Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2009
Very good detail but American spellings. Please! it is supposed to be English, not Americano.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
This Thesaurus is an impressive addition to my reference library.
The layout is clear, the definition makes for easy comparisons.
It is good to find very modern idioms as well as the old tried and true ones.
Great to have the antonyms as well.
The pleasant, unexpected, extras are the comprehensive lists itemising composers, capital cities, etc.
I would recommend this book to any enthusiast, or even beginner, of the English language, as it helps one through the intricies and many variations of English.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2009
A big book, almost too large to handle conveniently. But a fine collection of alternatives for almost all the words in the dictionary. Very useful for crossword puzzle solvers
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An excellent Thesaurus containing most words when you need to find synonyms and antonyms. Very useful when solving crosswords and composing missives or any writing. Although the book is large and heavy it's a lot nicer using a "real" book than simply finding what you require using a mouse !!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2009
A superb range of words but the book is so heavy it makes it difficult to use. The additional "lists" were excellent and wide ranging
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2010
Weighty book? It is indeed. But the book more than makes up for it with the weight of its contents. Having each word in blue and alternatives in black is a real boon. I can live with American English because the people of the United States have to live with British English and vice versa. Tolerance! If you know how to spell in English or American English, what's the problem? I think the book is a bargain...and as for all those worried about the weight of this book, look at Delia's Complete Cookery Book (the illustrated version), it's heavier. This thesaurus also has an extremely useful grouping of words, for example "Savoury Dishes" or "Coats and Cloaks" or "Cocktails". I am very happy with it. It is a fine reference work. I can imagine many people will be happy with it. Are you having problems looking for alternatives to "nice" and "lots"? The book will give you some clues.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2011
Along with the dictionary, the thesaurus has proved invaluable to this crossword addict. A bargain at the price, and anyone into writing books, short stories, magazine articles etc. should get one - it provides many ideas for alternative words when you get stuck.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
My previous thesaurus fell apart and I needed to replace. This one is a good version. Would have given it 5 stars but there are some words not included in it. The definitions do elaborate to the negative which is helpful. I would recommend to others.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
My daughter bought this for my husband's birthday...although it is very heavy...it is just the book
you want if you aim to do the crossword ...excellent lay out.. great buy. very well received.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
I write a lot of business letters and, to avoid repeating myself, need another definition for a word. This book is comprehensive and very useful. EVERY HOME SHOULD HAVE ONE!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)