Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting
J.R.R. Tolkien was best known for his epic fantasy "Lord of the Rings" and his studies in myth and language. But Tolkien was also the proud dad of four kids -- and he didn't just read "Hobbit" to them at bedtime. Over the course of many years, he wrote and illustrated detailed, whimsical letters from Father Christmas, populated with a clumsy polar bear, elves and...
Published on 28 Feb. 2006 by EA Solinas

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book, but buy a bigger version
My Dad read me this book as a child, so I bought it to read to the children in my class. Same magical stories, but isn't the same in a small paperback. Buy in a big hardback. The pictures just aren't the same this small.
Published on 16 Jan. 2013 by D Castano


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Christmas book, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book with beautiful illustrations. Highly recommend for children and adults alike. Wish I had read this when my children were little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Christmas read, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great pictures and letters. You can pick it up for just 5 minutes and read a couple of the letters. Will no doubt come out every Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Artist and Writer, 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A charming collection but the presentation of the illustrations needed a bigger screen! I was glad to get the chance of seeing it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amusing book composed by Tolkien for his children at Christmas time.Like all good children's literature this will amuse adults as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant & whimsical, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect read for the run up to Christmas. Lovely stories about the North Pole! I especially liked the addition of polar bear as a helper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thanks, 20 Dec. 2013
A Well packaged book in lovely condition. What an entertaining and lovely story. My daughter particulaly liked all the pull out letters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth reading for all ages. Really enjoyed it. Recommended for children and adults. Also enjoyed the illustrations, good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Letters from Father Christmas, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters from Father Christmas (Paperback)
A great book, he write lovely letters, with lovely pictures. A book worth buying, and one which I will be reading every Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely letters, 28 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cute stories written to the boy by Santa. My son enjoyed the stories and enjoyable to read together in the build up to christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters from Father Christmas (Paperback)
Absolutely lovely book. Not well known among the Tolkein books but a lovely addition. My wife was absolutely delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Letters from Father Christmas
Letters from Father Christmas by J. R. R. Tolkien (Paperback - 1 Oct. 2009)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews