Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny on every page
Mitchell and Webb always make the effort to write new material for whichever medium they're writing for- a lot of their radio show stuff would only work on radio, many of their TV sketches rely on video gags, and there's stuff in this book that will only ever work in print. Where some comedians might use a book as a chance to re-hash their TV scripts, this is all...
Published on 18 Feb 2010 by Mr. Stuart Bruce

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars meh!
I was dissapointed with this book. I really like Mitchell and Webb, both on the radio and TV.
Sadly, this book just isn't that funny.
Published 5 months ago by Karl Talbot


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny on every page, 18 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Mitchell and Webb Book (Hardcover)
Mitchell and Webb always make the effort to write new material for whichever medium they're writing for- a lot of their radio show stuff would only work on radio, many of their TV sketches rely on video gags, and there's stuff in this book that will only ever work in print. Where some comedians might use a book as a chance to re-hash their TV scripts, this is all brand-new stuff- and great stuff too. It doesn't read like a cheap Christmas cash-in book hastily written by ghost writers. Seriously it doesn't. Now that you've said that you're going to think I'm being sarcastic when I'm not. That's the problem with print.

Highlights include, but are certainly not limited to, the recurring series "Mundane Quotes Of The Great" and "Great Flat-Share Note Discourses", adverts for the Mitchell and Webb Allen Key and Mitchell And Webb Polythene, and the incredibly astute little section 'designed to cater for fans of The Mighty Boosh who have been bought this book by mistake'.

Great care and at least one joke has gone into every page and if you're a fan of any other Mitchell and Webb material, and if you enjoy reading things, this book is the perfect combination of the two for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Entertaining, 9 Dec 2009
This review is from: This Mitchell and Webb Book (Hardcover)
I found this book to be hilarious, i think i would prefer to read this than watch their show , there are some excellent bits that will have you laughing for days and the posters section will have you laughing anytime anybody even mentions one of the movies involved. Its a great book for just quickly have a little read of on the bus or train i found. Definately 5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever AND laugh-out-loud funny, 29 Sep 2009
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Mitchell and Webb Book (Hardcover)
Books tied in with television comedy shows can be a bit hit-and-miss. You have to write many more words to fill a book than for a TV script. No problem with this one, though: it succeeds in being both hilarious and rather cleverer than some of the dumbed-down stuff we've had of late (Bo'Selecta, Little Britain...was there ever a Two Pints book? I hope not.)

This book takes no prisoners: Alan Bennett turns into Richard Littlejohn; The Mighty Boosh gets a skewering; there are some superb 'rejected posters' for well-known films. Even the bits from their TV programmes which, due to repetition, have begun to grate a bit (Sir Digby, the snooker commentators) manage to be amusing here.

A fine Christmas pressie for anyone who knows you don't have to be thick to be funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas present to my sister!, 2 Jan 2010
By 
Ms. I. R. Morgan (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Mitchell and Webb Book (Hardcover)
I gave this as a gift to my sister, as it was the cheapest place we'd seen the book. She opened it on xmas day and could'nt stop laughing or attempting at showing me the book!
Its a funny book much reccomended to people of any age.
Also amazon delivery, speedy as always!!
Xx imy X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 12 July 2014
By 
M. Kupperman (New York, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Mitchell and Webb Book (Hardcover)
This is just terrible. The art direction and graphic design are a huge part of the problem but there aren't enough ideas either. It's really a mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars meh!, 12 Mar 2014
By 
Karl Talbot - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Mitchell and Webb Book (Hardcover)
I was dissapointed with this book. I really like Mitchell and Webb, both on the radio and TV.
Sadly, this book just isn't that funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 21 Sep 2013
By 
B. Halliop - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Mitchell and Webb Book (Hardcover)
I found it to be a bit of a disappointment, to be honest. It was OK, and there were certainly a number of funny bits, but I guess I prefer their more verbal humour, or the more fleshed-out ideas in their sketches. I found myself flipping through looking for where the real bulk of it started, but there kind of wasn't any. It was mostly just one or two page doodles or ideas for a joke or visual gags.

I still basically liked it, and like I said there were some good bits, I just didn't enjoy it on the same level as I enjoy most of their stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very funny book, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Mitchell and Webb Book (Hardcover)
Mitchell and Webb give a great deal of pleasure in this very amusing book. It was a great read and very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The michell and webb book., 11 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Mitchell and Webb Book (Hardcover)
Good book. After watching the series great to have the book. Very funny, witty. Two very funny writers.A must have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 31 Jan 2010
By 
M. Reynolds (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Mitchell and Webb Book (Hardcover)
Purchased this as a Christmas present for my son. A very entertaining book that has been passed around the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Mitchell and Webb Book
This Mitchell and Webb Book by Robert Webb (Hardcover - 3 Sep 2009)
17.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews