Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars265
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£14.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 November 2010
This is a really good book; well written, well presented, beautiful example photographs, plenty of schooling exercises to complete...if your photgraphy has gone a bit 'flat' or you're struggling to find a subject, it would be worth buying this book for the inspiration alone. One of the 3 star reviews comments on the book as being for beginners; well I am a beginner - been taking photographs for years, but only got into photography recently and now I'm addicted...I've always enjoyed looking at prints and this book explains how to go after professional looking images...everything from setting up your camera, to lens choice, to lighting and image adjustment (photoshop etc.)

With regards to my title for this review, I hope (if they're reading this) that the author's are not offended - it's a massive compliment! The book is gently worded and doesn't assume that you are either a complete plank or already a well competent photographer...it sort of lands just right, just in the middle and while the author's are obviously very well accomplished and talented, the only mention of this is on the last page, in the biography - I think this alone displays the humility of the chaps who wrote this book, there's no fancy fore word or preface or introduction by some other 'in the know' bod, as you so often see in 'help books' these days to help move copies.

To get to the point, it's just a very good, simple, easy reading book and anyone with a camera (dslr or a camera phone) should consider this book if they have an interest in improving their shots.

To the author's; thanks, guys.
0Comment|161 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2009
So many authors of instructive photography books, are so far "up themselves" with their knowledge, that they find it difficult to put that knowledge down in a simple manner. My book case has several in it. This ones different. Mr Garrett & Harris have to be congratulated, in the way they have put this book together. It's easy to understand, it has enthusiasm that is passed to the reader, and makes you want to get out your camera, and take photo's. This is what it's all about. No matter what camera you have, this book can give you better, and more enjoyable, photo's. I was sceptical about this book before opening it's pages, but if you are to buy one book on the subject, I suggest this is the one.
11 comment|214 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2009
Quite the best book of its kind that I have read --and I have read many indeed. Simple, clear introduction to photography, no special effects, no condescension, exactly what a beginner requires. A first class exercise in communication -and information.
0Comment|124 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
Very thorough and extremely helpful book for the enthusiast that hasn't gotten round to going on a proper course. Learnt a lot
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2009
This is a really instructive book, with information presented clearly and coherently, and practical projects for the reader to undertake in order to use and understand the information properly. Covers the technical detail necessary, but with an emphasis on obtaining creative results. I cannot fault it for anyone with a digital or film SLR who either is starting from scratch or is looking to build on a basic understanding and learn some creative techniques.
0Comment|149 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2010
A very basic, yet detailed book. Full of inspiration, and lots of information which is presented simple enough for total beginners to understand.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
Most of these reviews are of the physical book and are accurate. Here I am reviewing the Kindle edition of the book, which I am reading on an iPad. The product is, quite simply, awful. For a start, it does not contain some of the most important pictures in the book. It seems that each chapter starts with an impressive double page picture, and the start of the chapter includes text explaining in detail how this picture was created - except these pictures are not in the Kindle edition. Each of the remaining pictures seem to have been re-captioned and placed in the text in inventive ways. There are spelling mistakes (`cammera'), there are pictures well away from the text that refers to them, pictures appearing in a different order to that which they appear in the text, and captions placed under the wrong pictures. In a series of shots showing how an image changes as camera settings are altered, you have no idea whether the information is accurate or not (and is certainly wrong on occasion). This is lazy, incompetent publishing. If Collins have any integrity they will withdraw this product as it is not fit for purpose. Amazon need to consider whether they wish the Kindle brand to be associated with such a product.
1212 comments|119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2009
I bought this book after having attended an excellent course with Graeme Harris and thought it would be worth having. I was not disappointed. It is written in very easy to understand language and gives you all the information you need to advance from taking just snaps to more professional images, regardless if you are a DSLR or good old fashioned film user. I would highly recommend it to anyone who is a relative novice to photography and wants to get to grips with their camera.
0Comment|140 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2010
this was bought for my daughter who has just taken up photography it is excellent for someone just starting out very informative and easy to follow would recommend it.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 August 2011
I wanted a book to complement the Scott Kelby series of books. I didn't just want to know how to get an effect (as his books tell you) but rather know why and how an effect was achieved and how to repeat this again and again for multiple environments.

This book walks you through the basics and then some, explaining things in an easy to understand manner.

I find myself returning to this book regularly and wouldn't be without it.

One to have on your shelf if you are serious about learning about photography
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)