Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like being taught photography by your Grandad.. :o)
This is a really good book; well written, well presented, beautiful example photographs, plenty of schooling exercises to complete...if your photgraphy has gone a bit 'flat' or you're struggling to find a subject, it would be worth buying this book for the inspiration alone. One of the 3 star reviews comments on the book as being for beginners; well I am a beginner -...
Published on 10 Nov 2010 by James Mousley

versus
97 of 102 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition not fit for purpose
Most of these reviews are of the physical book and are accurate. Here I am reviewing the Kindle edition of the book, which I am reading on an iPad. The product is, quite simply, awful. For a start, it does not contain some of the most important pictures in the book. It seems that each chapter starts with an impressive double page picture, and the start of the chapter...
Published on 31 Jan 2011 by N D Barber


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like being taught photography by your Grandad.. :o), 10 Nov 2010
By 
James Mousley (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins Complete Photography Course (Hardcover)
This is a really good book; well written, well presented, beautiful example photographs, plenty of schooling exercises to complete...if your photgraphy has gone a bit 'flat' or you're struggling to find a subject, it would be worth buying this book for the inspiration alone. One of the 3 star reviews comments on the book as being for beginners; well I am a beginner - been taking photographs for years, but only got into photography recently and now I'm addicted...I've always enjoyed looking at prints and this book explains how to go after professional looking images...everything from setting up your camera, to lens choice, to lighting and image adjustment (photoshop etc.)

With regards to my title for this review, I hope (if they're reading this) that the author's are not offended - it's a massive compliment! The book is gently worded and doesn't assume that you are either a complete plank or already a well competent photographer...it sort of lands just right, just in the middle and while the author's are obviously very well accomplished and talented, the only mention of this is on the last page, in the biography - I think this alone displays the humility of the chaps who wrote this book, there's no fancy fore word or preface or introduction by some other 'in the know' bod, as you so often see in 'help books' these days to help move copies.

To get to the point, it's just a very good, simple, easy reading book and anyone with a camera (dslr or a camera phone) should consider this book if they have an interest in improving their shots.

To the author's; thanks, guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


195 of 199 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy read., 11 Aug 2009
By 
Brian Hodgson (Newark, Notts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins Complete Photography Course (Hardcover)
So many authors of instructive photography books, are so far "up themselves" with their knowledge, that they find it difficult to put that knowledge down in a simple manner. My book case has several in it. This ones different. Mr Garrett & Harris have to be congratulated, in the way they have put this book together. It's easy to understand, it has enthusiasm that is passed to the reader, and makes you want to get out your camera, and take photo's. This is what it's all about. No matter what camera you have, this book can give you better, and more enjoyable, photo's. I was sceptical about this book before opening it's pages, but if you are to buy one book on the subject, I suggest this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


142 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best SLR book I have bought (and I have bought a few), 25 Oct 2009
By 
Mrs. C. Leigh (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete Photography Course (Hardcover)
This is a really instructive book, with information presented clearly and coherently, and practical projects for the reader to undertake in order to use and understand the information properly. Covers the technical detail necessary, but with an emphasis on obtaining creative results. I cannot fault it for anyone with a digital or film SLR who either is starting from scratch or is looking to build on a basic understanding and learn some creative techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, useful and encouraging for beginners, 15 July 2011
By 
Andre Nobrega (Porto, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete Photography Course (Hardcover)
This was the first of three photography books I decided to read as introduction into the theme, its techniques and creative possibilities. The one best thing I can say about this Photography Course is that reading it has really got me into trying my new Sony Cyber-shot DSC HX100V. If the title with the word "complete" might be an overstatement, in fact it does include most or all of the subjects one would expect to find in a technical photography book.
It starts by a quick review of the history of photography and then moves to a chapter on equipment with enough information for a newcomer to understand what kind of camera one should buy and what else is needed to produce the wanted results, from torch to tripods and even a swiss army knife. After this, the book has sections on exposure, aperture, shutter and lenses, interesting for both SLR or compact camera and film or digital users. Next, the authors introduce the reader to the planning and production of a photo and creative possibilities in sections such as composition, light, colour, filters and black and white. All of these sections include small projects to encourage the reader to try as he learns and small explanations on how the image achieved can go wrong. Finally, the last two chapters are on image enhancement (mostly, but not only, based on Photoshop) and management, organizing and printing images. I was glad to find that the book offers further reading advice and other strong points to it are the good quality images as examples to almost every concept and technique described, the reference of artists considered experts on them and the inclusion of a glossary and an index, sometimes forgotten but always useful in this kind of book.
All in all, this is a really good read for photography beginners such as myself and, though one might need more information on some topics or could be happy with less time spent reading about others, as what each reader knows and is interested in a priori is different, I believe most would be satisfied with the organization and clear explanations given in Collins Complete Photography Course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you can't afford a real course this is the book for you, 20 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Collins Complete Photography Course (Hardcover)
Very thorough and extremely helpful book for the enthusiast that hasn't gotten round to going on a proper course. Learnt a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific introduction, 7 May 2009
By 
Patrick Hunt (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collins Complete Photography Course (Hardcover)
Quite the best book of its kind that I have read --and I have read many indeed. Simple, clear introduction to photography, no special effects, no condescension, exactly what a beginner requires. A first class exercise in communication -and information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


133 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent start to photography, 8 April 2009
This review is from: Collins Complete Photography Course (Hardcover)
I bought this book after having attended an excellent course with Graeme Harris and thought it would be worth having. I was not disappointed. It is written in very easy to understand language and gives you all the information you need to advance from taking just snaps to more professional images, regardless if you are a DSLR or good old fashioned film user. I would highly recommend it to anyone who is a relative novice to photography and wants to get to grips with their camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners like me, 24 Jan 2010
By 
W. Tsang "mandzipu" (England, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins Complete Photography Course (Hardcover)
A very basic, yet detailed book. Full of inspiration, and lots of information which is presented simple enough for total beginners to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 5 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. B. Taylor (lancashire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collins Complete Photography Course (Hardcover)
this was bought for my daughter who has just taken up photography it is excellent for someone just starting out very informative and easy to follow would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 102 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle edition not fit for purpose, 31 Jan 2011
By 
Most of these reviews are of the physical book and are accurate. Here I am reviewing the Kindle edition of the book, which I am reading on an iPad. The product is, quite simply, awful. For a start, it does not contain some of the most important pictures in the book. It seems that each chapter starts with an impressive double page picture, and the start of the chapter includes text explaining in detail how this picture was created - except these pictures are not in the Kindle edition. Each of the remaining pictures seem to have been re-captioned and placed in the text in inventive ways. There are spelling mistakes (`cammera'), there are pictures well away from the text that refers to them, pictures appearing in a different order to that which they appear in the text, and captions placed under the wrong pictures. In a series of shots showing how an image changes as camera settings are altered, you have no idea whether the information is accurate or not (and is certainly wrong on occasion). This is lazy, incompetent publishing. If Collins have any integrity they will withdraw this product as it is not fit for purpose. Amazon need to consider whether they wish the Kindle brand to be associated with such a product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collins Complete Photography Course
Collins Complete Photography Course by Graeme Harris (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2008)
7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews