesome book. I love football and I love 'Soccer Saturday' ... Saturday just isn't Saturday without it. Strangely, before reading 'Jelleyman' it'd never occured to me that watching 4 retired footballers describing matches that you can't see is actually quite odd. Fortunately, this book goes some way to explaining this phenomenon.

The book itself is very easy to read, you can dip in and out of it with ease and could comfortably read another book at the same time. The narrative style is friendly and conversational, like Jeff! More importantly, it's amusing and provides a fascinating insight into the world of 'Soccer Saturday'.

I've already recommended this book to loads of friends and bought a couple of copies as gifts. One word of warning though. This book would be easily readable by a football loving child. However, there is very occasional heavy swearing. So if you're thinking of buying a copy for your daughter or son, I'd read it yourself first ... and if it's not suitable for them you can keep it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable! A must read for Soccer Saturday fans.., 27 April 2009
By 
Phil (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jeff Stelling is a legend among us football fans, and this book wonderfully chronicles the organised chaos surrounding his show Soccer Saturday. This book tells it like it is from the other side of the TV in his usual humourous and sympathetic manner, with him sharing the thrills and spills of our game as an avid Hartlepool fan.
This book comes highly recommended for fellow fans of football, 'Saturday afternoons infront of the telly', and Jeff himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No disappointments here, 9 May 2009
By 
Mags057 (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was expecting this book to be entertaining and I wasn't disappointed. Even as an older, female, half-hearted football fan I really enjoy Sky's Saturday football programme thanks to Jeff's skillful hosting. As you read the book, you can hear Jeff speaking. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A laugh a minute, 15 Aug. 2009
By 
J. Bodicoat "Digger" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was the title which caught my eye as Gareth Jelleyman played for my club, Mansfield Town. Then I saw it was Jeff who had written it. I thought that gave me two good reasons at the very least to buy it and I wasn't disappointed. Interesting and funny stories from the show, its characters and behind the scenes make it a light-hearted review of Soccer Saturday that I'm sure all viewers should find entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't read this review. Spend your time reading this book instead., 23 Aug. 2010
By 
Daniel Storey "Book_Worm_Daniel" (Rochester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If your a football supporter and you are unable to get to a game live, Soccer Saturday is the show that will answers all your prayers and much more. Gone are the days when people relied on the a teletext for scores. Jeff and a mixed bunch of ex-footballers give you analysis, debate, inside news and every goal from every league as they hit the back of the net, well maybe not your local pub league but you get my drift.

In this book Jeff Sterling the show's anchorman provides a fascinating inside into the world of Soccer Saturday from it humble beginnings as a low ratings sports show right though to the cult football only show it has become. Jeff also gives you the low down on all the show's guests and his take on modern football.

Don't spend time reading this review spend your time reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like football you'll love this, 20 April 2009
By 
Simon May - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A humourous insight behind the scenes of quite probably the best football show on the telly. If you know anyone who likes Soccer Saturday, or just football in general, you couldn't go wrong buying them this book. Really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars There's only one Jeff Stelling!!!, 16 July 2011
This review is from: Jelleyman's Thrown a Wobbly: Saturday Afternoons in Front of the Telly (Paperback)
This is a great insight into arguably one of Britain's most popular sport's programmes. Fronted by Jeff Stelling, Soccer Saturday has now become a national institution. However, if you've been living in a cave somewhere for the last ten years, allow me to briefly explain the concept. Jeff Stelling informs viewers of the scores from live football matches going on from across Great Britain; he is accompanied by 4 pundits(all ex footballers)all of whom watch a different football match in front of a TV screen. And that's it. Sounds tedious, doesn't it? Well it is, but it's tedious in a good way.
In the book Stelling reveals some of the secrets that make Soccer Saturday work so effectively. It appears,to me at least, that Soccer Saturday runs like a well oiled cog, but Stelling highlights how dysfunctional at times the programme actually is. This is testament to the professionalism of the pundits, production team - but in particular Jeff Stelling.
It is Stelling's self-deprecating humour which makes the book a particular interesting read. The on-screen banter which he has with the pundits, is equally as pertinent within this book. The book is written in quite an informal manner, which I believe is the right way considering Stelling's personality. We are even treated to a semi-autobiography of his career - a career that has taken him from local radio to the pinnacle of television presenting. Jeff Stelling should be applauded for what he has achieved; he is a working class lad from the North East of England - hardly an archetypal person to present a London-based television programme. He has beaten off class snobbery to elevate himself into the position he is in today. I know the book isn't technically about Stelling's life, but without him Soccer Saturday just wouldn't be Soccer Saturday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal present ..., 26 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book for my 'son in-law to be' instead of an Easter egg and he was very pleased with it as he is a fan of Jeff Stelling. A great book for a relaxing read. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jelleyman's Thrown a Wobbly: Saturday Afternoons in Front of the Telly
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews