Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collins Thesaurus of the English Language
This Thesaurus is an impressive addition to my reference library.
The layout is clear, the definition makes for easy comparisons.
It is good to find very modern idioms as well as the old tried and true ones.
Great to have the antonyms as well.
The pleasant, unexpected, extras are the comprehensive lists itemising composers, capital cities, etc.
I...
Published on 21 Jun. 2012 by 0064toptone

versus
36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Detailed but American spelling
Very good detail but American spellings. Please! it is supposed to be English, not Americano.
Published on 30 April 2009 by R. Greenshields


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Detailed but American spelling, 30 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Collins Thesaurus of the English Language: Complete & Unabridged (Hardcover)
Very good detail but American spellings. Please! it is supposed to be English, not Americano.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collins Thesaurus of the English Language, 21 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Thesaurus of the English Language: Complete & Unabridged (Hardcover)
This Thesaurus is an impressive addition to my reference library.
The layout is clear, the definition makes for easy comparisons.
It is good to find very modern idioms as well as the old tried and true ones.
Great to have the antonyms as well.
The pleasant, unexpected, extras are the comprehensive lists itemising composers, capital cities, etc.
I would recommend this book to any enthusiast, or even beginner, of the English language, as it helps one through the intricies and many variations of English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A large collection, 3 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Collins Thesaurus of the English Language: Complete & Unabridged (Hardcover)
A big book, almost too large to handle conveniently. But a fine collection of alternatives for almost all the words in the dictionary. Very useful for crossword puzzle solvers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and easy to use., 17 Sept. 2013
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Collins Thesaurus of the English Language: Complete & Unabridged (Hardcover)
An excellent Thesaurus containing most words when you need to find synonyms and antonyms. Very useful when solving crosswords and composing missives or any writing. Although the book is large and heavy it's a lot nicer using a "real" book than simply finding what you require using a mouse !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Reading, 13 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Collins Thesaurus of the English Language: Complete & Unabridged (Hardcover)
A superb range of words but the book is so heavy it makes it difficult to use. The additional "lists" were excellent and wide ranging
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure, 25 Oct. 2010
By 
Brookes Robert "Wolverley boy" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins Thesaurus of the English Language: Complete & Unabridged (Hardcover)
Weighty book? It is indeed. But the book more than makes up for it with the weight of its contents. Having each word in blue and alternatives in black is a real boon. I can live with American English because the people of the United States have to live with British English and vice versa. Tolerance! If you know how to spell in English or American English, what's the problem? I think the book is a bargain...and as for all those worried about the weight of this book, look at Delia's Complete Cookery Book (the illustrated version), it's heavier. This thesaurus also has an extremely useful grouping of words, for example "Savoury Dishes" or "Coats and Cloaks" or "Cocktails". I am very happy with it. It is a fine reference work. I can imagine many people will be happy with it. Are you having problems looking for alternatives to "nice" and "lots"? The book will give you some clues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crossword Solver Supreme!, 23 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Collins Thesaurus of the English Language: Complete & Unabridged (Hardcover)
Along with the dictionary, the thesaurus has proved invaluable to this crossword addict. A bargain at the price, and anyone into writing books, short stories, magazine articles etc. should get one - it provides many ideas for alternative words when you get stuck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good thesaurus, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Thesaurus of the English Language: Complete & Unabridged (Hardcover)
My previous thesaurus fell apart and I needed to replace. This one is a good version. Would have given it 5 stars but there are some words not included in it. The definitions do elaborate to the negative which is helpful. I would recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent gift, 13 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Collins Thesaurus of the English Language: Complete & Unabridged (Hardcover)
My daughter bought this for my husband's birthday...although it is very heavy...it is just the book
you want if you aim to do the crossword ...excellent lay out.. great buy. very well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every home should have one, 25 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Collins Thesaurus of the English Language: Complete & Unabridged (Hardcover)
I write a lot of business letters and, to avoid repeating myself, need another definition for a word. This book is comprehensive and very useful. EVERY HOME SHOULD HAVE ONE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Thesaurus of the English Language: Complete & Unabridged
Collins Thesaurus of the English Language: Complete & Unabridged by Collins Dictionaries (Hardcover - 6 Oct. 2008)
Used & New from: £79.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews