Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely beautiful
A sort of "Guinness Book of Records" about our feathered friends.

Full of intriguing facts accompanied by beautiful photographs.

This is one of my favourite books to pick up and browse at leisure. The photos always make me smile.

In a word - STUNNING.
Published on 27 Mar 2009 by ClashBabe

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars extreme birds,from the fastest to the smartest
For what ive paid for the book,the cover is damaged and it was advertised has being NEW. (((((VERY VERY VERY))))) disappointed.will not be buying from this person (((((AGAIN))))).
Published on 11 Mar 2010 by Andrew J. Moore


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely beautiful, 27 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extreme Birds (Hardcover)
A sort of "Guinness Book of Records" about our feathered friends.

Full of intriguing facts accompanied by beautiful photographs.

This is one of my favourite books to pick up and browse at leisure. The photos always make me smile.

In a word - STUNNING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extreme Birds, 6 Aug 2009
This review is from: Extreme Birds (Hardcover)
This is an attractive book which illustrates some of the extremes that exist in the bird world. If there were such an event as the Bird Olympics many of the contestants would be featured here. Obvious examples such as the largest, smallest, heaviest and lightest compete for space with the fastest and slowest and so on. It would have been easy to stop with physical attributes but this book explores different cases of extreme behaviour such as longest copulation (Aquatic Warbler Acrocephalus paludicola - at up to 30 minutes). Interestingly there are no contenders offered for shortest copulation! In a similar vein the bird awarded the distinction of "sneakiest bigamist" is the Pied Flycatcher. Clearly the author has used his own judgement in many cases, and the result is a good mixture of stunning photography, interesting facts and a certain amount of humour. If it were possible to reappear as a bird then I have decided to return as a Lake Duck Oxyura vittata. I can't explain why in a journal of this stature, but if you want to know why you'll have to buy the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extreme birds, 18 July 2010
By 
G. I. Forbes (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extreme Birds (Hardcover)
This is the best book of bird pictures you will ever see
The author divides the birds he illustrates into 4 groups
1)extreme form-eg.ugliest,most poisonous etc.
2)extreme ability-fastest swimmer,best mimic etc.
3)extreme behaviour,eg.cleverest hunter,silliest antics etc.
4)extreme families eg. most eggs,warmest nestetc.
Each section has 30 examples of bird behaviour, there is an excellent text and picture with each bird.
If you want the best bird pictures I have ever seen this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some amazing facts for bird lovers., 31 Aug 2009
By 
K. J. Petrie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extreme Birds (Hardcover)
Extreme birds is full of amazing facts for all the bird lovers out there (even those who are not so interested in birds should find this book interesting). Some of the catagories are quite funny, pictures are great and I'm sure there is something to be learned by all. Great book, amazing for the price. Large pages, hard cover. Interesting reading. Would recomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Nice., 25 Nov 2009
By 
Douglas Tucker (Alness Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extreme Birds (Hardcover)
This book has really nice colour photos and interesting facts about the birds,I recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars extreme birds,from the fastest to the smartest, 11 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Extreme Birds (Hardcover)
For what ive paid for the book,the cover is damaged and it was advertised has being NEW. (((((VERY VERY VERY))))) disappointed.will not be buying from this person (((((AGAIN))))).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extreme Birds
Extreme Birds by Dominic Couzens (Hardcover - 3 Nov 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews