Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars37
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2012
I first discovered Ray Bradbury in the early 70s whilst studying my GCE English Literature and they were classic stories then.
This is a great newly published collection of his short stories that have been a joy to re-discover.

Bradbury is a master of descriptive,emotive and imaginative writing. The twists and turns in the stories are genius, at times filling you with joy and at other times great sadness but always thrilling in their execution.

The other beauty is that at 15 - 20 minutes each the stories are ideal for a quick dip into another world.

A final interesting facet is comparing the imagination of Bradbury on the future and to what did actually happen in space travel and future living. Just Buy It !! Cant wait to get Volume 2.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
Brilliant writing, weird and wonderful plotting of the stories, great use of language, superb descriptions of places and
people. Can`t recommend it enough.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
Ray Bradbury's stories are nothing short of magical. This volume contains many of my favourites.like ' Kaleidoscope' about a group of astronauts dying in space and their last thougts before death - not as morbid as it sounds! and 'A Sound of Thunder' - the butterfly effect a la Bradbury. It also includes some of his classic short stories which make up 'The Martian Chronicles'. 'The Veldt - not for nervous parents.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
I guess few readers will be coming to Ray Bradbury for the first time so will be aware of his short stories being a mix of SciFi, Fantasy and sheer nonsense. But the manner in which he writes this nonsense is just perfect. Some of the stories I already have on other anthologies, which is a bit annoying, but many of them are new to me and the Kindle download is well worth the relatively small cost.

He is not for everyone. The stories are old and seem naive to modern versions of the genres, it is the quality of the writing that impresses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Ray Bradbury takes us away with him in his captivating writing that utilizes a simplistic style so that we have no difficulties in understanding what he wishes us to understand. Each short story is a snapshot of a life, often sinister and bringing the reader to epiphanies which forces them to reflect on their own lives and question there moral standing. for a price of £10 you are giving 100 short stories. I would happily pay 10p for a short story from anyone, but this is Ray Bradbury, an extremely talented science fiction who write about thing which matter now or most likely will someday. I have read his 'Martian Chronicals' and not many books have captivated me in such a way that after each chapter (each story) i had to force myself to put the book down just to contemplate what i had just read.

Brilliant book and superb writer 5 stars
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
Because Ray Bradbury's writing is, in my opinion quite original it may not please everyone, but I think his short stories and his novels are excellent! For me it is a refreshing change from the usual sci-fi and many of his short stories would also appeal to non-sci-fi fans. He can paint pictures in your head, transforming everyday situations to the surreal. This particular collection fits that description. Read with an open mind and you will escape into some fascinating places.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
u gotta love ray Bradbury.he writes from his fevered imagination and from his heart.he takes you from mars to a bar in Dublin.this is a rollercoaster ride,some humourus,some sad,there are recurring themes of going to mars and living there,and there are some hick town in the middle of nowhere.if you have never read any of his books before this is an ideal book to start with,it will give you a flavour of the man
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2010
This is way too heavy a book to read in bed so this is my handy indulgence to keep by my chair for those quiet moments. Ray Bradbury is the master of the short story, every tale getting to the heart of experience with no artifice, just simple stories beautifully told.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
A really good comprehensive collection of stories by a master storyteller covering a range of genres. Previously only familiar with his science fiction work, it was a joy to discover the scope of this writer and expand my horizons. What a fantastic storyteller this man is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
The stories don't quite survive the test of time, but this is only to be expected given the age of the compositions, nevertheless Bradbury demonstrates superb writing ability even back then.
Definitely one for the Bradbury fan, maybe not quite for a casual reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse